We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Aprahoe lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Run Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Run Village
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Aprahoe lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just returned from a 5 day trip to keystone. We stayed at the aprahoe lodge in river run. It was our first trip to keystone. We chose keystone because kids ski free when you stay with them. We have a 3 and 6 year old. Our room was great. Updated and had everything we needed. The hot tub was just off the hotel and a pool not to far, although the walk back to the hotel wet was brutal in the cold! Parking was underground. The best part of the hotel was the location to the slopes, about 5 minutes. This was perfect for little ones and we could easily stop back home for lunch. I would definitely stay here again. Although, I don't think you can choose what building you stay in when you book. We had a great time. I thought the room was reasonably priced, but beware everything else is expensive. Easy to spend lots of money! They do give you some vouchers, free ice skating at the lake, Nordic trail fees, which we used to snowshoe. But the rentals get you as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jen322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
72
27
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a great trip to Keystone, staying 6 days. I skied 3 days and then we were able to do other activities on the other days since my husband does not ski. The location is great, the shuttle service is very efficient and easy. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

We had some great food ( particularly the restaurant at the top of the Mt.- Stube) and some great local craft beers. But I also noticed that many of the restaurants had extensive wine lists as well and cocktails.

We also did some snow shoeing, rode snow mobiles, went zip lining , tubing and found them to be easy to arrange and fun!

Room Tip: We were in the Keystone village, nearest the new gondola which made it easy to walk to the ski slope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trsuyematsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in a studio condo in Expedition Station in River Run Village over New Year's. Generally I was more than pleased with the room and the resort, though - as the review title suggests - there were some minor issues.

Pros:
- Walk to shops, restaurants, etc. in River Run
- Walk to the slopes, including Keystone's main gondola
- Room size was perfectly comfortable for two people
- Bed and bedding were comfortable (though it *was* a Murphy bed, which I wasn't expecting
- Considering we stayed for an entire week, having the full kitchen (oven, stove top, microwave, coffee maker, full size fridge) was great
- Loved the gas fireplace as well!
- Room and lodge buildings were very clean.

Cons:
- If you arrive after 11 PM, you have to check in at either the lodge or the Inn, neither of which is 'walking distance' from River Run
- On that note, there is no real 'front desk' for the condos - there is an office that is open from 8 AM until 11 PM, but it's in the Buffalo Lodge, and at times that's not an easy walk (i.e. when it's ridiculously cold out and they haven't shoveled the sidewalks or used salt anywhere)
- Kitchen in our condo was very small/awkward - the fridge door opened the wrong way, you couldn't open one of the cupboard doors under the sink all the way because the dishwasher was in the way, counter space was severely limited and made cooking a bit rough. It also wasn't the best stocked kitchen, in terms of cooking (no large knives for chopping veggies, no kitchen scissors
- Our coffee maker didn't work properly. I believe it was because it was just a really cheap coffee maker, but we had to microwave our coffee every morning after it was made because it just wasn't hot enough.
- We checked in late on a Saturday night and checked out the following Friday morning. Maid service came once during the week - I think it was Tuesday (which is to be expected for a condo stay). The main problem with this was that our maid left us only two towels, though when we'd checked in there were four. Considering we were there for three nights after she cleaned the room, I'm pretty sure that should have meant more than one towel per person for such a stretch of time.

As for River Run/Keystone as a whole, it was disappointing that *everything* closed around 10 PM, especially during a holiday week. Sometimes a bar would be open until 10:30 or so, but the hot tub/pool/steam room/etc. were locked right at 10 every night, the outdoor gas fires went out at 10:30, etc. Considering the lifts were open until 8:30 for night skiing, this left literally no time to wind down if you wanted to enjoy the night skiing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Keystone 2013 over xmas. We stayed at the Arapahoe Lodge in River Run and found it to be a perfect location. We were 150 yrds from the Gondola with restaurants and shops within a 1min walk from the lodge. We would recommend this location and resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The condo was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkmax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keytotherockies, Front Office Manager at River Run Village, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with Key to the Rockies at River Run Village in Keystone! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are so right, the location cannot be beat! We are glad your accommodations exceeded your expectations. Please stay with us again in the future and you will receive additional discounts as a Key Club Member!

Thank you,
Patrice Novak
Front Office/.Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Keystone Resort. This is not a typical resort that is like a hotel with stuffy forced service but a business that rents out condo's for the original owners. That being said, we were able to switch condo's upon request when we weren't happy with our original reservation. With it just being me & my husband I originally thought a studio condo would be fine. When we got into the studio condo it was so disappointing. The room was much smaller than thought with a kitchen & dinning table too big for the space & one of the beds that folds up into the wall. It was not the rustic romantic room that we envisioned, plus our 'mountain' view was of the parking lot. blah!
We went back down to the front desk & was informed this was the only mountain view studio room available. However, we were able to upgrade to a 1 bedroom condo with a balcony that we absolutely loved. The view was of river run slope with a balcony, on one side we could also see down Dercum square & other mountains off the distance on the balcony. We truly loved it.
We went during the off season which has great rates but not a lot of activities going on especially after the sun sets. We had to go to Breckenridge to do a sleigh ride & even the offsite companies didn't have snowmobiling or dog sled tours open yet. (We went the 2nd week in December). Next time we will go in January or February.
Also, every staff member we came in contact with was especially friendly, we never encountered one rude staff member (from medic's, to the ski-patrol guys on the slopes, ski school instructors, bus drivers etc.) it seems that everyone truly loves their job & is happy to be there. We would be happy to go back to Keystone- just wish they had more green ski slopes, but that's just me! :)

My hubby also booked me a massage at the spa & it was amazing, although pricey! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poteat_3177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
203 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and nice hometown, excellent kitchen, it is two runs one of them have two big beds the other a queen bed all rooms with TV and one on the living area (they need upgrade very old TVs).
People very friendly at reception when checking in and super servicing.
The only problem we found is the blankets for the pillows smell bad ( we will bring our own next time and we found a blood stain on one of the blankets to sleep)
I will come back to the same villages but I will bring my own blankets and pillows, kids love it and wife too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in this 2 bedroom, 2 bath, townhome literally steps from the base Gondola at Keystone. The decor was exactly the warm, rustic Mountain style we expected. Everything was top quality, flat screen TVs in every room. beautiful kitchen, and a back deck with a gorgeous view of the slopes. Use of the pool, game room and other facilities at the next door Red Hawk condos is included. The walk to the Gondola from the front door is about three minutes. Our new favorite place to stay in Keystone.

Room Tip: This is small, gated townhome complex. The townhomes at the base of the slope have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GShanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Village

Property: River Run Village
Address: 150 Dercum Square, Keystone, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Run Village is located at the base of the gondola at the Keystone Ski Area. River Run is the most sought after lodging destination in the Keystone area not only for its location but also because of all the shops, restaurants and nightlife located just steps from the condominium front door! Enjoy the ease to get to and from the ski area during the winter months and all of the Keystone events that occur all summer long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing