We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of River Run Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Run Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I (30 year old professionals) stayed in the Silver Mill building of the River Run complex. We were very satisfied with our stay, mostly because of the ideal location.

Check-in was the most difficult part. The office closes after 6PM or so, and we arrived later. We had to drive to the office, use a phone to call the operator, and then they gave us the code to open the security box to obtain our key. However, the key cards are old and often dysfunctional. When our first one didn't work, we had to drive back and repeat the process.

That event aside, it was a great stay. The condo was a one bedroom with a gas fireplace, full kitchen (with dishwasher), and covered balcony. It was clean with simple, modern decor. Plenty of pots and dishes. The couches were not the firmest and had seen their wear, but were still only likely 5 years old. The bedroom was small (minimal room to walk to the other side) but the bathroom was a generous size. There's a rack and bench inside the door for ski storage. On the weekend there was some noise filtering up from the street, as restaurants are just below. It was quiet on the weekdays.

The building has 3 whirlpools just outside in a courtyard area. There's an outdoor pool outside a building across the street. There's also a sauna and a recreation room with sitting area, TV, and pool table. It is about a 1/4 mile walk to the ski area, but this is still closer than the public parking lot. The parking is underground.

There are about 10 restaurants, 5 bars, and 20 stores along the River Run streets below the complex. It is perfect for those wanting SOME accessible nightlife, but it is definitely not Breckenridge. There could not be a more convenient location for food/nightlife in all of the Keystone resort. We loved walking to stores and restaurants and would stay again in a heartbeat. Nothing luxurious, but still a romantic stay. This is also perfect for families.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2008

I stayed in a 2 Bedroom/2 Bath condo in Silver Mill.

Pros:
-Spacious enough for six people. One couple had to sleep on the pull-out couch.
-Full kitchen with flatware/dinneware/cookware/dishwasher
-2 Bathrooms!
-Huge closets!
-Fireplace
-Small balcony overlooking the village
-Short walk to the gondola/lifts
-in the heart of River Run Village, steps from Starbucks/restaurants/shops
-Heated underground parking

Cons:
-Finding the building was a bit confusing from the garage. We weren't told at check-in that we were on the third floor!
-The shower head in the master bedroom didn't have the greatest water pressure
-The mattress in the master bedroom was a little too firm for me, but I am partial to pillowtops!
-The pull-out couch wasn't comfortable at all.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. I am not too high maintenance. When I'm on vacation, I like to go out and do activities. Silver Mill is in the heart of River Run Village, close to shops and restaurants. You're in Colorado! Don't be lazy. Walk around. I went snowboarding most of the time. I definitely love Keystone, and this is my second trip there. I will be back next year!

Rent a car. Even if you don't plan on using it much, it's cheaper than the Colorado Mountain Express!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelwithK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We just returned from our first trip to Keystone. We loved the skiing and the convenience to the gondola (though not ski in/ski out as we had hoped). Our one bedroom unit in Silvermill was a BIG disappointment. The carpet was stained, as was the upholstery on the couch and throw pillows. One pillow had a broken zipper. There were small tears in the couch fabric. The light fixture in the entry hall had no cover! The blankets for the beds were old, worn AND stained! One stain looked like feces. The bed pillows were also worn out. The condo heating system had to be turned off to regulate it, otherwise it was stifling hot. I doubt the unit was cleaned before we arrived because I vacuumed shortly after arrival and picked up so many crumbs where we had not been. The three outdoor hot tubs were dirty with litter and the largest one was dangerous with the jets at the feet being too strong as they sucked water in. They are in a fenced in area in the courtyard so you feel like you are on display. The lobby, elevator and common areas all had litter. We may consider returning to Keystone to ski but will not ever stay at that disgusting Silvermill.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetoskinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom condo in the River Run Village (Silver Mill Building) in mid January of 2008. I can honestly say that this was the best ski trip I have ever had. The condo was wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very spacious, the decor was great, and the location was perfect. We were walking distance from the River Run Gondola (and will be even closer once the Gondola addition is complete next season), and of course we were right in the heart of River Run Village which has cute shops, a little grocery, and tons of apres ski destinations. Also, the buildings in River Run all have heated underground parking which is a luxury!

The skiing, as always, in Keystone was perfect. And, for the first time we went to the tubing hill. It was a blast (and we are grownups!!) We truly had a great time, and we will, without a doubt, be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Razorback08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the RIver RUn condos at keystone resort. Being from the east coast and never skied "out west" we were very pleased at our accomodations and ski/slope conditions. We booked our one bedroom condo directly through the resort and were delighted c the spacious unit c full kitchen, gas log fireplace and seperate bedroom. There were many diner/lunch choices thorughout the river run area and a free shuttle to take you to different parts of the resort or town. Our condo also had 3 hot tubs, sauna, pool table, ski locker, laundry area and was less than a 5 minute walk to the base of the slopes. We enjoyed our visits very much and all staff that we encountered were very helpfull.

On our last day we went snowmobiling with White mountain tours and that was definately one of our best days and highly recomend snowmobiling and the white mountain group was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank calical2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Keystone, here at River Run Village and we had a blast. First of all, this was our first time in CO and in snow! We're from Miami, Fl. so this experience for us was totally new! I loved everything about this place, the view of the mountains, how close everything was to each other (in Miami you MUST drive everywhere!), and the quality of service. The staff was prompt and quick to respond to any issues. We did so much. We went skiing, ate at all the great (and expensive) restaurants, snowmobiled, went tubing, took the FREE buses to different parts like Breckenridge, etc. The rooms could use some updating of decor but come on, its not where I live so I can handle it for a week you know! great place, we'll hopefully be back soon! God bless...

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nick136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Military, and was planning great time for SnoFest. So we booked months - hear me - months in advance. Requested a particular property and was quoted that rate. But upon arrival we were given a run around on what property we would get and therefore our lodging was in a less desirable location, but at the higher rate, How Nice. They attributed this to getting the 4 families together, Well we wwere in the same building, just different floors and 4 different ends of the building, How Nice. Slopes were great, But, be darn sure of where you are staying, oh wait, they are going to put you where they want you anyway. SO suggest you book the cheapest possible then you can get a better location, like several of my friends did. What a waste.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ColoradoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
145 reviews
11.0 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Pines Condominiums
The Pines Condominiums
#3 of 32 in Keystone
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dakota Lodge at River Run Village
1.7 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Village

Address: 150 Dercum Sq, Keystone, CO 80435-7727
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range: $289 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Run Village is located at the base of the gondola at the Keystone Ski Area. River Run is the most sought after lodging destination in the Keystone area not only for its location but also because of all the shops, restaurants and nightlife located just steps from the condominium front door! Enjoy the ease to get to and from the ski area during the winter months and all of the Keystone events that occur all summer long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your River Run Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing