We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but paper thin walls”
Review of River Run Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Run Village
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good location but paper thin walls”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great location for skiing. Nice underground parking. Biggest complaint was the paper thin walls. One night, our neighbors took a shower at 200am and it sounded like it was coming from our bathroom. The next night they vacuumed their room at 100am and again it sounded like it was in our condo.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SondraTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeystoneSecret, Owner in the resort at River Run Village, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I own a condo in Keystone and own a private management company in Keystone as well. My company manages 70+ condos in River Run. I try to be fair in my responses but recongize that some may consider my opinion biased. Take it for what it is worth.

Having stayed in every building in River Run and consider it my job to stay in 10 or more condos per year, I believe I have a pretty good handle on the basics of Keystone.

All buildings in River Run were constructed in the late 90's and early 2000's. They were all similarly constructed. They are all reinforced concrete structures. The walls separating the condos are concrete, just like a good hotel. If this guest heard something from next door then there must be a specific defect between just those two units.

Generally speaking if guests have an issue with noise it is from outside noise coming through the windows from the village down below. There are several ways to avoid any possibility of this. As long as you rent from someone who allows you to choose the specific unit, you can get exactly what you want. If you want absolute peace and quite, there are buildings that provide this. If you want to be right next to the slopes, there are buildings that provide this. If you want to be in the action and see a lot of activity, then there are condos that provide this. None of these features are good or bad. They are merely features that some people like and others do not.

The key is to rent from an owner or a manager who can show you photos and give you a description of the SPECIFIC property you are renting. Unfortunately, if you rent directly through the resort you will be assigned a "unit type" and they will choose where to put you. It will be the luck of the draw. A little knowledge and a little planning will increase your satisfaction 1000%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
94
32
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family stayed at the Arapaho lodge in January for a long weekend. We loved the condo and the location was one of the best we have ever had for a ski trip. Just a few steps to the gondola. Keystone was great. Not a lot of night life, but we weren't looking for that. The people running the village were very helpful and even got us closer to the lift when we asked. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The village is very spread out. The Arapaho lodge and the Bear lodge seemed to be the closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toothmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The best place to stay at keystone. The rooms are awesome if you need a large family room or a couples room. Has a fun game room. Right next to the ski village so you can enjoy the ski atmosphere. Less than a quarter mile walk to the gondola or other lifts. The rooms are quiet so the sleep is good and the breakfast is very nice before a day of skiing. Also since its so close you can view the mountain at night as the lights are on or go night skiing.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colton99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had an amazing time at River Run Village. We had so much fun that we stayed there again 2 weeks later and invited my brothers family to join us. The first time we stayed at Jackpine and the second time we stayed at Buffalo Lodge. Both places were amazing! At Jackpine we had a 2 bedroom plus murphy bed. It had 2 1/2 baths and was a great size. Make sure to ask for a balcony with a view. It makes a big difference. At Buffalo Lodge we had a 3 bedroom 3 bath. This was very nice as well. Each condo was a little different but both very nice. Each bedroom had it's own bath and tv. Nice feature for teens. River Run is a very cute little area with little shops and restaurants. Not huge like vail village but just enough to make it a fun atmosphere. Each property has a pool and hot tub associated with it. Our pool was at Dakota Ridge which was right outside our door. Jackpine had a nice hot tub but not a lot of amenities. Buffalo Lodge had a nice rec room with 2 pool tables and 2 hot tubs. All of the properties at River Run Village look unique in their own way. There are a lot of little shops and places to eat. There is also a little grocery store with a liquor store attached. When we went back on Labor Day weekend it was pretty quiet. Everyone getting ready for the ski season. We took the gondola ride up to see the amazing view. Not much at the top other than the amazing view. A lot of bike riders were having fun on the downhill bike trail. One day we rented a 12 person pontoon boat at Lake Dillon. $135 for 2 hours. It was so much fun. We've lived in Colorado for 15 years now and we felt like we were on vacation in some other place. You can even get one with a grill for $25 more. We had my dad, 65, teenage daughter 14 with a friend, 9 yr old and us, 45. All had an amazing time! If you like to stay at a location with a little bit of action and atmosphere I would truly stay at River Run Village. Just fun to walk outside and get an ice cream or a slice of pizza. The snake river that runs along the edge is so pretty. The trees and scenery are exceptional! There is another property that is a little more 5 star if that is what you are looking for. It might be called Lone Eagle? Very upscale and newer but a little further from all the action. Maybe a 3 minute walk? Very close. All is in short walking distance. I asked for a newer renovated condo with a view. We had a huge balcony facing the shops and it was so pretty. Remember, condos do not have air conditioning but plenty of windows and fans. I am always hot and this was never a problem. So thankful that I found River Run Village! It is our new mountain getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Spent seven nights in the Dakota Building of River Run Village in August 2011. We booked through www.vrbo.com and had an amazing room (#8516) at a very reasonable price. Originally, i was a little overwhelmed at all the various accommodation options. There are several villages in Keystone, each with its own personality. I spent many days wavering between villages, even after speaking to Keystone representatives. We were VERY happy we chose River Run village. We traveled with our 4 year old and 5 month old sons, and for us, River Run had everything we needed.

There are various restaurants, shops, and activities steps from the condo. Views of the mountain. Within a 5 min walk, there was a pool/hot tub, two playgrounds, mini golf, and a children's area (sandbox, cabin, chalkgarden and several for pay activities including trampolines, rock climbing wall, bounce house, gold panning and more.) The gondola/lifts were about 5 minutes away, very close. We attended the children's play at Quaking Aspen Ampitheater (again, maybe 5 min walk) for $6 each, enjoyed The Friday Club's FREE gondola rides from 3-7pm on Fridays and were lucky enough to have been in the area for the Blues Festival and Art Show.

Each morning we began our day with a walk, and there are trails that leave from the village. Stunning summer weather, tons of biking trails/courses, friendly people. We slept with windows open and was not hard to sleep (not loud outside.) Yes, garbage truck came by early and we heard beeping, but they do at home as well, so not an issue for us. There was a medical facility at the base of the mountain a few minutes from our hotel, and we went in and chatted with the medics. Small grocery store across the courtyard as well.

We were never bored in the village. While other areas are also lovely (East Keystone, West Keystone both stunning, quieter), it was fabulous to never have to get in our car if we didn't want to. Would stay in this hotel/village again w/o hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is our second time staying at the River Run village in Keystone; this time we were in the Buffalo Lodge (room #8331).

As expected, our condo was clean, convenient and nicely decorated; the kitchen had enough essentials for us to make a small dinner for ourselves. This is the second time we've stayed here and have been allowed an early check-in; we arrived around 2:00pm, and were able to immediately go up to our room and park our rental in the underground parking garage--this was a big plus for us. Our view, however, left a little to be desired; unfortunately, we were on the parking lot side of the lodge, which meant that while the room had a view of the mountains, we also got to watch people pour into/out of the parking lots--not the best. If you do stay here, be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Gondola/Lifts--that is a great view, what we enjoyed in our previous stay. Also, while I'm not sure of the size of the bed in our room, it seemed small, but was comfortable; and our room also had a bunk-bed in the living room, we didn't use/need, but might have been nice for a small family.

Ultimately, this condo was nice for our weekend ski getaway, and I'm sure if we return, we will look into staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I've been to ski resorts throughout Utah, Colorado, and CA and would definitely rate Keystone as my favorite overall.

The terrain isn't nearly as extreme as some you might find in UT or Jackson Hole, and the nightlife isn't as lively as what you'd find in Lake Tahoe, but the overall value and convenience can't be beat, particularly if you travel with children.

This time it was just a trip with guys, and although we had a great time riding during the day, the night life at Keystone was non-existant, which kind of made me wish we'd gone to Tahoe.

We stayed in a 2bd 3bath condo at Expedition Station that slept 11, plenty of room for myself and seven other travelers. Our condo was about 300yds from the gondola, and had a heated pool and hot tub on site, as well as a steam room and full fitness area, all awesome stuff, and definitely ideal for a family trip, but next time we go on a guys trip I think we'll head to Tahoe...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljpettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.4 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
140 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Keystone
Inn at Keystone
#2 of 6 in Keystone
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverbank Condominiums at River Run Village
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Lodge at River Run Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Village

Property: River Run Village
Address: 150 Dercum Sq, Keystone, CO 80435-7727
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Run Village is located at the base of the gondola at the Keystone Ski Area. River Run is the most sought after lodging destination in the Keystone area not only for its location but also because of all the shops, restaurants and nightlife located just steps from the condominium front door! Enjoy the ease to get to and from the ski area during the winter months and all of the Keystone events that occur all summer long. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Run Village Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing