We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just ok, a bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Cafe

Spoon Cafe
Ranked #17 of 38 Restaurants in Keystone
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
432 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Just ok, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were waiting for family members to finish up skiing. There were no happy hour specials to speak of besides very bottom of the barrel beers. Had some nachos (very basic) and sliders also very basic. This is just one notch up from fast food but with a much bigger price tag. Service was just ok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank webtravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    14
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service & gross food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

What should have been a quick breakfast stop before a day of hitting the slopes turned into a very long wait for terribly gross food. First of all I had to actively hunt down a staff member to order. We then waited almost an hour for our eggs to be cooked. Another staff member came on board during this time & proceeded to get undressed & changed right next to our table. When our food finally arrived, it was very simple & definitely not worth the prices charged. I've had better egg muffins from Mcdonalds! Don't waste your time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tars01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good nachos & beer, great apres ski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stopped here for a little apres ski, got some beers and nachos. The nachos were mounded with cheese, jalapenos, & tomatoes. We added some guacamole and they were pretty tasty. Also had a grilled chicken "burger" which was pretty good. You can sub onion rings though it doesn't say that on the menu.

I like this location for apres ski better than Kickapoo Tavern for a couple of reasons....1) the prices are cheaper and 2) you can usually find a table quickly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
709 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
“Decent food but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Spoon Café is located next to the pedestrian bridge to the gondola in the River Run area. It was very busy inside so decided to sit at the bar. It took about 10 minutes for anyone to even ask if I had been served, with all three waiters/waitress walking past without even an acknowledgement. Eventually I received a menu and a cup of coffee.

The menu, while small, offered a wide variety of choices to suit the tastes of about anyone. I tried the buckshot scramble, which was good when it finally came. It seemed that there was only one cook on duty, as the other guy never showed up for work. The one guy who did decide to help me had brought my meal to the wrong table, but never decided to let me know except when I asked another waiter for a coffee refill.

What should have only been a quick breakfast turned out o be over than a hour and a half. The place has promise, but until the staff actually wants to pay attention to the paying guests it is hard to recommend this place. Maybe they were just having a bad day, but there are other choices in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to start the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great bloody Mary's and yummy breakfast burritos! We enjoy starting the day here~ just wish they opened earlier!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TK3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing