We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like to call it Mountain Grunge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spoon Cafe

Spoon Cafe
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a fun & lively restaurant & bar at the base of the gondola in River Run Village, Keystone. We serve breakfast starting at 8:30am and serve lunch & dinner until 8pm. Our breakfast menu has options to get people on the mountain quickly, and more sit down items as well. Our lunch menu ranges from house smoked pulled pork to salads & soups. We pride ourselves on our cage- free eggs, all natural meats, and homemade soups. Stop in for a quick meal before you get to the gondola or sit down on our spacious porch & enjoy a cocktail and app while your kids play at the playground immediately across from the restaurant.
stoxabc
Level Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I like to call it Mountain Grunge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

More of a place for locals or those who look like locals to hang out. Small restaurant decent food. The waiters and cooks were acting kind of wild like they were drinking with the rest of us...kind of weird vibe. Right off the slopes but, lower end.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Havenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    18
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you want to drink, you're set”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived around 7 and, while there were a number of people at the bar, there were only two or three tables occupied. We stood around for 5 minutes and no one working there would acknowledge us, as they were busy slinging drinks. So we picked up some menus that were sitting at the end of the bar and started looking through them and still no one was interested in helping us. We thought maybe we had gone to the wrong end, like maybe there was a host station on the other end of the bar. Went down there and still a whole lotta nothing, so we gave up and left. I guess if you want to sit and drink, you will be covered. If you want to eat, good luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only thing good here is the view.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

On our 2nd trip to Keystone we wanted to try a place we had not eaten at. We had noticed the Spoon before, easy it is right at the base and stopped in for lunch. Even though it was not very busy the staff took a long time to acknowledge us. Longer still to bring drinks. We both ordered soup that was promoted as homemade. I am pretty sure it came out of a can. Adding a bunch of extra salt and garlic dopes not make it homemade. It was awful, they made up for it by overcharging us. It was pretty pricey to begin with.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSKIER2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good stop for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A small restaurant in the village. This is a good spot for a cold beverage and quick bite to eat. The staff was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kminichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Better than its ratings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place deserves much more credit than it's rating (which I have hopefully bumped up). The spoon is not glamorous, it's not good for large groups, the menu isn't the largest but what the spoon does do it does well. So, what does it do well? The service for one, you're in a "bar" this is not a steakhouse. The "gnarly" dudes that work here are super friendly and were on there game with taking care of us. What else do they do well? Food. No, it's not the best thing i've ever had in my life but it did a darn good job of satisfying me after a day of skiing. I had the smoked Salmon..it was delicious, perfect, surprisingly perfect I must say. Hubby had the pulled pork burrito, he loved it. Pricing is average for the area so I can't complain about that. This is definately a "younger crowd" kind of place. Music, beer and comfort food. If you want fancy there is no shortage of steakhouses in Keystone that would love to take your money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annageez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing