We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best ski area in summit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arapahoe Basin

Arapahoe Basin
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski area boasts a long ski season, from November to June, and offers the highest skiable terrain on the North American continent.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best ski area in summit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Love abasin, the beach, the runs, the views, and the value!

We had our end of season employee party here and had a ball! Perfect weather, catered food and we were even in their avy dog you tube video!

Yea abasin!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    70
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The place to ski in Summit County, Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Choose the right day to ski, when there's a blue skies and little wind, and A-Basin as its known locally, will provide some of the best skiing in the world!
This little known resort is way up above Keystone on the Loveland Pass and has some of the highest skiing available in Colorado.
It's not really for the beginner although the runs from the mid-mountain lodge to the base as just simple green runs.
However, from there on up to the top and down the back of the monutain is intermediate to advanced skiing. If it' at all windy, skiers can be blown sideways as they get off the top of the chair and it's then a\ race to get out of the wind. There is a warming cabin at the top with fantastic views in asll directions.
Arapahoe Basin is independent, but covered by Vail Resorts Summit Pass. It provides skiers with outstanding catering both at the base area and at the mid-mountain lodge at a fraction of the price of nearby Keystone and well worth a visit for this alone. There is a connecting bus service from Keystone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank grampiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“I didn't want to leave!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great atmosphere, great slopes, great price! Also enjoyed the food and entertainment at the Mountain lodge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JazzybooHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spring Break Trip - First time snowboarding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I along with our two 13 year old girls went here to go snowboarding. We had never done it before so we signed up for a private lesson and then hit the slopes. We had a great time and our instructor was super good. He made it fun for all of us and was patient with the girls. The place had amazing views and the facilities were great. The only downfall was I called weeks in advance to ask about prices for rental equipment including clothes. The price I was quoted was way off what I was charged!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Take a lesson and for Scott!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Take a lesson and ask for Scott. We had a great half-day morning lesson with Scott and learned so much. We were impressed with the food options and rental facilities and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of Araphaoe Basin but didn't really enjoy the lack of true "green" runs. The green runs are much more advanced than on other mountains, however, the lesson was great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 266travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arapahoe Basin also viewed

 

Been to Arapahoe Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing