We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort prices good quality food and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bighorn Bistro & Bar

Bighorn Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bighorn Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Resort prices good quality food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This steakhouse is located in the lakeside village area of the Keystone ski resort. It overlooks the lake -which in the winter serves as a large ice-skating rink. There is free valet parking. There's a nice waiting area with a bar just outside the restaurant entrance. The service was attentive. The wait staff are friendly and informative, but not overly intrusive. We had a variety of appetizers and entrées in our party of five and found the overall quality to be very good and the portions to be acceptable as well. Steaks were cooked as ordered and were tender and tasty. Side dishes were also quite good. There's extensive wine list, with some moderate priced wines available. Because this is a resort location and because there are limited upscale restaurant offerings the prices are somewhat higher than one might otherwise expect, but are comparable to other similar dining venues in the area.

I certainly recommend this restaurant and would go there again. Appetizers ran $8-$18. Entrées were in the $25-$38 range. Wine by the glass $8-$15.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlantaBusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    58
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrible service-good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

After a day of skiing we were looking for a good steak house. The GPS located Big Horn so we tried it out. This is sort of the good, the bad, and the ugly type of review.

First, it's in the Keystone Lodge so if you are looking for a stand alone restaurant, you will miss it. Valet parking was no big deal. Next we didn't have reservations to the hostess gave us a sigh and said it would be a while. I'm thinking 60 minutes plus. It was less than 15 minutes. We waited at the bar and had a cocktail and listened to some good live music. We get our table and are presented with the menu. 16 oz Ribeye and baked potato is $38. Dinner for two with no desert and one shared appatizer is $95.

The food was great but for the service I would have expected more. 1) the hostess spilled half a pitcher of water in my lap. 2) it took three requests to finally get our teas. 3) Once our meal was served we never saw our waiter until the meal was finished. 4) We were presented with a desert menu and was interested in ordering. However, the waiter made us wait over 15 minutes to take the desert order and by that time we were pretty much over it and passed.

I don’t want to give the impression that this restaurant is bad. Any place can have an off night with the wait staff. The food was good but pretty expensive for what you get. If I am visiting the area again I would select a different restaurant for dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mringold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious cuisine, very good service and beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Two couples and a child enjoyed a delightful Valentines Day dinner. All around good experience.
1) Friendly reservation agent.
2) Easy & FREE valet parking at Keystone Resort & Spa
3) Walk through pretty lobby, then downstairs to the warm dark and well appointed Big Horn Steakhouse
4) Very good wine list
5) Broad well developed menu. An interesting fanfare of specials for the evening including a reasonably priced Surf & Turf Valentines Special for two. The prime rib was world class. (Small serif font on the menu so bring your reading glasses if you need them)
6) Excellent service by main waiter and auxiliary service staff. Waiter (Katie) was good communicator and thoughtful.
7) Quick service and delicious food.
8) Quick and friendly valet exit

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ApresSkiMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Good service and good food. Something for everyone on the menu. They have great appetizers and bread, too.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tender steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

always great food and service and nice views of the lake if you sit by the windows

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank keytoneColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bighorn Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing