We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to lifts but not ski in ski out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slopeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slopeside Lodge
Save
You added Slopeside Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Close to lifts but not ski in ski out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location of condo near base of mountain and lifts is great but still a hassle to carry skis and having to walk down some flights of steps from condo to lifts and back especially with young kids at the end of a tiring day. In fact, Keystone has very good free bus shuttle service that will pick you up from the many Keystone managed accomodation and drop you off at the ski lifts - which is shorter distance than having to walk from Slopeside condo. So if you can find alternate accommodation that is newer and better value than Slopeside then go for it (as long as the shuttle services the accommodation). If you drive, parking is even closer to lifts but you have to pay for parking.

Also, our condo is small and not very clean. Sofa bed was filthy so management provided free rollaway bed which unfortunately was also not very clean.

Hill grooming and snow blowing noises were minimal. If you have to stay here, ask for a third floor corner unit to avoid noises from neighboring units.

Given the premium price we paid for choosing Slopeside being at the base of the mountain, we will not stay here again but will look for a newer lodge style unit within Keystone with free shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We skied in Keystone during Christmas Break 2013. We stayed in Slopeside Condo unit 2738. I knew in advance that this was budget lodging. The unit was a one room studio with a Murphy bed and a pull out couch. There was updated furniture and the unit was clean but otherwise dated. The pull out couch was terrible as expected. The Murphy bed was tolerable. The efficiency kitchen had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, crock pot, and 2 burner range. There was no oven. There were two hot tubs with a mountain view but one lacked Jacuzzi function.
The prime reason to stay here is the less crowded Mountain House area and close walk to slopes. It is close enough to return for lunch. Although the unit was average, the location is superb. Free ski lockers within steps of the unit were appreciated. Free bus transportation between areas was reliable and friendly.
If you take it for what it's worth, the units are good lodging for budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mplafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Mountain House-Slopeside Condos in Keystone, CO. We stayed in Condo #2800, which had two bedrooms and one bathroom. I thought the condo was decently decorated and we didn't experience any of the noise of hill grooming or snow blowing that others had written about. The bedrooms do get quite warm, so turn down the thermostat quite a bit before going to bed.
I thought the kitchen was a decent size and suited our needs - which was having all breakfasts and most lunches at the condo (and we have two teenagers, lol).
I only have two complaints and neither has to do with this nice condo unit.
One: This is not a true ski in ski out condo, as advertised. You will have to walk down stairs, down a ramp way, across a small bridge then across a small resort road and through or around the Mountain House to get to the lifts. Early in the season (we went for Thanksgiving weekend), there was only one lift of the two open at Slopeside. ALL ski school classes, except for very small children and first timers are all located at River Run. Any activities such as Tubing and the Snow Cat tours are also, guess where, yes - back at River Run. So, next time we will just stay at River Run and save ourselves the constant shuttling back and forth from Mountain House Slopeside to River Run.
Two: Beware of requesting late check out. I requested late check out (and we were prepared to pay for this) when I booked the reservation a month prior to our trip. I called the day we were leaving for the trip to make sure that Late Check was noted on the system (they said it was). I called the night before our departure back home to find out what time our Late Check out was and was told they could not tell me my options until the morning of. I called first thing in the morning to then be told I couldn't have a late check out! Ugh! I could've packed up the night before had this information been told to me 10 hours prior when I called.
All of that being said - we will return but will stay in River Run area instead. The staff at the lifts, driving the busses, working at the ski school, etc. were all wonderful! The slopes were great and snow cat tour was amazing! Tubing was okay (we've had better in other places) but the staff was still fun and nice. Happy Skiing!

Room Tip: Condo #2800 had no noise problems (in November) and was decently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I understand that each condo/townhouse is individually owned and decorated. That said, I'm not aware that renters going through a travel agency like Southwest Airlines Vacations can choose.

Our condo was decent. The murphy bed was more comfortable that I expected. The kids made do in the pull out but I doubt an adult would have slept well.

The kitchen was OK for simple breakfasts but anything more than the basics and you will run out of room and amenities. Quite a mixed assortment of dishes, bowls, cups and mugs. I'm not sure there was a matching pair in the cabinets.

The pullout did not come equipped with sheets and blankets and a call to the condo front desk did not promise a resolution for almost two hours (short staffed) but the guy was there 30 minutes later.

There were a few stray hairs in the bathroom that kind of grossed me out.

We would book here again given the proximity to the slopes and price although we will probably look for a one bedroom as opposed to the efficiency.

No complaints as to noise but we were one the back side of the unit. I'm not sure it would have mattered as we usually fell asleep at 9:00 from sheer exhaustion.

The jacuzzi's really need some maintenance or to be replaced. Both were leaky and it was impossible to decipher how to turn on the jets.

Room Tip: If you can call the travel agent to get some information on the unit- last refurb, location (away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Chicago_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Keystone was a beautiful place to be!

We booked through keystone lodge and spa, thought we were staying there. Didn't understand this was a separate building with better location to mountain. Kind of a draw back that they are all private owned/rented condos because they vary room to room but ended up ok. Bed/sheets were clean. Walls were dusty in corners. Bathrooms outdated but fully functional. Kitchen convenient.

Overall we'll return. Friends stayed in river run and paid double us and we were only a 2 minute free shuttle ride from them (and we had underground parking included).

Location is right on slopes with ski lockers. Dillon, frisco and Breck short drives.

Only negative, hot tubs close at 10 pm with locks. Bummer when dinners are later with night skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heart_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I loved our studio apartment. The balcony was perfect for loading up the kids to go skiing. We had a king bed and a pull out couch. The only downfall was no oven. For some reason they put in a mini fridge even though there was already a full size fridge.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, go back and ask for a room change. They are all vastly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivia821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Slopeside Condo #2777 over MLK weekend. We rented it through summitcove.com and were impressed with the service. It was easy to rent online and they called the day before we checked in to confirm our stay. The condo looked exactly like the pictures online, so it was nice to not have any surprises when we got there. The condo is very spacious and we had more than enough room. We didn't pull down the murphy bed since it was just the two of us, but I think you would still have plenty of room with it down.

The location can't be beat. It is right at the bottom of the Mountain House base - less than a 5 minute walk to the lifts (even in ski boots!).

The heated garage is nice too. It's easy to find a place to park and you are close to your condo. While Keystone didn't get any snow while we were there, it was nice to get into a warm car when we left to go somewhere.

It does get a little noisy at night after the slopes close and early in the morning when they are grooming and making snow. If you are a light sleeper, you may not want to stay so close to the mountain.

Do make sure you open all the drawers and look everywhere in the condo for where things are stashed. We were sad that we didn't find the sleds under the bed until the morning we were leaving.

Overall, we had a great experience at Slopeside and would definitely stay in this condo and rent from Summit Cove again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJ618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.2 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#2 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slopeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slopeside Lodge

Property: Slopeside Lodge
Address: 1211 Keystone Road, Keystone, CO 80435
Location: United States > Colorado > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Slopeside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get closer to the slopes than Slopeside Condominiums in Keystone! Located steps away from the Mountain House ski area base at Keystone, Slopeside Condominiums is a can't miss for the budget minded traveler! Not only located close to the ski area, Slopeside is also walking distance to many restaurants and bars in the Mountain House area located adjacent to Highway 6. Don't want to walk? The complimentary Keystone shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go within the resort! Two common area outdoor hot tubs are located onsite offering amazing ski area views to rest your weary muscles after a hard day on the slopes! Complimentary wifi, underground parking, ski storage and coin operated laundry facilities are also located within the building for your convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slopeside Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing