We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful welcoming place with beach style cabanas and ita a lovely walk to the beach through the local village”
Review of East Surf Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Surf Cabanas
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Rafaella and Sudu are welcoming hosts. I stayed here for almost a month from
mid June and I enjoyed every moment. I wanted a place away from the noisy nights in Aragum, during the peak season there's parties every night so it's nice to be able to come back to your cabana and know you can get a peaceful safe sleep!
It's only a short walk from the beach going through the local
village where all the kids run out to say hello and you can pick up some local food treats when the local shop is open for only 5 rupees for a lentil cake.
You can walk to town in 10 minutes or they can arrange a tuk tuk. They can arrange tours to the jungle and their tuk tuk driver can take you to the nearby beaches of whiskey point, peanut farm, panama or okanda if you want to check the surf there.
The food here is amazing! They cook with fresh ingredients and Sudu is a local fisherman and he makes the best fish curry in Sri Lanka! If you're lucky he may catch some lobster, crab or prawns too!
Rafaella is a vegetarian and her veggie curries are so good! I tried beetroot curry, pumpkin curry and okra curry too.
Rafaella is really lovely, she shared with me her stories of her life in Sri Lanka and how she made the big move from London after she fell in love with Sudu. They are a beautiful and happy couple who will help you in any way for a magical stay in Aragum bay.
Make sure you do the cooking class on Wednesday night! Great value and truly an interesting and delicious experience!
This is one of the better value places to stay here and the cabanas are clean and I love the rustic natural style!
You can even get a massage and acupuncture in the massage hut right next to the cabanas.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at East Surf Cabana for three nights. Rafaella and Sudu are the nicest people - very warm and VERY helpful. The atmosphere is nice and the food is delicious - remember to book the food before 3pm as they get the fresh ingredients at the same day.
The cabanas are very clean, have good mosquito nets, a fan and a fine bathroom - very good value.
In short, just go!
The couple from Denmark, Christian and Zainab

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fullejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved every minute of my stay with Sudu, Rafaella and of Course Lucky and Coco the family pets. . A genuine friendly family environment at East Surf Cabanas, Clean and comfortable accommodation, superb local food, we had fresh caught wild Boar curry one day, line caught tuna curry the next.. fantastic. ( The cookery class is well worth a go too.. whilst Rafaella and Sudu do most of the actual cooking you do get involved and it's great to see what goes into the delicious food Sudu creates - Rafaella even designed the meal with ingredients we could get back home , Beetroot, Pumpkin, fish and the results were delicious).
Sudu and Rafaella really make you feel welcome in Arugam Bay and keep the environment relaxed, recommending places to eat and visit, - i even took sudu (and Gayan the tuk tuk driver) up on a tuk tuk tour of the lagoon - saw crocs close up, Elephants, monkeys, snakes, eagles.. just a shame i didnt have time to stay around for the migrating elephants.
Last but not least try a deep muscle massage from Rafaella.. very very relaxing.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay that i would recommend to anyone looking for affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_shr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

East Surf is the perfect place if you fancy peace and tranquillity, away from local restaurants noise and tuk tuk drivers. We had a warm welcome from Sudu and Raffaella, and Koco the crazy kitten. The cabanas are medium size and very basic: beds are comfortable with clean fresh bed linen and mosquito nets and fan in working order. The bathrooms are also basic and well ventilated with half the roof opened up and plenty of natural light coming in.
The restaurant serves local fresh curry, amazing fish barbecue by Sudu, who is an expert fisherman during the winter month. The food is super tasty, the juces and curd lassi very refreshing and delicious. We stayed a week and wouldn‘t have changed it for anything cheaper or more expensive, just because it felt cosy and homely. You get what you pay for: cheap and cheerful! Grat value for your money. We can definitly recommend this place to anyone visiting Arugam Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanellonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

East Surf Cabanas are owned by Sudu, one of the most interesting, friendly and open minded Sri Lankans I met on my whole trip. He manages the whole place together with his dutch, italian, english wife Raffaella. Both of them are incredible friendly and helpfull.
As Sudu is a fisherman besides managing the hotel he took us some times out on his boat for fishing. That was a really great experience.
My girlfriend and I stayed with them at the end of september, which is already pretty much off season. With us there was just one other couple staying there.
Finally we ended up staying three weeks all together and it felt way more like family than being a customer.
The place itself is just a 5 minute walk behind the southern end of Arugam Bay.
That means, you are just a little tucked away from the busy main street which makes you feel already quite secluded, even though it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and to the main street where all the shops and restaurant are gathered around.

The cabanas itself are nice wooden huts with a palm thatch, each one individualy decorated with a cute little porch. Inside is one spacious double bed with a mosquito net. The mattrasses, are typically asian, so thinner and a littler harder than the big european ones. Attached to the cabanas is small bath room with everything you need.
The cabanas are spread out on a nice estate with lots of different plants and trees.

Attached to the hotel is a nice little restaurant which offers brilliant vegetarian food like currys, milkshakes or homemade icecream from Raffaella and excellent barbecues and fish made by Sudu.

If you are looking for a cosy, little place with nice cabanas, family atmosphere an excellent restaurant and two really nice owners that make you feel at home, just a little outside the busy center, that is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ludwine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 12 in Arugam Bay
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#4 of 12 in Arugam Bay
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arugam Bay
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Arugam Bay
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#12 of 12 in Arugam Bay
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Surf Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Surf Cabanas

Address: Deewara Niwasa, Arugam Bay Pottuvil, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Price Range: $22 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Surf is out of the way from all hustle and bustle; we are 10 min walk to the centre of the village, and 8 min walk to the beach.We have 5 double bed cabanas, scattered inside the garden, with: bathroom, mosquito net, fan, hooks and shelves. Perfect for 1 or 2 people. And 3 large family rooms, for 3 or 4 people, with views. The restaurant offers fresh organic local and seasonal produce; we offer full breakfast; rice and curry, grilled fish and salads, some western food, and plenty of juices and coconut water. We also cater for vegetarians, with separate cooking pots/utensils. East Surf offers Holistic Massage, BBQ nights over Panama lagoon, fishing trips (wind permitting); we also have a machine wash laundry service. What makes us unique is the tranquility of the area, making it the most relaxed and noise free guest house in Arugam Bay, to ensure guests get a proper night sleep. We can arrange airport transfers from Colombo and/or Mattala airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your East Surf Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Surf Cabanas Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing