We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stardust Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kandana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet & Calm”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at Stardust during 2nd week of December 2013. The hotel as well as the area wasn't too busy and ideal for people who want to get away from hustle bustle city life. I got a beach cabana for 3 nights.
Staff has been very pleasent. As the sea was rough near the hotel (Due to Monsoon) I had to wall about 15 minutes to reach the safe bathing place. If you have walk in early morning (around 6.30 am) you will be able to interact with local fishermen who are friendly.
The cabanas are well maintained with a mini fridge.
For food options you may either select the hotel restaurent (which is bit expensive in local standards) or few restaurents in Pottuvil City 2 km away (if you travel by your own vehicle & Check whether hygine conditions are ok with your own standards).
Overall, the STARDUST BEACH HOTEL gives VALUE for YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY. I wish all the success for the hotel & KEEP IT UP!

Room Tip: The rainbow village side beach cabanas have direct view to the sea and more quiet from human involve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYATHU P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    79
    22
    16
    4
See reviews for
40
104
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at stardust in an upper room in the house. Room was nicely done out and clean. Views of the sea from the windows and balcony were definitely one of the highlights. Stardust was situated a 5 min walk away from the main aragum centre, which was perfect for us as it was much more relaxing than places in the centre. Short walk or cheap tuk-tuk ride to the centre was easy. The staff and owner at stardust were friendly and trustworthy, and security was good. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy56565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our family spent 4 nights at Stardust Beach Hotel in October 2013 as part of a round trip in southern Sri Lanka. It was by far the best place we stayed. We could easily have stayed longer had we had time for it. We liked being able to live right on the beach in basic cabanas with private bathrooms next to the sleeping rooms. Bathrooms had open ceilings providing star-view after dark. You really understand the name of the hotel, when you are there. We were not the most organised, so we were a bit late booking at a busy time for the hotel, and yet the staff did everything they could to help us get a great stay and helped us find good trips in the area.
The food was amazing and a visit to the kitchen ensured us that everything was prepared from scratch in a clean environment and under the supervision of a very skilled chef. There were lots of good places to hang out and relax in sun or shade after playing in the great waves just a few meters from the rooms, or finishing the morning yoga session or massage. Falling a sleep at night listing to the waves and other tropical sounds is part of staying at Stardust as is being woken up by morning prayers in town. The little town Pottuvil closeby is worth a visit by tuk-tuk, and so is the national park to the south. Finally, I really think it is great that the management tries to help locals by providing them with reasonably well paid jobs and training at the hotel, and that they worry about sustainability, which is why air-con is not an option. It was not needed when we were there anyway.

Room Tip: If you prefer basic and the beach-like feeling get at cabana. They come in both double and family si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuuDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Today we had our lunch at star dust.. Food was in cheap quality. Prices were very high and when we saw the menu, we hoped food may be in five star quality. Because the prices were matching with the food in five star hotels in sri lanka.. But when we got the lunch, it was terrible. poor quality.. ..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our second stay at Stardust (first visit was in 2010), and we were delighted when we arrived to discover that we were to stay in the same beach cabana as the last time. The cabana was everything we remembered it to be. Comfortable bed with mosquito net, spacious room, amazing open air bathroom plus the addition of extra shelving and a fridge which we previously didn't have. The cabanas face onto their own private garden space and are surrounded by countless palm trees where lizards, geckoes and squirrels rumage. While the cabanas at Stardust are reason enough to travel thousands of miles to visit it is the location of the hotel that is the real draw. Occupying a prime spot at the beginning of Arugam Bay Stardust is totally quiet and peaceful and ideal for relaxing despite there being a couple of newer guesthouses nearby. The village of Arugam Bay itself is just one street with plenty of restaurants and guesthouses and although busier than on our last visit it still manages to retain its rustic charm.

We ate at the Stardust restaurant several times during our stay and found their rice and curry to be among the best we tasted on our trip. We were able to specify how spicy we liked our curry (very) and were served generous portions of very fresh and tasty food. Although the prices are slightly more expensive than in some of the smaller restaurants the quality of the food is such that this is irrelevant.

We would definitely stay at Stardust again if we return to Arugam Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CB7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice, quiet hotel with beach garden and well spread out lounging spots. Sea was a bit rough in front of hotel but we did swim there. Restaurant area was inviting and the food was very good although bit expensive. Wifi only in restaurant area but good connection. Nice touch providing rooms with flasks of filtered water with free refills. We had an upstairs room with a balcony. Small fans in the rooms but It was extremely hot during the night even with doors and windows open.
Main reason for average rating is based value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Relaxing hotel , no noise . Lovely Danish and Sri Lankan helpfully staff, great standards and food here is the best in this town. Yoga here twice a day and almost private beach. Tastely decorated rooms all facing the sea with lovely garden. Great place for family's and children. And one of the only places you will get a peacefully night sleep. No music, no sound just peacefull and relaxing. Highly recommend paying that extra money for a place here if you really want to enjoy your vacation , holidays. Great location,lovely people,good security,nice clean beach,no noise,away from the annoying hastling locals. I would only stay here if I ever returned. Sad story as the tsumini hit this entire town, including the last establishment that was here before stardust, lots of credit to the owner whom transformed this residence to beauty and soul, I wish the owners lots of success and happiness as they are a credit to Sri Lankan and setting high standards in this country to lead by example. Lovely stay,lovely food, lovely people, life is good! Good security also. You will escape the noisy nights in the centre if you stay here, refreshed for the morning yoga if desired , I didn't do any yoga however available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silversocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 13 in Arugam Bay
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Arugam Bay
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#7 of 13 in Arugam Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balaji Ocean View Hotel
Balaji Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 13 in Arugam Bay
20 reviews
1.0 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 13 in Arugam Bay
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#10 of 13 in Arugam Bay
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Beach Hotel

Property: Stardust Beach Hotel
Address: Stardust hotel road | Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stardust Beach Hotel is a calm and relaxing hotel right out to the beach. It's the perfect get away from the busy everyday life. All rooms & cabanas have mini bar, fans, mosquito nets & repellants, attached bathrooms, private terraces or balconies. Sea view from all rooms & cabanas. All ground floor rooms & cabanas have direct access to a big private beach garden. No AC in any rooms for environmental reasons. The rooms are well ventilated with fresh sea breeze & fans.Among other things, the hotel also offers laundry service, free parking and free WiFi. If you really wish to enjoy your holiday, you can start the day with a yoga session at the hotels yoga facilities, then have a delicious breakfast at our beach-view a la carte restaurant and later go for a swim in the perfectly temperate water or take a tuc-tuc to go explore the area around Arugam Bay and end the day with a massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stardust Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing