We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stardust Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great spot to park your weary bod after exploring other parts of Sri Lanka. Although not a surfer or really a beach person, I really enjoyed my stay here because the Star dust is so relaxing. If you want room book the villa, as it has a kitchen area to use. I had a room upstairs in the main area and the breeze kept this lovely and cool. The downstairs rooms only have cold water - not an issue in the hot weather! Great staff, great food, great laundry service! Down the road the Aragumbay is a typically surfy strip. Easy to explore the area from here. Highly recommended.
TIP - take a trip to Panama and the lake. Great wildlife viewing.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank FinoniTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Stardust 2 weeks ago with my husband and two teenage sons we had the upstairs villa it was perfect, nice rooms with balconies.The food was great and reasonably priced the staff and the owner were lovely and helpful.We swam out the front a couple of times every day easy to get a tuk tuk to take you the short distance down to the point, shops and restaurants.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lchap_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at Stardust for a week and had just left this morning (9 July 2013). Before I stayed there, I was a bit apprehensive at first, mainly because Sri Lankans from around Colombo told me the area had nothing but a barren and desert-like landscape.

However, when I got to the area, I was instantly taken by the breathtaking view of the bay. I had a walk around as well as going to Pottuvil, the town, and was impressed by how friendly and pleasant people were. They had a genuine sense of warmth and hospitality - not 'I want your dollar' type of smile. I observed that they were generally polite and respectful towards each other, not only towards foreigners.

The Stardust Beach Hotel is located near the Pottuvil bridge that separates a vast lagoon and the Arugam Bay, a perfect location for those who seek tranquilty and peace.

Service at Stardust was overall excellent. The staff was very friendly and well trained. They were responsive to guests' requests and concerns. They seemed genuinely happy. I assume it was partly because the owner, a very nice Danish lady, treated them well and genuinely cared for them.

The room was clean and cleaned up on a daily basis. The hotel yard/garden was very well kept. The quality and variety of food at its restaurant was fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised.

There were many squirrels and birds on the premises and I enjoyed looking at them.

I would definitely like to go back there next time and highly recommend this place to those who plan a trip to Arugam Bay.

H. Alhoussayni, Sydney - Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alhoussayni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great place. We had booked a room for two nights, but we ended up staying for a week. The staff makes you feel at home, the food is good (and safe to eat) and it's the one place I drank good coffee at Sri Lanka. When you need a break from rice and curry the menu at Stardust can match your needs (pancakes, hamburgers, thai-food, danish-food++).

We had a room on the first floor with a great view, the hotel is right on the beach and we took a morning swim before breakfast. Stardust has its own yoga center with classes two times a day. And the staff can arrange tours (Safari + Surfing).

Takk til Stardust for en fantastisk ferie, anbefales på det sterkeste.

- Ingrid/Norway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and we found the place very good. The standard of the room was great and very well kept and clean. The food was also very good but a bit pricey - however it seems to be a general 'problem' in the area of Araguam Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinesorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had the time of our life in Stardust Beach hotel, bcz we had our wedding over there and they made our dream come true. We stayed one week at cabana and it was just perfect. Food was excelent,accomodation fantastic.....thank you to all from Stardust....it was amazing.

Room Tip: cabanas are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetulaPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for three weeks in town and changed accommodation four times, Stardust was our favorite. Clearly it is not the cheapest place, but in terms of ambience (tranquil, peaceful, chilled out) and cleanliness (the rooms get cleaned every day) the best. If you are looking for a budget party place closer to bars and restaurants then the Stardust is not for you (It is right at the towns entrance, a 15 min walk to the Siam View Bar, and 25 min walk to the reef break 'main point', which requires more advanced surfing skills). But if you fancy to chill out, do some yoga (the have a special yoga area, an instructor can be booked individually) and go surfing on an easy beginners beach break right in front of the hotel, then the Stardust is for you! Handy hint: Stay in one of the beach cabanas (they are cheaper, have an outdoor bathroom and a fresh breeze comes through).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wabsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 12 in Arugam Bay
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arugam Bay
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#4 of 12 in Arugam Bay
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#12 of 12 in Arugam Bay
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#3 of 12 in Arugam Bay
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Beach Hotel

Address: Stardust hotel road | Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Arugam Bay
Price Range: $37 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stardust Beach Hotel is a calm and relaxing hotel right out to the beach. It's the perfect get away from the busy everyday life. All rooms & cabanas have mini bar, fans, mosquito nets & repellants, attached bathrooms, private terraces or balconies. Sea view from all rooms & cabanas. All ground floor rooms & cabanas have direct access to a big private beach garden. No AC in any rooms for environmental reasons. The rooms are well ventilated with fresh sea breeze & fans.Among other things, the hotel also offers laundry service, free parking and free WiFi. If you really wish to enjoy your holiday, you can start the day with a yoga session at the hotels yoga facilities, then have a delicious breakfast at our beach-view a la carte restaurant and later go for a swim in the perfectly temperate water or take a tuc-tuc to go explore the area around Arugam Bay and end the day with a massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stardust Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing