We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arugam Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hideaway Resort
Ranked #4 of 86 Arugam Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my friend booked 3 nights at Hideaway. The rooms were immaculately clean and the outside veranda was lovely to sit out on. It is apparent that lots of thought has gone into designing the hotel - beautiful furnishings and great attention to detail. We were told that we were getting a non-ac room, which was fine but the room turned out to be more like glamping. If you don't stay in a bungalow, be prepared for a beautifully decorated room but with open walls (wooden trellis covered with cloth) i.e. very little sound protection. My friend and I both slept with ear plugs which are provided at reception. We didn't find it particularly difficult to get to sleep but you must be aware that you can hear everything (wildlife, the restuarant directly below, the bar and the nearby mosque).
The hotel bar has a great happy hour (2 for 1 for 550lkr) run by the super friendly staff. It's nice that Sharon talks to all the guests and is a good manageress. We needed help organising the overnight coach back to Colombo and the staff were extremely obliging in aiding us. The hotel also arranged for a tuk tuk to take us to Whiskey Point, which we would highly recommend for a day away from Arugam Bay.
The food at the hotel is incredible and it is obvious that lots of thought goes into choosing the daily menu. It is more expensive that a lot of the places we ate at in Sri Lanka but the food quality is above and beyond, so worth it.
All in all, Hideaway was a really nice place to stay if. However, if you can afford it (£100 a night) splash out on a bungalow!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    65
    17
    17
    8
See reviews for
81
165
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solbiate, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We didn't tried at Hideaway as Hotel but we enjoyed the restaurant.

Avoid the pizza if you are italian, the quality is poor.
After an hour you have ordered expect with good food. Fish plates seems to be the most interesting. My chicken salad was fine (probably if you are hungry could be not enough for you).

The location was good.
We enjoyed the food but for what we ate they we're too expensive.

As usually in Sri Lanka, you we get the food after a long time and not-so-warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krumikaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first week of our honeymoon and we couldn't have hoped for anything better! Our room was beautiful. A large comfy bed and lots of 'local' touches and an open air en-suite bathroom. The bungalows are all set in beautiful tropical gardens and these lead through to the amazing little cocktail bar. The staff here made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived. Delicious cocktails made with all sorts of fresh ingredients and a great deal of expertise. Happy hour runs from 5 - 6 and is buy one get one free. We found ourselves here making the most of it every night! Then there's the food. Sharon has so much experience and the kitchen has a new fresh menu every day. We tried other places to eat but nothing came close to the quality of the food here and we found ourselves eating back here even after we had checked out! I still dream of the raw tuna salad! We can't thank you all enough for making our stay with you so special. You have a fantastic place and it is such a pleasure to meet such genuine people. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriaD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

has to be the nicest place down the abay stretch on both the food and drink side of things. Cocktail happy hour provides a great deal and just a nice relaxed environment to start your night. The guy behind the bar (Tavish) definitely made us feel at home and made sure we had a good time. Decided to treat ourselves to food there on 2 of the 5 nights i stayed and was definitely worth it as we were blown away by the quality both times. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PindideSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Already wrote a review - but doesn't appear to have been posted and wouldn't want to have had such a wonderful stay go by without commenting.
Hideaway is just a brilliant place to stay and relax with unmitigated delicious food. Far enough back from the road to be secluded but still only a short stroll from the beach
Sharon is the perfect hostess -ever vigilant and empathetic
Had to tear ourselves away!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

me and my sun stayed in hideaway 8 nights
beautiful garden. comfortable rooms excellent food helpful staff and great athmosphire. so much better than all other hotels in area
thank you sharon, thank you mathy and thank you jaya so much for making our vacation so perfect
yariv and itamar

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yariv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We decided to upgrade from a a cheap shack elsewhere in Abay to something that felt more like a holiday. This was just the thing! We stayed in a double room for 1 night and then a triple as it was the only room left. It was great having a bit more space. The building is stunning, rooms presented beautifully and cleaned daily. Polished concrete bathrooms (bathrooms are often neglected in Sri Lanka). We invited friends to eat in the restaurant for a dinner and breakfast. Both were brilliant. Much more of a restaurant feel than most places. More pricy than most places but a lovely treat. We also drank in the bar and relaxed in the space outside. We reccommended it to our friends parents who were coming out and friends on their honeymoon. Not a placd for travellers on a budget. We booked a trip to the smaller yala nature reserve (can't remember name) with another couple staying. All great. Some wildlife in the room, squirells, frogs as the walls were open, but this didn't bother us as is all part of Sri Lanka experience! If you prefer a more private room the bungalows looked wonderful.

We felt it was really good value for money, well run and was the favourite place we stayed of about 10 in Sri Lanka, though not the most expensive. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
10.1 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.6 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#2 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Resort

Property: Hideaway Resort
Address: Ulle, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Arugam Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hideaway, we are small enough to get to know you personally and big enough to give you room to breathe. We've opened the doors of this magical place we've lovingly called home for 30 years and we invite you to join us here and discover its very special charm. Hideaway is primarily a family owned and run entity and has its own distinct personality and style of service and is not for everyone. The relaxed and homely atmosphere has a certain panache and all our guests receive sensitive and personalised attention. Hideaway comprises 14 rooms in total: four double rooms and one triple room within the main villa, three family bungalows, four double bungalows and two air-conditioned double rooms - all discretely situated within the resort's gardens, furnished with a rustic charm that will nourish your mind and soul. We are now delighted to provide our guests with facilities for wellness and healing. We have added a pool, yoga pavilion and treatment center - the latter two operate daily during the season. Let us feed your body too! The quality of our cuisine is renowned for miles around and we are proud to share it with our guests and visitors. Our inviting restaurant, open for a relaxed breakfast, lunch and dinner, delivers the finest gastronomic encounters, courtesy of Sharon and her skilled team and carefully selected ingredients. Whatever your reason for visiting Arugam Bay, we have the knowledge and a whole host of local contacts to ensure you make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hideaway Resort Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing