We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Huts, horrible and pricy food!”
Review of Ranga's Beach Hut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranga's Beach Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Ranga´s Beach Hut. The first impression was good, everything is made of wood and also the beach hut that we got was nice and worth its price.
But now lets come to the food and the service. First, there are no prices in the menu. If there would be, no one would order anything! One dish costs almost as much as a hut for two! Fish and Chips for 1200Rs is more expensive than in England... But of course, our foult, since we forgot to ask for the price. Second, even without knowing the price, the food was bad and the dishes were very small. After this experience, we avoided eating there again. The bad surprise finally came with the bill. Third, we did not like the service. Half of the food mentioned in the menu is not available and after returning a salty, disgusting coconut juice the kitchen stuff had nothing better to do than returning it after filling it up with water.

So, what to say. Not a very convincing guesthouse, but I think you can do worse in Arugam bay.

Room Tip: Take the huts on the beach and you can sleep with the sounds of the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Ranga's Beach Hut
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our 4 th stop on our tour was to Arugam Bay. Very different to the calm beaches of Trincomalee, more appropriate for surfing. Best thing we experineced was Ranga's food. Excellent!! Excellent!! Ranga too was such a friendly soul. Unpretencious from his attire to his attitude. His restaurant is a must try in ArugamBay. The rooms were not as great as our other stays but it was very economical and from the choices available in this location, i would say one of the best. Stayed only one night by the beach and it was great to fall asleep with the sound of the waves... Excellent place to go...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderfoul for people travelling alone. Great vibes and very nice owner. Home away home! Strongly recommended! Nice BBQ on the beach on Friday, it s really easy to meet up people from all over the world

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Amazing vibe at this amazing location. The staff are as friendly as they come and are like part of the family as are the rest of the people staying here.
You have your choice of triple rooms, which are disigned perfectly for airflow in the tropics, or the doubles that are a little more basic (but who cares! who goes on holidays to spend their time in their room!)
Food is great with different specials every night.
Tuk tuks are right by the gate first thing for surfers wanting to travel to other breaks at any time of the day. They can also suggest when and where to find elephants and crocs!
I stayed with my partner in a double room. There are double huts but without bathrooms. Not to worry as the public bathroom is clean. I also spent some time in the two storey triple huts that have bathrooms.
The only down side is to Arugam bay in itself. The point is not as good as they say and extremely crowded. It is suited to surfers that prefer a soft wave or beginners. I was travelling all over the country so i included in my trip, but for those surfers looking for a 'surfarai', look elsewhere.
Great for solo travellers to meet people, couples, and families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny_Brick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Amazing staff, and really good food - order by lunch for the curry of the day! Rooms are very basic and rustic but great for a place to put your head. Wouldn't recommend for a family stay but great for young adults as it attracts young surfers from all over the world.....

There are various rooms available - some are right on the beach, some a few metres away. Some do not have bathrooms...

Has Wifi.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

There is nothing fancy about Ranga's Beach Hut except the people. Ranga and his staff are the most amazing. Had 10 great days here last year and already booking to stay again this June.

Room Tip: They have a couple o tree houses which are pretty cool!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anomac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I went for lunch with 14 others to ranga's beach hut on 11th of april 2012 ( The Tsunami warning day). As soon as the Tsunami warning came Ranga asked us to leave immediately to a safe place even when the prepared lunch was there for us. But due to the rush I left my Digital camera on a table and went off.
I came only on the next morning and asked them regarding it. Ranga said that it was with them safely and handed it over to me.
what a honest people we find here at Beach hut.
As a Sri lankan I am proud of these honest citizens of ours.
Thanks a lot Beach hut.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jayanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 13 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Arugam Bay
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 13 in Arugam Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 13 in Arugam Bay
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#13 of 13 in Arugam Bay
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Long Hostel
The Long Hostel
#1 of 82 in Arugam Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranga's Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranga's Beach Hut

Address: Beach Hut Road | Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Arugam Bay
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beach Hut Arugam Bay! Arugam Bay, located on Sri Lanka's east coast, is one of the highlighted places to visit in Sri Lanka. Famous for its beaches which have proven to be a haven for surfers, it is close to several other areas of interest, including National Parks, sites of cultural heritage and many other picturesque locations. Beach Hut's relaxed environment, homely cabanas and friendly staff never fail to leave our guests with fond memories of their stay in Arugam Bay. In fact, Beach Hut was recognized by The Guardian, UK, as one of the best places for budget travel in Sri Lanka. Situated just in front of the beach and close to many of Arugam Bay's main tourist attractions, Beach Hut is your best choice of accommodation in Arugam Bay, whether you're a backpacker yearning to see the sights, or a surfer looking to ride the tide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ranga's Beach Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga`s Beach Hut Hotel Sri Lanka
Ranga's Beach Hut Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing