We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best curry we had in Arugam Bay”
Review of The Green Room

The Green Room
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Arugam Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best curry we had in Arugam Bay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I think we went to the Green room about 5 or 6 times. The chicken curry is awesome. The service is a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurathemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    84
    32
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Slow service, overbooked fish”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We waited a good hour and a half for our meals. The veggie curries were very good but the fish we ordered was massively overcooked. Pretty expensive for what you get. Try the place next door if you want value for money or rams if you want some authentic Jaffna food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Some of the best in Arugan Bay! Try the biryani or the vegetable curry.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really tasty ginger coffee and banana dosa breafasts :-) The friendly staff even found us bikes to hire for the day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank megan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Auragam bay”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

This place has the best atmosphere for a romantic meal they have made a bit more effort than the others. The food is excellent you can bring your own wine with no corkage charge. I suggest you go to the wine shop at the palm grove hotel for wine good selection and prices are marked on the bottles Meenas the other wine shop will try to overcharge you. The menu is not big but we had most things on it and all were delicious I reccomend the crab yum :o)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
Pottuvil, Arugam Bay
 
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
 

Been to The Green Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing