We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
108
35
12
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
35
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern breakfastthe ownerwonderful drivernight guardsri lankalocal breakfastnice gardenenjoyed my stayrelaxed atmospheremain pointac roomquiet placecouple of nightsthe main streetclean roomsrecommend this placenice guy
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 163 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place. After 6 days here we feel refreshed, at peace and full of lovely impressions.

The manager is ever so kind and attentative, and all staff members take good care of all of our needs in a nice and efficient manner.

The nightwatcher is also guide in the dagtime and he is such a nice person and very knowledgeable about the sightseeing in the area and Sri Lankan culture in general. We learned so much!

The rooms are very nice, spacious and very clean. The pillows and sheets comfortable. Housekeeping is excellent. Breakfast was also really good, and their coffee, tea and juices are delicious.

The garden is peaceful and quiet with hammocks and beautiful plants - a lovely place to relax and unwind.

The location is great if you want to be close to the beach and restaurants yet away from the noise and hustle on main street.

This hotel gets our biggest recommendations - we do hope to come back!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

This place is across the street from the bay and the beach. Generally, we did not appreciate our stay at this guesthouse. Reservation with the owner by email was effective. The owner made arrangements for us for a private transfer from the Ella train station. Check-in upon arrival was quick and easy. Large rooms but fairly basic. The owners are Danish as the name of the guesthouse suggests. They do not live here permanently. The staff during the day was less than amicable and had a rude attitude. The night guard was more talkable but not much more client service oriented. Hot water was turned off at night which is totally not acceptable. I had to beg to have it turned on so we may take a shower. This place is too expensive for what you get. There are much better places to stay in Arugam Bay at a better price.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two days and were very impressed with the hospitality. Whether it was extra towels for the beach, cold drinking water or help finding a wonderful driver to show us good surf spots the staff went above and beyond. I also liked that it wasn't on the beach which can get noisy and busy but rather tucked away in a location where you felt comfortable leaving items outside and not worrying about theft ..

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jessicarabbit711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here over a week and really enjoyed it. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice garden and the place is a bit hidden from the Main Street although being very central and close to the beach, bars, restaurants and shops.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank SophieR1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

Really nice and quiet place. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Located only a 2 minute walk from beach/ bars/ restaurants and surfshops. Breakfast not included but for a few ruppees they will offer western or local breakfast.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Miecheldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews