We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service and Expensive compared to other restaurants in Arugam Bay”

Gecko Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #56 of 83 Restaurants in Arugam Bay
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Expensive compared to other restaurants in Arugam Bay”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ordered a vegetarian pizza with no cheese....was brought one with cheese, and when I asked to change it they brought me one with no cheese but Ham instead. after that they brought our bill to the wrong table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shepty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    104
    83
    49
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yammy pizza and coconut milk eiscream”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

If you are tired with local food (as I was after 4 weeks) drop in to Gecko for pizza. I liked coconut milk home made eiscream, too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MurasakiWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant nice vibe”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't stay here but came for lunch and dinner to this nice restaurant. The staff is friendly and the ambiance is great. The food is very tastefull. A nice place to spend the evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and staff but pricey”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

enjoyed dinner here.. funky chill out area. receptive host and laidback staff.
food was ok but yep, I agree with others a bit pricey

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but expensive food and slow service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Food at this place is really tasty and of high quality. I had the eggplant tomato baked dish with fresh bread and side salad and it was delicious. However Prices are quite high by Sri Lankan standards (they also add a 10% service charge on your bill) and service is really slow so you should make sure to order quite in advance of actually wanting a dish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworldandbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Restaurant and Rooms also viewed

 
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
 

Been to Gecko Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing