We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great winery in beautiful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Fire Farms Winery

Fox Fire Farms Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fox Fire Farms is the only commercial vineyard, winery and tasting room in the Durango / Pagosa Springs area. We are located between Durango and Pagosa Springs Colorado. Fox Fire Farms is also one of the largest livestock farms in southwest Colorado. The scenic, pastoral view from the winery is stunningly green. We host events like "Friday Nights at Fox Fire" where every Friday night we have live music provided by a local band and food. (During Summer months only) We have a 100 year old, one room, country school house on the farm that has been fully restored. Closed November 1st to May 15th.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great winery in beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is our second summer to visit the winery. My husband and I have a seasonal home at Vallecito Lake. This is a great respite in a tranquil setting. The Chardonnay is excellent, yes it is grown in California and bottled in Colorado and if you are familiar with the wine industry this is not unusual. I live in California and have been to many winery's this rates as well as many I have been to. The best part it's not crowded, you can relax, drink good wine, enjoy the surroundings, feel welcome and not rushed. We have taken friends with us for relaxing afternoon and they were not disappointed, we always bring home a few bottles for later. So go, enjoy wine as it should be, be glad this winery is here and appreciate it for what it is. Thanks Steve we will return.
your Chardonnay is the best!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlgmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a wine and chocolate pairing event at Fox Fire Farms. The setting was absolutely beautiful, the entire staff went above and beyond, and I went home with a bottle of my favorite Fox Fire Farm wine! We loved the experience, and will certainly return. Thanks so much! Amy and Steve VanBuskirk

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fox Fire Farms Winery is neither a good winery, nor does it seem to be a farm. It has a nice facility and a few grape vines, but the wines are mostly imported in barrels from various places in California and Oregon (except the Riesling which they claim is like its German namesakes - nonsense, it is nothing like that). The rest of the wines are mediocre to barely drinkable. And, thought the sign on the counter states that tastings are $6.00 per person, the owner told us the for groups over ten, it is $10. When we asked where that we indicated, he said in a condescending manner, "It is on the website".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Owner at Fox Fire Farms Winery, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Bill W.
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to Fox Fire Farms. We would like to offer you a complete refund for yourself and your entire tour bus group. You are right about the two tier pricing policy, it is confusing. In the future we will consolidate our pricing into a single price for all visitors.
Just to clarify matters. Fox Fire Farms is one of the largest working livestock farms in SW Colorado at 1100 acres in size. We have 1400 sheep and 320 cattle grazing our verdant pastures. The vineyard is 6 acres in size. With 600 grape plants per acre, that's 3600 grape vines that we care for on an individual basis. We do not consider that just a "few vines". It constitutes a lot of daily work out in the hot sun.
Please contact us for your complete refund.
Fox Fire Farms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This 100 year old ranch should be on your list if you like scenery and great wine. The owners are extremely congenial and happy to answer all questions about the history of this beautiful place and the great wines they are serving

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Fire Farms Winery also viewed

 

Been to Fox Fire Farms Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing