We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an AMAZAING Place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
hayden
1 review
“What an AMAZAING Place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

This place is the top of the top! I have stayed in many tiny places before in old towns. This one out beats them all. The owners are amazing, respectful, and welcoming, they are there to help you and make you feel at home! The rooms are warm and cozy, the location is just beautiful. The room we stayed was clean and welcoming. They are very exceptionally nice people and will make sure you are happy! I don't know what these other nasty reviews are about, I would have to completely have to disagree! This is incredible place to stay! I would recommend this to everyone to stay! I is a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Newly remodeled, beautiful room. Loved the bathroom--2 sinks, separate from shower & toilet. Quiet A/C & Heater and we needed a little of both. No internet in our room (#21). Took our laptop to Quiznos where we had lunch and checked our email.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We do have free wireless internet...so next time you come through, check with Sam and he will hook you up with the password. Sam and Alya, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We made reservations for a 4 day new years weekend of skiing and football and paid in full when making reservations in October, since it was a holiday weekend room had to be paid in full at time of reservation so we paid and kept receipt.
We were told after one night that we had to take care of our bill. When asked we were told that we only paid half the amount even though our receipt says paid in full for 4 nights in hot tub suite. After discussion he changed his tune and we were told we were good for the weekend. End of issue so we thought. On our last night there we were told again we needed to settle our bill!!!!! When we said we had paid in full he called police on us, police came we told them our story showed receipt to them and were told we were good and not to worry about it. We spent our last night and went home 850 miles away, that night received phone call from owner threatening to sue us if we didn't pay our bill. I have contacted the chamber of commerce and the BBB. And this was only dealing with the billing !!!!!!
The room was disgusting , filth under bed and sofa, used condom in shower, wood under cushions of broken couch and old food in kitchenette cupboards. Luckily we got a room with a kitchenette so we had a stove!!!!
The room was cold so we turned on the gas fireplace and couldn't get it to work so turned off gas and looked and all the wiring and gas lines disconnected so when the gas is turned on it just spills into the room. When asking owner about this was told it was just for decoration even though room is advertised with fireplace. So with heat turned all the way up we could see our breath in the room so we used the kitchen stove for heat all weekend!!!!!
I have never had such a poor stay at a motel plus the harassment about our billing, just an unbelievable experience
If you are thinking about this motel, RUN RUN RUN to somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank broncossb3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Columbine Inn management assures the traveler that we do not "threaten", "harass", or indiscriminately "call police" on guests. We also keep precise billing records as do our online booking partners. We unfortunately cannot respond to reviewers claim that suite with private hot tub was "paid in full when making reservations" and (police) "told (us) we were good and not to worry about it" since this is confidential issue still in dispute.
We are family owned and operated and personally clean and inspect rooms and suites daily. On inspection, the suite was not "disgusting", there was no "used condom in the shower" etc. as alleged prior to guests' arrival. Also, this particular suite has a separate heating unit. Free-standing fireplace is not a source of heat. It is a fact that it was disconnected. We apologized, and offered them 1 night free lodging ($130). Once again, on daily inspection, there were no reports of heat problems. In fact, during their 5-day stay, the party of 3 never once complained to management about any of the alleged room conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I booked my stay in the Columbine Inn based on the positive reviews I read on Trip Advisor. I WAS NOT disappointed. What a great place and Sam is wonderful. Rooms are beautiful and look like something you would find in a high end B &B. Prices are very very reasonable. Sam goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and at home here. There are flowers and beautiful landscaping all around. I would not stay anywhere else if I traveled through this area again. Columbine Inn is a winner all the way around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed as part of a large group, some of whome stayed in the motel next door which was even worse but we stayed in the Columbine. We could not check in until 3pm because the owner was still cleaning rooms when we arrived. At first glance the room was good but when you looked closer, the curtain was torn, the window frame filthy. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. The outside was the real letdown though as the weeds were a meter high outside our rooms and it appeared that no one cared. Big holes in the asphalt driveway. We thought the place needed a week of maintenance to bring it back up but my advice would be stay elsewhere until the owner starts to care.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller200972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Will always come back to Columbine Inn. We had the best stay ever in Colorado. Sam was so helpful and the Hospitality was #1

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Nice hotel, pretty clean and nice decor. I would stay here again. The problem... Sam, the owner, promised a queen and we got two doubles. No problem, I can live with that but he quoted me $59 a night but the we were actually charged around $65 a night. I didn't notice until later and decided not to follow up but I noticed a few other reviews that had the same issue. Decent hotel but keep an eye on Frank's math

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing