We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This motel is a nice place to stay if you are passing through Idaho Springs. It is within walking distance of downtown. The rooms are a little old and therefore the plug situation is not great. We have taken to traveling with a plug strip these days. The owners are very nice and it is apparent that they are trying to keep the rooms updated. Our bathroom was nicely tiled although the sink needed replacing. They still have keys and should replace those with cards. The rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your time in writing a review.
Would love to have you stay here again!
Cheers!
Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is very clean and the people that own it are awesome! We had a great time and the location is amazing...great shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance. We will definitely being staying there again!

Room Tip: Just call the hotel directly and let them know what you are interested in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for commenting on our #1 priority, cleanliness. We look forward to your next visit.
Cheers!
Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were on a cycling tour and this was our last stop before heading home, was pleasantly surprised by a wonder place to stay. Clean rooms, wonderful owners would stay here again if we came here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artobloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please, come back soon. We enjoy our repeat guests, especially our adventurous cyclists!
Cheers!
Sam and Alya Salter, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place. Don't miss this place.. Rooms are clean. Sam is fantastic. We came from Florida and was VERY happy we stay here. We stay at a few around d here and only wished we stayed here all the time. Is u are going to Mt. Evan or Echo lake this is the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wilfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
So glad you stopped by, and all the way from Florida! Thanks for writing us a review. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Cheers!
Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've stayed at the Columbine Inn several times over the past 10 years, but I don't think I've ever written a review. This is a very nice locally owned motel in Idaho Springs, it is clean, the rooms have nice touches, slightly dated because of it's age, but the owner, Sam, does a great job keeping it up.

This would have had 4 stars, except for one item that is so basic.... Sam, what is up with the bath towels? The size of these bath towels are laughable, We couldn't believe how small they were, they literally were the size of hand towels at other motels/hotels. The price to stay at the Columbine has crept up over the years, and it was just a tad under $100 for 2, everything was pretty darn good, but the towel size lost this place a whole star.... easy fix!

One other thing, and this is not directly related to the motel, why do smokers think it's OK to step out of their non-smoking rooms, and then they stand in front of our open window and smoke cigarettes???? We were in a corner room, and I guess the smokers can't stand in front of their rooms..... not the motel's fault..... but boy is that irritating. btw, I said something through our open window and they just scurried off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyguyonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Wish I could wish upon that extra star. You should have mentioned this issue about the towels while you were here...because you are absolutely right. The response may be as funny (but true) as the towels were "laughable": We hired and were training new staff for the summer who came from Europe. Later, found out that one of the girls was putting up the bath mats on the rack instead of bath towels!
Cheers!
Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Columbine Inn late afternoon, with overcast skies. The sign was barely visible through the tree limbs, the parking lot has plenty of wear, and the grounds were not especially inviting. However, the room we stayed was clean and comfortable, there was free wifi, coffee/fridge/microwave in the room. A good value and great launching point for Mt Evans.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UNC-Schep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Columbine is a small motel right on the main street in Idaho Springs. We found the place a bit run down. The beds, though, are comfortable and plush. The rooms were quiet. The location of the motel is perhaps its best asset.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing