We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local hotel”
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We came from Georgia in April for a one night stay before a weekend in denver..great value,very clean rooms..and the best shower I've ever taken. I recomend the columbine to anyone traveling on 70,or anyone visiting the rockies

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshanahan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are so pleased that you had a good experience here. Looking forward to having you back!
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to get out of Denver for the night, so we drove up to Idaho Springs and saw The Columbine Inn. It was about 8:30 pm and freezing outside. We rang the bell and the owner, Sam came to help us. He seemed very excited to have us there, and gave us a great a deal for the night.He even told us a comfortable temperature to turn the thermostat to. The room was very cozy and decorated very homey. All of the necessities were there, and even extra blankets and pillows. We had a great night and are definitely planning on going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We hope that you have had a chance to return to our place. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Tripadvisor community.
Cheers! Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I looked up different hotels and bed and breakfasts before I visited Idaho Springs and all reviews said the same thing -- don't stay anywhere but Columbine Inn. So, I booked as instructed and thank God I did. We checked in and the woman at the front desk was sweet, friendly and quick. We then went into our room to find the most spotless, cozy, nicely decorated room. Everything was perfect, to a T. I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We hope that you have the opportunity to return. Thank you for all of your remarks. We appreciate
the time and effort it takes to write a review.
Many thanks, Alya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Super comfy room. Very spacious and made for a small town feel. Good location right off the highway but in town enough to feel away from the mainstream. Highly recommended for a little mountain get away. Much better value than staying at one of the chain hotels in Breckinridge or Silverthorne.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We try to do our best and cleanliness is our #1 priority. Thank for your recognition and we hope to see you back here very soon.
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We landed in Denver and stayed 1 night at a generic airport hotel. Since our plans were to travel West we wanted a hotel about an hours drive out of Denver the next night. After looking in vain for well known chain hotels I realised I would have to find something else for the night. We wanted to drive up Mt. Evans the next day so Idaho Springs was the best choice. We ended up choosing the Columbine Inn and were glad we did. At a very affordable price, this is a lovely little characterful inn. Our group used 3 different rooms and they all had different decor and they were all charming and cosy. It ended up being one of our favorite places to stay on our 3 week USA trip. Most of our other hotels were bland and standard and I am not even gonna bother reviewing them.
Slight minus point; there is no breakfast on site.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Google Translation
Bedankt voor het verblijf bij ons! Veel gasten blijven hier op hun webg van en naar de Rocky Mountains. Helaas hebben we geen ontbijt geserveerd op dit goed, maar er zijn veel restaurants in de buurt. Ook de Koning Suites hevven allmaal een keuken en elke kamer heeft een magnetron en een koelkast. Hohpen jullie allemaal weer te zien in toekomst!
Sam en Alya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy,ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are no "chain " hotels in Idaho Springs, My husband and I stayed at Columbine Inn at the end of October 2012. We stayed for 5 nights. Our room was very clean and the staff tidied it up every day for us. Our room consisted of a king bed, refrig, microwave, sm kitchenette with table. The bathroom was shower/tub and toilet, with sink and mirror outside the bathroom.The room was quaint. It was a little small but we were happy with all the ammenities in the room. It is within walking distance to Main st. Also there is a grocery store about 1 block from hotel. There is a Chinese restaurant 1/2 block down that is very good.Wi-fi worked pretty well. I think because of the area it works better at different times. We got the password from Sam and it worked well. I will stay here again when visiting family in Idaho Springs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urthebestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. Let us know the next time you are coming to visit and we will show you a larger room. Cheers! Sam, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The owner/manager was friendly enough. But when I found out there was no wi-fi signal from them, he blamed it on some guests who had left that day and suggested that I try to link into the neighboring motel's wi-fi and gave me a bogus password (so much for getting some work done for clients that evening)... That night my husband and I were treated to the worst night's sleep we've gotten in a very long time, thanks to the horribly uncomfortable beds. Followed by a shower that barely drained. We both ended up leaving grumpy, exhausted, and dissatisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRHCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We apologize for the misunderstanding since Wi-Fi signal problems cannot be the fault of "some guests who had left..." because the router is privately located in Columbine Inn's main office.We suggest that you tell management personally when you are dissatisfied. Our policy is to issue a refund. Sorry. Sam, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing