We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gluten free crust I've had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beau Jo's

Beau Jo's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dairyland, USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best gluten free crust I've had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We make a stop here on our annual trek to the mountains. They have the best gluten free crust I have had. Great flavor and crunchy, with great toppings. Service has always been good. Ths go around it was a bit if a wait for our food, but it was a busy holiday weekend in the mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank w0rkt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    248
    74
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique and yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is great. They have a wonderful variety, nice atmosphere and the pizza is delicious. I've been for dinner and lunch, it was great both times. If you're in the area or traveling through you must go

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AddiFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique and fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Mountain pies--this is what these pizzas are called at Beau Jo's. They are awesome!!! You order by the pound and the crusts are 'knotted' honey white or wheat that you tear off and dip into honey as your dessert if you wish. We had the Beau Jo's standard sauce and two different kinds of pie. Leftovers from the fridge were just as good 2 days later heated up.
We will definitely hit this place again when we are in Idaho Springs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sdecker77145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Salad Bar - Don't Understand the Pizza Tho...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

There salad bar doesn't look like much, but some of the freshest, tastiest veggies are to be found here! Try the beets for sure.

I don't get what the fuss is over the pizza though. Maybe I'm more of a thin crust gal, but this just seemed very doughy and kind of goopy. It was tasty, but no better than say Papa Johns. I would eat here again just for the salad bar though!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A yummy lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We remembered this place from reading other Trip Advisor reviews, and stopped in while we were passing through Idaho Springs. Located in an old building, the decor reflected the bygone years of mining in the area, with various mining artifacts on display and much of the original brick in the wall still visible. In keeping with the old-timey theme, the salad bar was situated in a couple of clawfoot bathtubs - very cute!
Now the food: Beau Jo's has a extensive menu, and if you like pizza, you will no doubt find plenty to enjoy. Because we wanted something light, DH and I shared a medium marguerita pizza - thin crusted, with just the right amount of wood-fired smokiness. It was one of the best pizzas I have had in quite a while. (We skipped the salad bar - as clever as its presentation was, the ingredients were nothing special.)
The menu also includes pizzas with larger, thicker crusts (their "mountain pies"), served with a squeeze bottle of honey for large the crust ends. There are other items on the menu as well, although when we were there, all the diners we saw were eating pizza.
This place appeals to every age group, and we saw families with little kids, senior citizens, and every age in between.
If you're a pizza-lover visiting Idaho Springs, you don't want to miss this place! I would be visiting all the time if I lived in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beau Jo's also viewed

 
Idaho Springs, CO
 

Been to Beau Jo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing