We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique pizza expérience”
Review of Beau Jo's

Beau Jo's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A unique pizza expérience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Mountain Pie's at Beau Jo's are worth a stop! The pizza comes with a bottle of honey to put on your crust - simply fantastic. We stop here every chance we get!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A2freqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    265
    78
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food slow service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is great. I stop here every time i'm in Idaho Springs. Usually we are served fairly quickly but this time it was a lot slower. After we ordered out waiter seemed to disappear until the food came out so our drinks only got filled when the food came. Hopefully that was just the bad service was just a one time thing. Other than the service the pizza was amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sastauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large Pizzas but left me wanting more than delicious crust”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beau Jo's mountain pies promise a filling meal after hitting the slopes. You order mountain pies by the pound with thick rolled crust. However the crust seemed a little much. It was perfectly cooked, but If the ratios were tipped a bit more towards toppings/ cheese then this would be amazing. Also there were very few appetizers that were not bread based, so we avoided this course to tackle the crust of our pizza. The vegetable toppings were bland and seemed to be an afterthought to the delicious crust.

The service was excellent and even with a fully crowded restaurant we had a very friendly waiter who made sure we were taken care of.

The honey on the crust was amazing!!!! I thought this would be a silly gimmick, but was better than the pizza. If I could do it over I would get a less bread based dish and eat someone else's excess crust for dessert with the honey =)

Tip: dont order a larger pizza thinking "This will be great for breakfast" After a meal of pure bread insanity you wont want gluten for at least a couple meals. Or if you do be sure to eat some prunes or you will be miserable!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Cleav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Original Beau Jo's”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very cool place---------Pizza is expensive but a lot of fun and very good. Just make sure you go to the one in Idaho Springs and not Evergreen or you'll be VERY disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mntgrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We ate at Beau Jo's often many years ago, but hadn't visited for a long time. To get out of very heavy after-ski traffic, we stopped again last week and were pleasantly surprised. For starters, they now have an extensive menu of gluten-free dishes, which pleased my wife greatly. All 3 of us had a different individual pizza and we pretty well finished them all. This is pretty unusual for us. Ingredients were fresh and zesty and each style (mountain pie, prairie pie and gluten-free pie) was very good. We won't wait so long to go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beau Jo's also viewed

 

Been to Beau Jo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing