We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History”

Argo Gold Mill and Tunnel
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
ARGO Mill Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come visit one of the regions most amazing historic mining sites, the Mighty ARGO Mill. Our tour includes a visit to our history room to view a video describing the history of the ARGO Tunnel and Mill, a view into the ARGO TUNNEL, a descent through our historic 5 story ore mill, a visit in the historical artifact museum at the base of the ARGO Mill, and a chance to find real gold as we offer you a gold panning lesson!
South Hadley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

the Argo Gold Mine and Mill was very interesting. After the initial information session (very informative, the young man doing the presentation was engaging and had lots of interesting information) and ride to the top of the mine the rest of the tour is self guided, so you can spend as much or as little time as you want on each area

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    66
    26
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
matlock
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Educational and interesting”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took my 3 children her 10.13.15 . They really found the site interesting quite dilapidated but the guides seem passionate about the old place. This seemed the best mine to visit and we had introductory talk first then rode in bus to the top . It was then a walking tour involving going into mine and then working our way down through the rickety plant . Finally they got the chance to pan for gold.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Fun Little Jaunt”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I loved the little hike up and around the mine, the museum itself was small but fun. All of the staff there were fantastic, the only reason this didn't get an "Excellent" was the poor quality of the film they showed during the intro.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sure you can get down to the bottom...”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was a fun experience for my son, nephew and I who love mining. Not so fun for the lady on crutches they dropped off at the top of the mountain and told there would be no issue with getting back down to the museum and parking. ADA friendly this is not. I would have rated them higher if the man giving the presentation and driving the shuttle would have been truthful to the poor lady in our group who ended up having to scoot down more than a hundred narrow steps on her butt because she had a torn Achilles and couldn't go down the stairs on her crutches like he said she could.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out Dated”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Could be a great experience, but fell short due to a lack of having a tour guide. It starts off with a short slide show presentation (seems to have been put together way back in the early 1990's). A guide then shows you and passes around some of the gems found in the mines. This is followed by a short bus ride to the Gold Mine. There you are left on your own to explore the mine and then walk through the Mill. Except for a few signs, there is little to help explain how things operated and what exactly you are viewing in the mill. I expected for the price that a guide would have led the group throught the gold mine and mill giving a talk about what you are viewing and an explanation of how the mill worked. At the very end, you are given a chance to try panning for gold where an attendant actually gives a brief lesson on how to go about this. Personnally I think it was a bit over priced for what you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelair36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo Gold Mill and Tunnel also viewed

 

Been to Argo Gold Mill and Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing