We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it a try”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Springs Resort
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gave it a try”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hi, sorry this is long, but I wanted to fill in some gaps on the other review Ive read.
We wanted to get away, Idaho Springs is about 45-min -1hour from Denver, and has hot springs mineral pool and baths. We booked the 89.00 special. The other reviews are correct in that the place needs a major renovation. Dumpy is a good word. We stayed in the "lodge" the room was very clean, but the heat was off so it was cold, there is a coffee maker and shower. TIP- no hairdryer. It's next to the Inn & across the street from the main check-in area. Check in was easy, and staff polite & helpful. It's not clear, but there is a breakfast in the morning next to the gift shop until 10:00am. Cereal patries etc. We went to the caves first- TIP- they don't have signs on what is the hottest etc. as you walk in, there are small pools, the end one is the least hot the first one by the door is the hottest. The Caves are also clothing optional. It's very dimly lit, there are tiled benches to sit next to the pools. We then tried the mud room (our favorite experience here) the room is bright, but old & barren, the mud is ankle deep and cold. We've never done a mud bath before so this was new. there are white plastic lounge chairs to sit relax on. TIP: there is only 1 small heater hanging on the wall, its not adjustable, get the chairs directly across from the heater, and though you can't feel it, it helps to dry within an hour. ALSO: Its not clear how to get to the mud room. You can see the mud room & a door as you enter the pool area, but you must walk up through the main entrance by checkin & over to the other side with the caves. The mud was a great experience, my skin was soft, but the surprise was my hair! It was SO soft, bouncy and looked fantastic. Take the time to let the mud dry, it's worth it! We tried the pool next. The pool area is worn down just like the rest of the areas,It's basically an atrium. There are tropical plants,HUGE banana, rubber and palm trees. It's very tropical feeling. the pool is a large L shape. it's a mineral pool so it was green and cloudy like it should be. It was also very crowded for a Friday midday. The water is not that warm, almost annoyingly between cold and warm. there is a large spicket that pours HOT water into the pool with a sign that says please share the hot water. we didn't stay that long, and we didn't go back. We then tried the personal private pool. this was VERY hot. a hot tub will in general run at 104 when it's hot enough for complaints, this was easily 108.You can get a refund if you go to the desk within 15min of going into the room. It's a medium room with a large raised tile tub, hooks and a bench for clothes, and a shower. We stayed since it was free, private -you can lock the door. These are the INDOOR private pools. they are also on the way to the caves. I swear there was chlorine in the water, I could smell it, and the water was clear like a regular pool. but the flyers say it's hot springs mineral water.
My husband got a massage, he said it was a good massage, but the room was very small and again dumpy and old. The special of $89.00 is a good one. there is a $25.00 voucher to a few places in town to eat, We had lunch at Tommyknockers- good food- and dinner at Beu Jo's Great service and great food. Using the voucher, dinner only cost us $15.00 including tip. The historic downtown is 2 blocks long, and a small little historic mining town. There is a drive thru starbucks on the right as you enter town from I-70 and a Safeway on the left.
All in all, we loved the mud, and would have loved to do it again. But it's not worth a trip back. While the price was right,the people friendly, it was just too run down and in need of a serious lift. I would pay more and go back if it were updated even just some. The decor spans between 70s-80s & 90s, the carpet is dark geen and worn very thin in several places.
I looked but didnt see any algae, mold etc. as one other review did. If you are looking for a resort, this isn't it. They offer spa services at a expensive price. but a motel 8, travelodge is more updated. TIP- there are lockers in the locker rooms, they cost 2 tokens- .50c- you must get these at the checkin desk. This has so much potential, hopefully something will come along soon to help them bring this back to life. TIP: bring your own robes & maybe towels if you like bigger ones.

Room Tip: bring your own robe, hairdryer. Not a resort, needs serious updating. Rooms are clean, beds and pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank angelmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    27
    40
    65
See reviews for
30
81
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely week day retreat at the hot springs here. Resort might be an overstatement, but the accommodations here were adequate and clean and the hot springs delightful. The staff was friendly and polite and responsive. The pool is lovely, in an indoor greenhouse! Can't do better for a good hot soak during the winter.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are across the street from the hot springs, but within easy walk, really just across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneTravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We didn't stay at the "resort" but tried one of their outdoor mineral private hot tubs. We got the last tub that was considered their emergency tub in case another tub broke down. The water was lukewarm and they offered to switch us but that would require waiting. They also offered a refund. We did the Club Mud which was different. It's only ankle deep and you rub it on you then sit and let it dry. The room was not very appealing nor relaxing. You get what you pay for. We payed only $35 per person . Our skin did feel soft afterwards. Overall a poor mans spa.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Aside from the room in the main building this is a great place to go and stay for a couple of relaxing days. The hot springs pool is awesome, the caves are very nice and are definitely worth soaking in. The room on the other hand is VERY small, bed is not comfortable, bathroom only has sink and toilet, need to shower in common area by pool. The rest of the resort is great. Stayed at the building across the street from main last time and it was good. When we return we will make sure to not stay in main building.

Room Tip: do not stay in the rooms in the main hotel. rooms are VERY small and have no shower, just a sink an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This "Resort" reminded me of many summer camps I stayed at in the eighties. We rented a cabin on the creek (which turned out to be a tiny stream that could be mistaken for a drainage ditch). There was a filthy bucket of kitty litter (?) on the deck and cigarette butts littered all around the porch. We were close enough to both cabins on each side we could hear conversations and tv programs for our entire stay. The indoor mineral pool was green slimy, and reeked of chlorine. Outside bar was never opened. The toilet wad clogged the first time anyone used it and had to be plunged on our first night. The next morning the toilet wad clogged again, and they sent a very nice maintenance man to clean out the sewer trap while we ate breakfast less than 4 feet away, then his dry heaving and retching came echoing thru the cabin windows. Poor guy, and poor us. We then paid extra to go to the mud baths, which was not mud... But more like wallpaper paste. We eventually asked for our mud bath money back after a spa attendant checked the mud bath and said it was very low on mud. There was also no heater working in the mud room which was advertised. Customer service is lacking here, and the many people at the front desk were short, rude, and didn't seem to be happy working there. I'd wanted to try this place for over 10 years... That was a serious bubble burst. Save your cash and grief and head to any of the other Hot Springs in Colorado. They actually are welcoming to customers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SariW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Idaho Springs hotels

Macomb
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only used the mineral pool, we did not do any of the other activities offered. Since they were at an additional cost and we did not have enough time here. The mineral water pool will spoil you for any other pool. The water was nice and warm. We stayed in the lodge. I was very weary about staying at this "resort" after reading the reviews. I sprung for the lodge since most negative reviews stated it was "rundown, disgusting, filthy, etc" The lodge is the newest building on site. The room was not bad but not resort. If you don't like bugs this is not the place for you to stay. Since the doors are left open in the summer due to no air conditioning the halls were filled with flying insects. Saw a couple of bugs in the room but this is bound to happen since the location of the facility is set back in the woods a little. Once again this is not resort/spa material. Overall it was a good visit but I live in the woods and would not recommend this to anyone expecting a spa/resort.

Room Tip: From my understanding the lodge is the newest of the buildings on site with indoor plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athome2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

As past reviews indicate, this hotel is old, but this gives it character. The pool area is gorgeous and unique with all of the vegetation and the temperature is PERFECT. It's like soaking in a huge hot tub! Yes, they could spend a lot of money and upgrade, but then it wouldn't be affordable. THE POOL IS FREE. The lobby and first floor are beautifully painted, but the second floor is an eyesore. We stayed in the main lodge in room 211 and it was definitely decorated back in the 70's, but it was CLEAN and it smelled fine. The only problem we found with the room (other than that it was ugly) was that the toilet never worked properly and ran nearly all of the time. We got used to the almost constant running water sound. I was disappointed in this "holistic" resorts lack of concern about the obvious water waste. We asked that it be fixed the first evening of our stay, but it never was. We had to mess around with the innards of the tank numerous times to get it to flush. Hopefully they will replace this toilet. I would definitely avoid this room until they do! The "showers down the hallway" are NOT down the hallway. They are clear by the pool. Take cover-ups! Check the Geo Thermal Pools Temperature BEFORE paying. They are VERY, VERY hot. The fine print states that REFUNDS are only given within 15 minutes of trying them out. We found this out the hard way when they didn't see us come back into the lobby after our three minutes in the cave (we couldn't breath, much less get into the water). They did make it right by giving us a private hot tub for an hour. MAPQUEST, takes you on a wild goose chase.....surprised?!! Anyway, if you are heading west, 20th is not marked with a street sign in Idaho Springs. After getting off I70, go left at the Y instead of staying on Colorado. This will take you onto Miner Street. You can't miss the resort sign.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bregabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
4.3 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
4.2 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JC Suites
JC Suites
#3 of 5 in Idaho Springs
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
98 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort

Property: Indian Springs Resort
Address: 302 Soda Creek Road, Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Idaho Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Indian Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing