We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional operation in Idaho”

Highside Adventure Tours
Ranked #13 of 13 Tours in Idaho Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Colorado's oldest and most trusted Colorado Whitewater Rafting companies - NOW partnering with the Colorado Adventure Center! Fun, affordable, Colorado River Rafting near Denver, Colorado - Only 35 minutes from Downtown Denver, Highside Adventure Tours (HAT) has all you and your family need for Colorado Whitewater Rafting. Offering Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced sections on Clear Creek, HAT has Class I-V white water covered. ALSO - Colorado Zipline Adventures peaking your interest? Located only a couple minutes from our Colorado River Rafting location in the Argo Gold Mine and Mill, HAT is now offering Colorado Zipline Adventures on one of Colorado's LONGEST and FASTEST zipline courses. Call 877-ZIP-RAFT to Book Your Colorado Adventures Today!
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Family and I took a trip up to Idaho Springs and Highside. We had a blast the whole time. From the quarter-mile zip line over Clear Creek, (which our guides informed us was the longest tower-to-tower zip line in colorado), to the class 4 rapids on our white water rafting trip. Parker, our tour guide on the raft trip, was very knowledgable about the area and history we rafted through, and ensured everyone was completely safe the entire trip. Chad and John were excellent zip line instructors and once again, made sure everyone was completely safe and enjoying the ride of their life! First-class location, customer service and experience. Definitely recommend for a family trip, or anyone just looking for a quick and close escape from the rush of the city.

Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CACHeadquarters, Guest Relations Manager at Highside Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you, Sean D., for taking the time to review our Idaho Springs Basecamp. Here at Highside Adventure Tours, as well as the rest of the Colorado Adventure Center's basecamps, we strive to deliver the best and longest lasting experience possible to every one of our guests. It seems we have done just that with you and your family. It is our pleasure to entertain families such as yours, delivering a Colorado Experience that is only known with the Colorado Adventure Center and Highside Adventure Tours! Thanks again for the review and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Highside Adventure Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

There was not much organization for the shuttle to the zipline from the center. After the ziplining was done, we waited on the shuttle for 20 minutes while the bus driver joked and smoked with the other employees. There was not enough equipment for everyone and so the group had to be broken up into two groups. If there was a problem on the first zipline, there were no stairs back to the ground. Instead, the employees made a makeshift rappelling rope to the ground, while the others waited. The pictures that were taken, had to be purchased at the beginning of the tour. At the end, we were not shown the pictures, but were just given the CD. As a result, the people we were with did not get their individuals pictures, but were given ours. Poor organization by all aspects of the group. Check the zipline and see that you are in charge of the braking and it comes as a result of placing your hand on the cable. Not the best idea. The only way to stop if you miss the cable is to run into a heavy rope at the end of the zipline.

Thank jimleslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stu B, Public Relations Manager at Highside Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, jimleslye. Although we strive to meet the highest standards of customer service, it seems we did not meet your expectations. We are sad to hear that. However, it is only through folks, like yourself jimleslye, that allow us to better those moments, and to continue to raise the bar each and every day. We appreciate your review. Thanks again for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Put your fears aside. It's easy, fun and a great outing whether for a date, family afternoon, team-building or just a spontaneous whim. The staff is fun, relaxed and very knowledgeable. Definitely buy the Double-Zip. The single zip is over just when you're getting the hang of it and ready to jump boldly. The additional zip is only half the price of the first one so it's totally worth it. It's a fun activity for all ages (must be at least 48" tall).

This is the longest zip line in Colorado, one stretch being 1,200 feet. It's unfortunate that I-70 is in spitting distance but honestly, when you're zipping, it really doesn't matter because you're having too much fun. This isn't an all day thing so if you are planning a full day of mountain activity put this at the beginning or the end. Plan on being there 2 hours for a single zip and 3.5 for a double zip. I would do it again but think it would be more fun with a larger group of friends.

Single tour: $80
Double zip: $120
Photo package: Only $12.95 per person!

Don't wear loose shorts. The photos will show everything as the wind blows up into the legs of your clothing. DO wear a sturdy pair of hiking or tennis shoes. No flip flops or mountain sandals either. They won't let you wear them for safety reasons.

Do bring your smiles and adventurous spirit. Pair a zip line with a raft trip! What a good idea for a great day. Enjoy.

HINT: If you want a good photo, make sure that you are winning the "race" against the person zipping next to you. The photographer seems to get the best shots of whomever is first coming down the line.

2  Thank Glitter_Hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stu B, Public Relations Manager at Highside Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Glitter_Hippie, thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you visiting our operation and also sharing your experience with the world. Thanks for adding all of the great tips as well. I am proud to announce that we will be finished expanding our course in May 2014 and there will be 3 more towers and 3 more zipping cables for over 5,000 ft of zipline excitement! The best part, we are only raising the price by $10 - That's Right, Ten Dollars. We would love for you to come back and check us out again. Nonetheless, thank you for the very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My two friends and I went white water rafting on Clear Creek with Highside Adventure Tours about a week ago. I had a really great time! The trip was about an hour and a half total, and the staff was super nice and very informative. Each rafting guide was a lot of fun, and made sure everyone was having a good time. We did an intermediate course, so there were definitely some pretty solid rapids, but it wasn't too intense if you're just a beginner. They also have a photographer there to capture all the great moments, which are ready to view by the time you get back from the trip. Overall it was lots of fun, I'd definitely do it again!

Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stu B, Public Relations Manager at Highside Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you Ellie S, for the kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. We always love hearing about people's memories and moments on Clear Creek. It is one of our favorite trips as well. Perhaps next time you can add some zip in your life on our newly expanding zipline course. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My friends and I went white water rafting on Clear Creek with Highside Adventure Tours and we had a great time! We had two first-time rafters in our group and one who had done intermediate tours before. We all felt completely comfortable with our guide (He was fantastic! Really friendly and experienced - he said he'd been leading rafting tours for 12 years). They provided all of the necessary equipment at a very reasonable rental cost (including wetsuit, booties, etc.). All three members in our group had a great time despite being at different experience levels. I felt that I was treated as a valuable customer by every employee and there were no 'dumb questions'. Clear Creek was a fun place to go rafting. It was my first time rafting, and I didn't feel intimidated. At the same time, my friend has been rafting in Class 4 and 5 rapids before and she also had a great time. I think it's the perfect place to go with a group of people at different experience levels. Overall, a great time and well worth the trip!

Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stu B, Public Relations Manager at Highside Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Katie G, thank you so much for taking the time to offer a review here on Trip Advisor. We love Clear Creek and are happy to take all levels of rafters down that section. Perhaps next time, you can try the intermediate section! We have a zipline as well with 8 towers and 8 separate zip cables on 1 fantastic course. We offer packages at a great discount that incorporates rafting, ziplining, and a free deli lunch. Hope to see you out here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highside Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Highside Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing