We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Argo Inn and Suites
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The room was dirty with hair in the bathroom sink and tub. The sheets were from the previous occupant as we found a used condom in the bed. We packed our bags and left within an hour for Copper Mouintain better on up.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thom j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

Nowadays known as Argo Inn & Suites

Pros:

-Nice and tidy room

-Good location, store nearby

Cons:

-There was a mouse on our room. When we told management about the problem, they just started to laugh of it. Compensation, hah hah dont even ask about it.

-Bed was way too soft

-Continental breakfast, dont make me laugh. Just coffey, juice and some crappy donuts

-Free WI-FI which didnt work at all

-Overpriced

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacktheripper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent the night on the 4th of July for a short get-away. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the hotel itself is very nice and clean. I especially liked the riverview room we stayed in. We got very little sleep because the mattress was very old and uncomfortable and the pillows leave much to be desired. We were very disappointed by the so-called continental breakfast that didn't begin until 7:00 a.m. and offered instant oatmeal, sweet rolls, coffee and juice with no spoons to eat the oatmeal. Overpriced for what we received.

Room Tip: Ask if mattress and pillows have been updated before you pay for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cherooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Have stayed here 1 or 2 times per year for the past 5 years and highly recommend it. Get a room in the two story building on the second floor overlooking Clear Creek and enjoy the rushing water and in spring and summer the rafts that go by. Coffee and pastries and juice is provided in the am and the pool and hot tub are never crowded. This is the best place to stay in Idaho Springs.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sandbarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Nice motel but has always been a little pricey. Mattresses very old and uncomfortable.

Girl at front desk on Tuesday 3/15 at 1:40 was rude, very unprofessional, surly and condescending to me and son-in-law. Saw her again the next day at check out...same thing. This young lady needs to be placed in a position of no customer contact.

First impressions are everything. We will seek accomodations elsewhere while in Idaho Springs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

For about 10 years, we have been staying at Heritage Inn. Because of my wife's severe allergies, we have not been able to stay in motels(strong fragranced cleaners, etc.) for years. We come one to three times a year and the staff has been so very helpful about accommodating her health issues. They have been so friendly and caring.

We have never found the rooms dirty(in the mountains you have to dust every two or three days or there will be dust- we lived in Silverthorne years ago) and certainly have never found the sheets unchanged. Yes we did find the screens lacking a few times but as soon as we made them aware of it they took care of it. We were here in early December with our grandkids and on our return trip this week, we noticed many of the doors have been stripped of their paint. This is not a run down condition; it is the result of very strong wind and weather. We have never seen this before either and know the doors cannot be stripped and repainted until warmer weather.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Run down, smelly, hair in the beds, hair in the bathroom and hair in the hot tub. Chemicals in the hot tub were so bad, burned my eyes. Stale pasties served for breakfast and gross rotten orange juice. Way over priced for what you get!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goldfeverfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
4.0 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
4.0 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
0.2 mi away
JC Suites
JC Suites
#3 of 5 in Idaho Springs
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Inn and Suites

Address: 2622 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Idaho Springs
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Argo Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Argo Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing