We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”
Review of Ute Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ute Trail Motel
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I am staying in this motel with my Russian friend at least 2 times a year and believe me this is the best choice in town. Not too fancy but quiet, cozy and extremely clean. I recommended this motel to all my friends and they also like it very much.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russianboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

We rented a "king suite" which turned out to be through the garage door and down into the basement. It's not modern or fancy - wood panel, beige carpet, acoustic tile ceilings, etc. - but it is comfortable, private, quiet, and SPOTLESSLY clean. There was a full fridge and small cooking area, so you could easily bring food. They even had a handful of movies right up to very recent releases. Very close to the wonderful hot springs.

If you want ambiance, this is not the place for you. If you want a place to crash, sleep well, and spend your days elsewhere, it's not a bad option.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Although we didn't get our elk at Arapahoe National Park we had an excellent stay at the Ute Lodge and were treated great by the owner and staff. Also ate evening meal at a local bed and breakfast lodge and enjoyed the meal and hospitality. And of course we soaked in the hot sulphur springs at night. What fun!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigredfan68803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

It's small, cozy, spotlessly clean and great service. Get a discount pass here before you head for the hot springs. I left something in the fridge and Dee called me at the resturaunt where she recomended that I eat breakfast to tell me I had! Not fancy, not new, but clean and comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MostWinningWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Non pretentious and small budget motel, but a very nice place for one ore more days and the scenery is great (prairie dogs all over the place). The staff is sympathetic, the rooms are clean and (smell) very fresh. In fact it was our best stay during our 3-week trip through the Midwest and Rockies. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ruud60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at the Ute Trail Motel for my mom's birthday weekend getaway.

The price was reasonable, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

We ended up getting 3 rooms right next to each other. Myself and my fiance in the first room, my parents in the second, and my sister and her husband had the last room. We were all close enough to hang out together if we wanted to (both of their rooms had a large "living room" area with a couch/ futon and a table with chairs and an empty mini-fridge for anything you want to put in there) but private enough that you didn't feel like you were all crammed together... it felt like a private getaway when we were in our own room (which had the option of being a double room with a seperate bedroom with a slide close door attached that has a second queen bed in it)

The room would only have been like $10 more to have the other queen bedroom door unlocked... so it would have been perfect for a group of 4 who wants to keep things cost-effective.

Our total for the entire trip (one day at the hot springs that are just down the road, and one night at the Ute Trail Motel) cost us $40 per person. (Not including gas/ food, but we brought our own food) VERY reasonable for a weekend away :)

And you know those nasty motel room showerheads you usually have to deal with in order to stay at a reasonably priced motel? You don't have to worry about those at the Ute Trail Motel. they have nice brand new shower heads that have lots of pressure... felt GREAT after getting out of the hot springs...

this was a wonderful place to stay and I'd recommend them to anyone passing through Hot Sulphur Springs, or trying to plan a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beckyshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Duration of stay: June 13, 2008 to June 15, 2008

To scatter our Mom's ashes at the ranch where she grew up in nearby Parshall, CO, my family decided to all stay at the Ute Trail Motel in Hot Sulphur Springs. I made the reservations for a 2-room suite with 2 queen beds and 4 single queen rooms a few months before our trip. When we arrived, everything was ready, as if they had been expecting us. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with cable TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave and stove. Places to eat are numerous and fun...either in Hot Sulphur Springs or about 15 minutes away to the east in Granby (a much larger town), or at the Parshall Inn about 8 minutes through Byers Canyon to the west in Parshall.

The only "problem" we had during our stay was that the municipal water filtration system in Hot Sulphur Springs had been down for about eight weeks and was still not working by the time we got there. So the Ute Trail Motel provided us with as many gallons of free bottled water as we needed for cooking, coffee, brushing teeth, etc.

Everyone in our party agreed that the beds were quite comfortable. We never had to touch the thermostat in our rooms even though the evenings were quite chilly. The covers on the bed were more than adequate.

Overall, the Ute Trail Motel is a very affordable, wonderful western motel in a great small Colorado town. The staff is friendly and courteous, and goes out of its way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. For us, it certainly was.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TVActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
15.6 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
183 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
9 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
536 reviews
15.4 mi away
Super 8 Kremmling
Super 8 Kremmling
#3 of 3 in Kremmling
136 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ute Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ute Trail Motel

Address: 120 East Highway 40, PO Box 132, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $86 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ute Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ute Trail Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing