We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Ute Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ute Trail Motel
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is what a "mom & pop" motel should be: clean, well cared for, with friendly hosts. All the basics, plus coffee maker, and wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had planned on staying in Grand Lake after coming down Trail Ridge but found the people in town snooty. Moving down into Granby and eating at Mavricks (YUMMY!!), one of the waitstaff suggested this motel. It looks a little cheesy from the outside but the rooms inside were perfect for the family. Two rooms for privacy, wi-fi, better cable than at home and close to everything! Dee was incredibly accomodating and always available. I would recommend this place to EVERYONE! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peachyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Last month I spent my birthday relaxing at Hot Sulphur Springs, after a day of snowshoeing. I decided to stay at the Ute Trail Motel based on all the good reviews.
It certainly didn't disappoint!
Dee Kitchens, the owner, went out of her way to make it a memorable stay. She is wonderful! The rooms are very clean, if not updated, and quite comfortable and cozy. It's like a trip back in time to the 60s, when the hotel was built. It is also quiet at night, which is very important, since the train tracks are a 1/2 a mile away.
They offer flannel robes and towels to use at the nearby springs, offer discount tickets to the springs, and discount coupons to several of the restaurants in this tiny little town. The room rates are very reasonable as well.
I would highly recommend staying here. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matinaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Dee, who owns the hotel is friendly, helpful, and a delight to talk to. The motel is charming. Rooms are clean, and VERY affordable. Dee has coupons for restaurants in town and discounted pool passes when you check in. Robes are available for the pools. We have stayed at the Ute more than once, and already have plans to go again. We had a great time!

A couple things to be aware of: the smell of the hot springs gets into everything, and that includes your clothing and the sheets. Don't let it bother you! Everything is clean, but the sulphur smell doesn't come out. Also, the walls are thin, so be a good neighbor and be prepared to hear your neighbor. Our friends solved that problem with an iPod and small speakers. Don't let these things bother you! This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have never stayed at a place like this, nor have have I ever lived in the country. Staying at this cosy and very clean old style motel was very new to me and I enjoyed every minute of it! I loved this experience!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeethovensLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had the pleasure of finding this place returning home from a camping vacation. The owner, Dee, and Jim at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Our room was nicely decorated and spotlessy clean. Every room is unique and has an additional bedroom if needed. Our room comfortably slept a family of 5. Don't judge this wonderful place without stopping in and checking out a room. You won't find a nicer place to stay and the rates are the best in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westernMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I am staying in this motel with my Russian friend at least 2 times a year and believe me this is the best choice in town. Not too fancy but quiet, cozy and extremely clean. I recommended this motel to all my friends and they also like it very much.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russianboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
15.6 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
173 reviews
9.0 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
15.4 mi away
Super 8 Kremmling
Super 8 Kremmling
#3 of 3 in Kremmling
125 reviews
15.8 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ute Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ute Trail Motel

Address: 120 East Highway 40, PO Box 132, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $86 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ute Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ute Trail Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing