We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect good customer service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't expect good customer service!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The springs and massages were nice. The facility needs some updating. Straight out of the 60's. The girl at the front desk just stared at us when we came in. We had to ask her all the questions and we even had appointments already booked. Looked like she was upset to even be there. No customer service skills what so ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ServingYouUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    49
    21
    38
See reviews for
40
91
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in a valley between Grandby and Kremling, this remote resort is an ok place for a quick and cheap getaway for some relaxation. It has some limitations we were not expecting....dont expect to get cell phone reception, wifi is only in the lodge and has many sites blocked. every room comes with ear plugs....for the train that comes by right in front of the lodge every 2 hours or so. Hot springs pools closes at 945pm. When we were there, tons of locals would come to over crowd the pools especially in the afternoon when people are done skiing. there are no food services there so you have to go into the little town for food which then you are limited to only 2 choices. Everything in town closes at 9pm. So if you want more choices for food, you will have to travel back into Grandby about 20 minutes away. No shopping in town so again, have to go back to Grandby. Don't expect much here.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room here....mattresses were hard, electronic heaters made tons of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongoshrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place offers a wide variety of services - from the 21 hot sulphur pools of all sizes and temperatures where you can luxuriously soak, socialize, or just be by yourself, to the family-friendly swimming pool, to the indulgent spa services. You can spend a couple hours using the pools, or spend a whole day taking advantage of all their services. Be sure to check out the "waterfall" pool and let the hot water pour over your back for a relaxing massage-like experience! For as little as $17.50 (12 and older) you can spend all day using all 21 pools. Great all year-round, it's espeically fun in the winter to go from the cold air into the hot pools.

The smell of the sulphur can be unpleasant, but the therapeutic value of the minerals make it worthwhile. Just make sure you shampoo your hair afterward to avoid any chemical interactions.

I've not stayed in any of their rooms, but they sound nice. Check out the website for a full list of all their services, prices and photos of the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our 4th or 5th trip there. Everytime we enjoy how quiet it is. They advertise 24 pools; when we weer there 16 were open. They never have them all, not sure why. It wasn't too crowded so it was okay. We love the M-A-T pool and the Rojo Pool the best. There are trains that go by and blow their horns, but it never bothers us; you are so relaxed you sleep right through it. Make sure to bring water bottles, as those are not provided, also a large towel and robe as the towels they provide are very very small and robes cost. They are good about placing salt and ice melt down, but flip flops can be helpful. The locker rooms are clean as well as the whole facility. The staff is helpful, but quiet also.

Room Tip: We have been placed in room 109 several times and it's a good room, but a tad far from the entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been here 4 or 5 times, but this time I was just pushed over my limit on how unkept and dirty the facilities continue to be. I don't expect this to be a high maintenance experience and the "floaties" in the hot tubs are even acceptable; part of the rustic, natural experence. However, the locker rooms are not maintained at all. There is carpet in the locker rooms which is completely soaked through to the floor boards. They have fans going inside the locker room to help dry the carpets I suppose, but a cold fan blowing in the middle of January in a locker room that isn't heated to begin with is ridiculous. The smell in the locker room is beyond the sulphur, but now mixed with mold and mildew. The lockers are old and rusted inside. I have never once noticed any employee walking the property to check on the conditions and the staff at the front desk is very unfriendly. We mentioned that the bathrooms could use some attention on our way out and the lady at the front desk chuckled. We go to a lot of hot springs pools but this one is by far the smelliest; I will never get the smell out of our towels, clothes, and after 4 days of showers the smell is still in my kids hair. Plan accordingly; don't expect to want to shower, make sure you bring flip flops for walking in the locker room and from tub to tub, bring clothes/suits/towels (or rent a towel) that you are okay with smelling like sulphur from now on, and your wallet. This place is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skicbmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hot Sulphur Springs hotels

Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We came for an overnight, well worth the money spent. We drove in on a Fri am to use the springs both days. We stayed in the hotel strip by the train overnight. Bring a hair dryer & conditioner if you require it. Room is small, but cute. No tub, just a shower. Plenty of room for 2. We watched the TV for maybe 30 mins. It's tiny too. The train didn't wake us up. The bed was a queen & super comfy.

The hot springs are so nice. Some tubs are super hot. We did the springs then ate early dinner in Kremmling (dif post) & did the springs again in the evening, My hair froze! Woke up Sat am early to do the springs, then got ready for brunch in Kremmling again. Did the springs after brunch & headed back home. It's worth it to drive up early as you get 2 days of soaking. Yes, it smells, but it's a natural hot spring. I don't recommend for children. There are tubs for them, but they aren't allowed up on the higher one if under 12.

You can rent the private apt or cabin for more. I didn't care much for that. I would def come back in the future. Hoping a Groupon deal pops up. It was $118 for 1 night & got 2 days to soak. Bring your own towels for the tubs. They rent them for $2 each. The hotel ones aren't for tub use. Also bring bottled water, it gets hot & you need to stay hydrated. They charge $2/bottle & it's not that cold. Maybe bring a small cooler for your room to stash water & snacks. The staff is super nice. They offer coffee, tea & hot chocolate in the am. No breakfast, but have a microwave. They sell the cup of noodles & a few candy bars.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, get the apt or cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My sweetheart and I, along with my 16 year old daughter headed to the springs to have a fun birthday weekend. We stayed in the 1840s cabin, which we really enjoyed. The place does not look 1840s on the inside, but is super clean and well maintained (minus drippy kitchenette sink and phone jack with no cover) and decorated with rustic log furniture. The fireplace adds a nice ambience- make sure you open the flue before you light the logs they provide. We had the complimentary champagne and OJ in the morning. :-) This cabin is a great choice for a romantic weekend away! Catch the sunrise and sunet on the porch...so peaceful. And you can bring dinner back to the cabin and eat at the cozy little table with the fancy plates and glasses they set it with.

The pools are what you would expect from a natural, historic hot springs. Varying levels of heat dependent on which pool you are in. There was a nice variety of types of pools. Some of the pools are outdoors and some are inside the solarium area. Some are stone and very pleasant and natural looking and some are plastic and smooth. We enjoyed each. I especially liked the plastic ones for napping...they're easy on the arms when you lean back. Obviously, as the name would imply, there is a sulphur smell to the water/steam. This added to the natural experience (it smelled nothing like a harsh chlorine pool). And there are floating algea in many of the pools, which also goes along with the natural-ness of it. I found the locker room and pool areas to be VERY clean - that said, mineral rich water leaves minerals behind...maybe that is what other reviewers have interpreted as dirty?

The staff was nice to us, smiled, answered our questions, etc. Lots of signs about what not to do and 2, yes 2, places to leave tips (tips for doing what?).

Not much for kids under 12 to do here.

If you stay in the cabin and it's during cooler than summer weather, bring fuzzy boots, sweats, t-shirt and sweatshirt to wear to and from the pools. You can change in the locker room there. It's a short walk between the cabin and pools, but long enough to get cold again!

The towels they provide look small and thin, might want to bring your own beach towels.

Lodging seems to be overpriced. There is a campground right next to this place called Pioneer. I didn't see any tents, but there were several small RVs.

All in all, I'll definitely be going back knowing that this is NOT a "resort", but a natural, historic, hot springs that hasn't been spoiled by a corporation yet. :-)

Room Tip: The 1840s cabin was romantic and cozy. The views of the sunrise and sunset from the porch were beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
19.2 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
165 reviews
9.6 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
19.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 5609 Rte 20, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers fifteen baths for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort And Spa
Hot Sulphur Springs Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing