We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room did not have proper shower. water was too hot or too cold to take shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aubervilliers
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Room did not have proper shower. water was too hot or too cold to take shower”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

shower need to be good woth smooth water flow. Either it was too hot or too cold.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    175
    173
    98
    99
See reviews for
118
142
61
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Today, I returned from a three-day-trip to Paris, where me and my boyfriend should have stayed for two nights in this messy, moulding and therefore uninhabitable concrete nightmare. We inspected three rooms, and each one of it seemed to be worse than the other. To begin with, the rooms look like prison cells, and you immediately smell the result of about ten years of excessive smoking, when you pass the thresholds. This is not what made us leave after just half an hour and book another hotel room, though. It was the dirt, that drove us away: The mattresses were all full of stains we couldn't even identify, but some of theem looked like blood stains and some of them like urine. The shower was full of mould, while in the rest of the bathroom we could detect strange white and orange marks, which looked like another obvious result of the lacking hygiene.

But not just the hotel itself is horrifying, but the location on the outskirts of Paris, where children play in heaps of rubbish and criminality prospers. As we met our fellow passengers again on our way home, we even heard that one of the 17-year-old girls that travelled to Paris with us, returned with a broken nose and an emptied purse.

My only recommendation is: Stay away from this hatchery of terror.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beurkeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aubervilliers hotels

UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Last minute work trip, had to take what we could get. And it wasn't a lot. It's about 15 mins by cab north of Gare du Nord, so relatively convenient for Eurostar. But not for anything else. It is exactly what it says it is - cheap, no frills, one step up from a hostel. But this one was even worse than some others in the chain, and doesn't even come close to UK travelodge standard.

Arrival is not v.welcoming - it's next to a fire/ambulance station, and you have to pick your way through a badly-lit car park. Lobby is like a warehouse, with a check-in desk, 15 vending machines, and about 20 drunk backpackers lounging in corners.

The guy on reception when we checked in was the best bit - he was so helpful and friendly, organising taxis etc in the midst of the strikes. He spoke several languages, and frankly deserves a medal.

After that it all went a bit downhill. The corridors are bare and musty, with strange roarings and beepings. The rooms have a pin code, but all the doors on our corridor looked as though they had been pried open with a crowbar at some point, which didn't make us feel especially safe.

The room itself smelt really, really odd. Partly drains, partly damp, and partly musty - yuk! I got used to it after a few minutes, but it wasn't pleasant as I opened the door. The first thing I did was lock the door, which was a little difficult due to the warped frame and bent edges.........

Bed was a double with a single over the top, with a few coathangers underneath the end of the single for clothes. It was actually really clean, and I slept well. However, I was scared to touch anything else in the room - the walls had appalling brown stains, and looked slightly sticky, and the table definitely was sticky............. As for the carpet, well, I certainly wasn't going to walk on it barefoot.

The bathroom was extremely basic, smelt of drains, and was also somewhat grubby. However, the shower cubicle was clean, so at least I was able to feel clean myself.

The walls were thicker than I would have expected, and the windows kept out all the noise, so actually, I slept remarkably well. And wi-fi was free, if slow.

Overall, the only thing distinguishing it from a hostel was the en-suite bathroom - and I've stayed in cleaner hostels. Didn't like, and hope never to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Really, if I have an advise it will be : don't go there. Someone stole my perse just near the hotel, They broke the car glass to take it. It was violent. The police said it happens so often there. Try to find an other place to sleep. The hotel is really ok for the price, it's simple but clean. Unfortunately the neiborhood is really not safe. In my mind, it's better to not go there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank giroflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a saint
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Clean, tidy, more than adequate continental breakfast and helpful staff. Situated on the outskirts but the area is fine and at no time felt threatened. If you are a rugby fan, ideally situated for Stade de France. Short bus journey or 30 min walk. Brassierie opposite serves reasonably priced menu although beer expensive. All in all, ideal short break venue.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fathobbitiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Crewe, Germany, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We went with the family for a long weekend to see the sights of Paris and had a brilliant time.

We found the Hotel easy by car and parked for 3 days in the Secure underground garage for 6 € per day, seeing as it would cost more to park outside and there being hardly any places to actually park, this is excellent value.

The Hotel is very big with Immaculatlely clean rooms. You get a Double bed with bunk bed on top for a 3rd person (you can only book up to 3 per room), nice bathroom with shower/bath toilet and a small TV with mostly French channels, 1 German (Sat 1) and BBC world (English) and desk with chair.

At the reception there is small area with machines which sell various drinks and food, more expensive than the shop around the corner but ok if you get back late and need some refreshment.

The breakfast buffet costs 4 € per person and consists of breads (baguette, toast, etc) Various Jam, Nutella & Honey ,Coffee and tea, delicious fruit juice & various cereals.
Its ok for a couple of days but would get boring if staying longer.

The location is a suburb of France where various ethnic people live, this might seem scary or insecure for some people who havn´t been to a big city before. But if you use your common sense you will be fine. We had no problems at all, even after dark when we went to Mcdonalds round the corner for something to eat, or asked directions when we got lost on the way back from the centre. No one can get into the hotel without being let in, you press a button and are let in by staff, who at their discretion can check your ID and booking. The hotel is safe.!!

To get to the Centre of Paris is easy, either you take two right turns to the main street where all the shops are and keep going to the Metro, takes 15 minutes. Or take a left from the hotel to a bus stop, 3 minute walk, then take the 65 all the way to the centre takes about 35 minutes and is more interesting than the Metro because you see things.. (We went to "Bastille" then walked to Notre Dam & the Louvre.) The main street mentioned in Aubervilliers has lots of shops selling all sorts of things, which is also interesting (especially the Éclairs in the bakeries.)

I don´t understand all these very negative reviews, either the hotel has radically changed or the visitors were expecting a "traditional" hotel not a "no frills" typical ETAP type hotel. (similar to the "Travel Lodge" chain in the UK)

All in all if you want to spend a few days in Paris in a clean practical inexpensive hotel and you don´t mind travelling 45 of minutes to the centre of Paris & arn´t scared of ethnic people then this is for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bicofborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2009

i stayed in this hotel when i was in my university trip to paris. the accomodation was arranged by university. it is kind of out of the town but good.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikijust4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubervilliers
1.0 mi away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#4 of 17 in Saint-Denis
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,396 of 1,800 in Paris
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
#12 of 17 in Saint-Denis
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
1.6 mi away
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
#5 of 17 in Saint-Denis
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers

Property: Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers
Address: 53 rue de la Commune de Paris, 93300 Aubervilliers, France (Formerly Etap Paris Porte D'Aubervilliers)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Aubervilliers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aubervilliers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers 2*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Aubervilliers, near to the St-Denis canal, the ibis budget hotel (formerly Etap Hotel) has rooms on seven floors and a private car park in the basement. It is near to the CIFA wholesale market, is 0.6 Mile (1 km) from the Le Millenaire shopping mall and 1.2 Miles (2 km) from the Stade de France. With good access to the A1 and A86 highways, this economy hotel is just 547 yards (500 m) from Aubervilliers-Quatre-Chemins metro station, making it quick and easy to get into Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Paris Porte d`Aubervilliers Hotel Aubervilliers
Ibis Budget Paris Porte D'Aubervilliers Ile-De-France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing