We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing get away”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Cottage 3B: Knack for Nature Bathroom - Clean, Functional, Comfortable
Linens & Towels Provided
Hillside Entrance
Hillside Property-Historic Rock Wall
Colorado's Oldest Black Willow Grove - perfect for bird watching & shaded picnics!
Sangre De Cristo Sunset
Bull, Cow, Calf Elk-Hillside, Colorado
Hillside, Colorado-Historic Post Office
Hillside Post Office
Hillside Post Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hillside, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nic3043
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely time at the cottage. The view was unbeatable, plus we got to bring our dog who loved it as well! The kitchen set up was minimal but it worked great for us, we grilled out each night and had brought food for all our meals. There's not anything right for shopping/eating/entertainment there but we loved that, just bring a book. Westcliffe and Canon City aren't too far though. If you want a real 'get away' this is the affordable solution!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyOzark
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the splendor cottage one night and I regret we didn't stay longer. It was perfect. My 9 yr old grandson loved the top bunk. For a small room everything was placed and decorated beautiful ❤️ loved the Rosemary mint lotion & soap! Woke up to coyotes in the am. Gorgeous views and peaceful grounds. We have AT & T and did not get cell phone reception. Wifi worked. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laci L
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfort and R&R with a Great View”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the Splendid Vista cabin, and we could not have been happier with the accommodations. The kitchen was fully stocked for cooking, the bed was comfortable, and the floor plan was roomy and efficient. Nothing beats sitting outside the cabin and star gazing with a bottle of wine. Sun up or sun down, The Hillside Cottages have it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire cabin
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne1362
Ross, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Comfort, charm and serenity”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

These charming little cottages are so homey, well-appointed, and welcoming that we found ourselves looking forward to going back every day to enjoy the comfort, ambience, serenity, and beautiful country views. Considerable effort has been made to provide for the needs and convenience of the guests: well-supplied kitchen equipment, lots of electric outlets for multiple electronic devices, special herbal spa products for the bathroom, comfortable beds, adirondack chairs on the front porch to enjoy cocktails and views of the mountains. We've been there twice while visiting family in the area, and plan to return regularly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberiand...
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Very clean and efficient”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had an amazing stay at the Hillside cottage. The cottage was clean, efficient and rightfully located from the mountains and grocery store. This cottage has spectacular views. We wished had more time to extend our stay, but we will be visiting soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The size of the cottage and the neatness of it
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FastLane5...
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Sangre de Cristos”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our accommodations in Hillside were top notch . . . . and surprisingly luxurious and high-end. The little cottages are fairly simply looking from the outside, but, WOW, the interior looked like some rich friend's onsite guest house, with high-end finishes and furnishings. Our floor plan was very functional. The kitchenette was stocked with spices and coffee. We loved the fact we could bring our dog along. If you want a quiet, beautiful retreat, this is the place for you. Quirky Westcliffe is 12 miles down the highway for a quick bite and shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior was comfortable and luxurious . . . and spotless!
Liked least: It's a bit off the grid for some people . . .
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenGal...
Walsenburg, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cottage with a view”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at in the Knack for Nature cottage. This chic cottage's location is perfect for those looking for the peaceful tranquility of the rolling pastures and the awesomeness of the Sangre de Cristo mountain range and the night sky is always breathtaking. Inside is tastefully decorated and provides all the amenities you may need. It is the perfect venue for your weekend getaway or weeklong destination.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing