We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unequaled in La Plata County”
Review of The Kennebec

The Kennebec
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hesperus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unequaled in La Plata County”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We return over and over again. Of course we also frequent K&S's, E. By SW, M-Grill, C-Cafe, etc., but nowhere is the food so consistently superb in flavor-freshness-and presentation. Consistently Excellent

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Animasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    52
    14
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenience”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice atmosphere but service seems always slow but kind. Food is ok, but menu not too exciting..usually opt for the mussels, except they are not from the U.S...prefer those from Wa State from Penn Cove which are far better and should be available from Seattle Fish and/or Mountain Valley seafood distributors, or could be. Very convenient for us since near our home and we do not have to go much further and look for a parking place downtown.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice stop before going to Mesa Verde National Park”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was on a road trip in the Four Corners area, and was heading to Mesa Verde National Park when I found Kennebec Cafe in a small town in the mountains. It had positive reviews so I decided to give it a try. It being late weekend morning, the place was not yet full, and I was accommodated to a table quickly. (They are open on Saturdays and Sundays from 8 am to 3 pm for brunches) My server was a nice lady, who gave me a good recommendation for a glass of wine. The menu had a morning list which is served until 12 noon, and an afternoon list for after 12 noon. I decided on chicken pot pie, which was quite ample sized for one person, and covered with flaky pastry which was sooooo good, especially on a chilly May day. I really enjoyed my lunch there and would definitely stop by again if I am traveling through the area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deafutahhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
271 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“One of the Two Best Restaurants in Durango”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The owner of this marvelous restaurant has been working on the dining space for years. It's just gotten better and better. But the food and wine live up to the terrific ambiance that she has created. We like the idea that the menu includes smaller plates. The place is only 10 minutes of Durango and we love the drive and views from the restaurant. They have space in the back for special events and we used their back dining room for a family dinner with 16 people. Being separated from the main restaurant, this space is a perfect setting for such events. We haven't tried the back patio for an event, but we will some day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A hidden Jewel”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I realize that this resterant is not located in Durango, CO but the review should really be duplicated there. We are locals. The Kennebeck cafe is one of our regular stops. Lunch or dinner. It is a short drive from Durango - maybe 30 minutes. No problem. The atmosphere is wonderful and you know it is good because of the number of locals there. They would not drive a block if it was not stellar. The menu is perfect for us and there is always a vegetarian option for our family. Yes it is not cheap but the quality of the food and preparation is worth every penny. We actually probably go there more often for lunch. But - Mexican night is not to be missed. Forget Tex-Mex or any other place you have been. Think gourmet Mexican and you will not be disappointed. We have lived in Durango 20 years and have eaten at most of the resterants on the tripAdvisor list. It is numerous what makes the top 10. If I was to rank them it would be Kennebeck, then Eolus, the Ken and Sues, and then Seasons. Just go to Kennebeck and you will not be disappointed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasPBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kennebec also viewed

Been to The Kennebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing