We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best seafood I've eaten!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kennebec

The Kennebec
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hesperus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best seafood I've eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ordered the salmon special and the swordfish special. Both were outstanding! The salad was fresh and the wine list was extensive. The coffee was a bit on the weak side, and the desserts (tiramisu and panna cotta)were a bit of a letdown after such a fabulous dinner, but we'd still go back to Kennebec in a heartbeat. We left comments about the meal (positive and negative) with our server, and I can't help but think that the coffee and dessert quality will be stepped up .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    52
    14
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food and our waitress, good value and fun to visit with. Why the name Kennebec from Maine? An excellent find in a remote spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank merryhell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found resturant 10 years ago at the recommendation of our hosts a Blue Lake. wonderful and changing menu we try to visit each time we are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rural gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Food was delicious and the service was outstanding. This is a very nice restaurant placed in an unexpected location!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ducescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed - rude staff - uncomfortable meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

As a Durango local who eats out frequently - I had heard great things about Kennebec Cafe. I've just never been to the restaurant because it's so far out of town - until last night. I was sorely disappointed. The male wait staff was very stuck-up and at times just rude - with the exception of a woman who was friendly (owner?). Service was horrible, we were neglected with empty glasses and it took over an hour to get our appetizer. My husbands salad came after his meal. On a good note, the bread they left us (only one small piece per person) was crisp on the outside and soft and warm on the inside. I ordered a steak - it was cooked correctly. The other food seemed to have a lot of salt in it. We also ordered a dessert and waited another forty minutes - it was very good.

The chairs are solid wood and shaped like an "L", very uncomfortable - especially since we were there for THREE hours!! The chairs - I could live with, but taken altogether - I will never come back to the Kennebec Cafe. There are dozens of other restaurants closer to Durango, with friendlier, attentive staff and better food. Sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kennebec also viewed

Been to The Kennebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing