We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Timble Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Timble
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday by having Sunday lunch. The food was excellent, well presented and beautifully cooked. It is a cut above your average Sunday lunch hence the higher price, but it was worth the expense. The staff were extremely efficient, friendly and welcoming. The decor is of a carefully restored old village pub, which add's to the ambience. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    24
    26
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“all round very good experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon Saturday, every table was taken with mainly large parties still enjoying lunch. we were made to feel very welcome by all staff. We had dinner booked later with four more friends & we all had rooms booked for the night.
The rooms were all extremely well presented, with fresh milk & proper coffee. The evening meal was excellent, not rushed, served by very pleasant staff, who without been overbearing were none the less extremly attentive. A very comfortable bed & a quite room made for a perfect nights sleep, followed by a great full English for breakfast. only one small complaint those that had fried eggs complained they were a bit greasy. Apart from that a very pleasant time was had by all and contrary to the previous review well worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank elsivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Title: VERY Expensive for Pub Grub”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This former village pub was renovated a few years ago and we were looking forward to our first visit, a Saturday lunchtime just before Christmas. Timble is a very pleasant village and there are good walks and attractive countryside in the area.

The building is pleasant but somewhat over-restored and did not quite have the character you would expect. It was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday near Christmas.

The food was satisfactory, but unfortunately way overpriced for what essentially is fairly predictable pub grub. The starter of Prawn & Salmon Platter was good, but the £8.95 cost was excessive. Apart from soup all starters cost over £6.50. A game pie in watery gravy and added puff pastry lid (never a good sign) cost £15. Fish and chips cost £12.95 , but the chips were greasy. Lunchtime was (surprisingly) at the same high prices as in the evening.

The two guest ales were satisfactory.

A total bill of over £100 for 4 meals without wine was very expensive and I would have expected far better quality at these prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank basilfawty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really cosy and fab location”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recommended to book as restaurant only open from Thursday to Sunday but well worth the trip.
Lovely welcome and cosy feel to a lunchtime. In our party of three, we all had different starters (French onion soup, chicken liver parfait and curried parsnip soup) which were huge in portion size. Main course served almost immediately and were delicious but again, huge portions. Couldn't manage all the food and we all felt wasteful leaving some on our plates! No room for dessert so can't comment but other tables looked tasty.
As far as prices concerned....Really good value for the amount and presentation of food (Example - £5.95 for starters and £12.75 for main meal).
Thoroughly recommend a visit to the Timble Inn for a very pleasant dining experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busyfeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“would definitely recommend”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were warmly welcomed to this charming pub on a very cold january evening. It was fortunate we had booked as every table was occupied. We were seated by the front door but it was not draughty ( as a previous reviewer had found ). All three courses were very good, especially the steak. The waiters were attentive even though busy. I am sure we will encourage our friends to give this a try.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank morgan013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timble Inn Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Blubberhouses, North Yorkshire
 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Timble Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing