We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Burritos and Margs”

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 239 Restaurants in Greeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We love the smothered steak burritos and the margaritas. The staff is always pleasant and responsive. Other bonuses, Pacifico on tap and and a wonderful patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RipleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter O, Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words Next time you are here please ask for me by name, I love meeting our guests face to face. See next time Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Really my title says it all - this is the best thing on the menu. Service is sketchy at times just depends on the day. Outdoor patio is nice - good chips and salsa and margaritas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nymomsmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I was excited for some authentic Mexican food, I was starving. I ordered the queso... it was like congealed Velveeta, and cold at that. The chips were good... The steak fajitas were good too, nice smoky grill flavor. Tortillas were authentic. But the side of rice and beans? God no. The "rice" had peas in it... what? No flavor either. The black beans seemed to taste right out of a can. If it wasn't so expensive, I'd feel better. Like I wasn't cheated out of my hard earned money.

The next day I visited 3 Margaritas restaurant. Definitely much better! The only thing I will be choosing Rio Grande for in the future, will be for margaritas ONLY.

2  Thank Fluffandguff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lost their liquor license due to serving under-aged patrons. Chips are good but food is not very good - and the service is non existent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSH80634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

My name is Peter Osterfelt. I am the new General Manager here at the Rio. I would love to have you come in and give us a try. Sounds like you haven't been in awhile. Our Margarita's are still deliciously refreshing and addictive; as well as our Queso Del Mar, Steak Burrito, and our new Coconut Flan or Chocolate Creme Brulee with a hint of Ancho Chile. Please ask for me by name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

You don't come here for the food or service. The food only tastes good if you are buzzed. They take forever to seat you, so I'll go the bar and order a marg. By the time you get seated you are now on marg 2. When you get your food, you are now pretty buzzed so the food is yummy lol
The waiters take forever to help you too. Great patio for the summer though!
I ONLY come here maybe every few months. Go to Paliminos OR Coyotees instead!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Valerie,
Thank you for writing a review of our restaurant. I am sorry we did not satisfy you in the realm of our food. We take great pride in not only our Margarita's but our food as well. Our food is locally sourced, fresh and wholesome. Here at the Rio we do not use any food that has been treated with hormones or antibiotic's of any kind. We run a scratch kitchen and all of our sauces, beans, rice even the flour tortillas are made no less than twice a day. I would love to meet you in person and give you a tour of the menu. I believe our Beef fajitas, Queso Del Mar (with real snow crab and black tiger shrimp), and along with our new Coconut Flan is to die for.
Please ask for me on your next visit,sincerely Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing