We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our vacation wonderful”
Review of Spirit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had booked a room at another hotel in Grand Lake which gave us a room on the lake. After two nights we moved on due to bad accomadations. I walked into to Spirt Lake Lodge on a last minute quest to spend more time at the lake. We stayed in room #21. The room was clean, we had a mini kitchen, table, sofa, and a seperate bedroom. Our room also had a fire place and was furnished with a lodge feeling. I loved this place. The staff was awesome, it was wonderful to have our room cleaned while we were out site seeing.
I only have great things to say about this lodge and the added feature of an outside hot tub was jus the icing on the cake.
We had only planned to visit Grand Lake for 2 nights but after our wonderful accomadations at Sprit Lake Lodge we ended up staying another 3 evenings.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the area having the mini kitchen saved us some money. Grand Lake has two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaBarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I have gone to Grand Lake several times now and we always stay at the Spirit Lake Lodge!!! The rooms are so comfortable and the decor is really cute! The hotel is very conveniently located on the main road through town, so all the great shops, restaurants, and the lake front are just a short walk away. The other great amenity is that the hotel offers snow mobile rentals right in their lobby during the winter! How great is that!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Good value, great location very nice owner's. Gave us discount without asking. We stayed one night. Liked the double room setup. Gave extra privacy for three adults. Would definitely stay again. I don't understand the negitive reveiws.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejohn2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped into town for a quick get away and checked into the Spirit Lake Lodge. This hotel is in a perfect location in town, with a block walk to the entertainment in the middle of town, as well as to the lake front. The hotel itself is beautifully constructed, with a perfect ambiance that fits in with the gorgeous mountain and lake views. The rooms are renovated and clean. The staff is extremely friendly, and the hotel prices are very reasonable. I would stay here again, and recommend for anyone else to stay here as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartyPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Upon arrival the cost of the room was much more expensive than the price we were quoted over the phone! Once you drive four and half hours (we are from east of Denver Colorado) I guess they think they have you! This was not price hiking due to a high demand for lodging beacuse their parking lot was empty. After you return the snowmobiles that you have rented this outfit inspects them with a fine toothed comb. To the point of turning them upside down, lifting the hood, checking the engine and they accuse you of scratches and dings that they say were not there when you left with the machine. I understand a business's right to inspect the machines after a perfect stranger has been riding them for four hours. However, the renters are not told to inspect the machines before the rental, leaving the renter with no recourse. This is very misleading. Any items that they deem as 'damage' is charged to your credit card which they have on file. They even charge you for items that are part of regular maintenance, not things that were done by any particular renter. You can expect to be charged a lot more money than initially thought.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bald l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

These are not goot people. Watch out for you credit card receipt after you get home because most likely they have charged you for basic up keep for the machine that should be paid by them. The rooms looked as if they haven't been cleaned in months...probably because they weren't able to charge some poor guy for a messy room. Be careful, they will lie through their teeth just to get you up there and then charge you something completely different than what was agreed upon, maybe they figure that since you've taken the time to drive there that you will just allow the discrepency. Especially heed the warning about checking your credit card or bank account when you get home to double check to see if they have over charged or added on an additional payment. These are not good people, not good busy people, not clean people. I have not encountered such deviousness in a very long time and wish to warn anyone that has plans to visit this place. If you have chosen this place over the others in the area because of the price....trust me its not worth the hassle. It is a scam, a fake, a scheme, its the old bate and switcharoo. If the owner woman is unsatisfied with how much money she was able to take from you, she will call down her thug sons to finish you off. Buyer beware. Go somewhere else, its not worth the headache of dealing with these kind of people. I have never written a review, but thought that this time it was worth it if even I could convince one person to not have to go through the ordeal that me an four of friends had to endure. I understand that what I have written is very harsh, but this rant was not unwarranted. If you're thinking about going here....think again, it would be worth your trouble to go elsewhere and even pay alittle more if need be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family have fallen in love with the lodge, when our sons were in grammar school. Last fall my youngest son got married in Grand Lake and most of our friends from Illinois and Wisconsin stayed in lodge... We all enjoyed the warm hospitality, Kristina- the owner went over and beyond- our guests were all happy- rooms as usual crispy clean, warm and nicely decorated. We were able to enjoy Friday evening across the street in local bowling alley with great pizza and nice lines. You can go there any season- you will not regret your visit out there, Christina is very knowledgeable about hiking trials and .other interesting places around Grand Lake, you need info about hot springs or good local restaurants- she always gladly answer your questions.

Room Tip: We always take the kitchenette with charming fire place if we stay longer than a weekend. For 2-3 da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
15.0 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
19.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Lake Lodge

Address: 829 Grand Ave., PO Box 66, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Spirit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Lake Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing