We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service and Fishing Experience”
Review of Rocky Mountain Outfitters - MOVED

Rocky Mountain Outfitters
Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband and I both love to fish but we only had a couple of days at Grand Lake and didn't want to spend the time trying to find the fish. Through the recommendation of many of the locals, we were directed to Jim at Rocky Mountain Outfitters and we were NOT disappointed. Jim is very knowledgeable about the local lakes and the techniques to catch the various fish. We went fishing for Lake Trout and for two solid hours we fished non-stop (catch and release). Jim was very willing to share his knowledge not only about fishing but about the local area. With his advice, we located two different Elk Herds inside of Rocky Mountain National Park. Thanks Jim. We will be back.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank mrmoore44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2014

Walked in. Tried asking a few questions to a very snotty young women. Walked out. Won't be back or recommend them.

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank Alincali73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Owner at Rocky Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Our apologies for your experience. We are a small family run business and would like to hear what happened. We take pride in our personal customer service and will work to avoid such things in the future. We can always learn and grow from things like this.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Jim is such a great guide. So full of knowledge. Took us right to where all the fish were and told us everything to do to catch them and we did. I caught the biggest fish but my husband got lots of little ones!!! Thanks for the wonderful morning, even if it was raining.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank Roni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Jim was our guide and took us on a three hour guided fishing trip. We had never fished for trout before, so Jim's knowledge was what we needed. We started with Lake Trout fishing which was over 30 feet deep and required learning how to get the bait at the right depth and the right motion to hook the fish. We caught two Lake Trout and released them. Jim had depth finders at the front and back of the boat which was important for the lake trout fishing. Jim grew up in Grand Lake and also provided a little information about the area and the houses around the Lake as we were trolling for Rainbow Trout as well. We caught 3 or 4 rainbow trout as well. Jim provided all the fishing gear and bait and was great at teaching us how to fish for trout in Grand Lake.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank noplacelikethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Outfitters also viewed

 
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing