We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip 12/26-28/13”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Cabin Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the Arrowhead cabin. There were 3 adults and 2 kids (8,5) and our choco lab. We had plenty of sleeping room with us in one room, nana in the other and the kids on the pull-out futon. We had brought a dog bed for our puppy and it fit nicely in the main area too. We did rearrange the dining table/chairs and futon to bring the futon closer to the gas fireplace. The rooms stayed plenty warm with the gas fireplace and electric heaters in the bedrooms and bathroom. There are great throws in each room that kept us cozy during the day too. We didn't eat at the cabin except for breakfast but there is a small oven, stove, microwave and fridge. There is satellite TV and a good sized flat screen but we weren't in a cabin to watch TV. Our cabin was at the end of the road for CCA so it was quiet and we could see the river behind us as well as the inlet to Shadow Mountain Lake. The kids had a blast exploring the property in their snow gear.

The cabin was very clean and well kept. Staying in a cabin means you have shelter from the weather so if you're looking for plush conditions choose something other than a rustic cabin. If you're up in Grand Lake, enjoy the environment and get outside. The first night the light on the porch was out and the owner came down and replaced it very quickly.

We had a great stay! Not sharing walls as we have in other cabins in GL area - was a bonus!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Colorado Cabin Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our stay at Colorado Cabin Adventures was a warm and cozy get away. The cabin was clean, quiet and easy to get to. Dogs were allowed so our two furry "kids" were welcome and felt right at home too. It was a very nice two night stay - even during some very cold temperatures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My place for an overnight stay was just great. The cabin was very clean and everything was at its place: Wifi, a gas fireplace, a sat tv, a small kitchen - everything to be happy. I am looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0malainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at CCA in "Lulu's Place" Cabin September 24 & 25, 2013. The cabin is on the edge of a gravel parking lot about 50 to 75 yards from the main highway. Could not see the lake or river from the cabin, and could hear all the highway traffic. The only heat was a small gas fireplace in the main room, the bathroom was an "add on" onto the bedroom, so let alone was the bedroom cold, the bathroom was worse. The first night we were cold, so the next day I went to the office to ask about heat, but it was after 5, so the office was closed. We had to wait until mid-afternoon before it was warm enough to shower. We froze for the second night. When I brought it up on checkout, I was told I should have asked for an additional heater. (no one said they were available when we checked in). Also, I know it's a cabin, but it would only take a minute to vacuum the dead bug parts out of the windowsills and sliding window tracks. Otherwise, nice for a cabin, but I wouldn't stay there again for what we paid.

Room Tip: If you stay there on a cold night, get an extra heater from the office.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Cabin A, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear JimKansasCity,
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected or as other visitors have experienced. LuLu's Cabin is located next to a gravel drive, not a parking lot but it does include the parking space for LuLu's cabin only. We do not represent that LuLu's Cabin is situated where you can see the river or lake. The online description says, "set back in a cluster of Aspen and Blue Spruce trees". We live on site and are available 24/7. On the sign on the door where we have our hours we also have a number to call if you have an emergency. We consider our guests feeling like they "froze" an emergency. We were very concerned at check out when you told us this and we have placed the heaters in all of the cabins that have the add on bathrooms just in case someone does not ask us. We are very sorry you didn't. We cannot fix what we don't know so we appreciate your taking the time to explain to us that you were cold. Also, we take great pride in the cleanliness of the cabins as you can see from other reviewers. We do regularly vacuum out the window sills, I apologize for that. The photos are not enhanced in any way and are taken of each individual cabin by a professional photographer. They are direct representation of LuLu's Cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We needed a getaway and we got it! The hospitality is #1. We stayed in Moose Crossing and it was FANTASTIC!! Everything is there for you to use including pots pans and dishes. Wifi and dish were great but we hardly used because we were enjoying the local fishing! Cleanliness sets this place apart! We had a great time and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdub22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Cabin A, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We really enjoyed having you stay with us and do hope to see you again! The fish are really biting right now, so Rodney is actually catching and releasing..;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A beautiful place to stay, for a night or more. The cabin are amazing, made in raw material with really nice taste, you feel like a trapper after a day of elk hunting! And what could be better than Andrea homemade cookies to feel better?
We couldn't stay more than one night but if we could, we definitely stay longer.
Andrea was really welcoming and we will keep a good memory of our stay in Grand Lake, thank to Colorado Cabin Adventures

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend in the Alpenglow cabin, and it was fantastic. The cabin has a really soft and comfortable king sized bed, a little kitchen that we used to cook breakfast, and all the amenities we could need. We loved sitting behind our cabin by the stream in the mornings, and there was even a fire pit (which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to use) for evening campfires! Everything was great, and we're already planning on coming back next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
2.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
530 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
19.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
21.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
2.7 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#11 of 20 in Grand Lake
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cabin Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cabin Adventures

Address: 12082 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-9003
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $149 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on five beautiful acres fronting the North Fork of the Colorado River just three miles south of the historic town of Grand Lake, our rustic log cabins and Reunion Bunkhouse are available year round. The authentic log cabins, some dating back to the early 1930's, have been newly restored and renovated with hardwood floors, gas log fireplaces, 32" flat screen satellite TVs, fresh linens, modern kitchens and bathrooms and beautifully appointed decor. All have stunning views of the river and mountains. The rustic wood decor and intimate lodge atmosphere of the Reunion Bunkhouse provides the perfect Colorado mountain setting for family reunions, wedding parties, church groups and small corporate retreats. Dogs welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing