We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photos misleading, poor heat” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colorado Cabin Adventures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Cabin Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Photos misleading, poor heat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at CCA in "Lulu's Place" Cabin September 24 & 25, 2013. The cabin is on the edge of a gravel parking lot about 50 to 75 yards from the main highway. Could not see the lake or river from the cabin, and could hear all the highway traffic. The only heat was a small gas fireplace in the main room, the bathroom was an "add on" onto the bedroom, so let alone was the bedroom cold, the bathroom was worse. The first night we were cold, so the next day I went to the office to ask about heat, but it was after 5, so the office was closed. We had to wait until mid-afternoon before it was warm enough to shower. We froze for the second night. When I brought it up on checkout, I was told I should have asked for an additional heater. (no one said they were available when we checked in). Also, I know it's a cabin, but it would only take a minute to vacuum the dead bug parts out of the windowsills and sliding window tracks. Otherwise, nice for a cabin, but I wouldn't stay there again for what we paid.

Room Tip: If you stay there on a cold night, get an extra heater from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Cabin A, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear JimKansasCity,
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected or as other visitors have experienced. LuLu's Cabin is located next to a gravel drive, not a parking lot but it does include the parking space for LuLu's cabin only. We do not represent that LuLu's Cabin is situated where you can see the river or lake. The online description says, "set back in a cluster of Aspen and Blue Spruce trees". We live on site and are available 24/7. On the sign on the door where we have our hours we also have a number to call if you have an emergency. We consider our guests feeling like they "froze" an emergency. We were very concerned at check out when you told us this and we have placed the heaters in all of the cabins that have the add on bathrooms just in case someone does not ask us. We are very sorry you didn't. We cannot fix what we don't know so we appreciate your taking the time to explain to us that you were cold. Also, we take great pride in the cleanliness of the cabins as you can see from other reviewers. We do regularly vacuum out the window sills, I apologize for that. The photos are not enhanced in any way and are taken of each individual cabin by a professional photographer. They are direct representation of LuLu's Cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We needed a getaway and we got it! The hospitality is #1. We stayed in Moose Crossing and it was FANTASTIC!! Everything is there for you to use including pots pans and dishes. Wifi and dish were great but we hardly used because we were enjoying the local fishing! Cleanliness sets this place apart! We had a great time and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdub22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Cabin A, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and do hope to see you again! The fish are really biting right now, so Rodney is actually catching and releasing..;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A beautiful place to stay, for a night or more. The cabin are amazing, made in raw material with really nice taste, you feel like a trapper after a day of elk hunting! And what could be better than Andrea homemade cookies to feel better?
We couldn't stay more than one night but if we could, we definitely stay longer.
Andrea was really welcoming and we will keep a good memory of our stay in Grand Lake, thank to Colorado Cabin Adventures

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend in the Alpenglow cabin, and it was fantastic. The cabin has a really soft and comfortable king sized bed, a little kitchen that we used to cook breakfast, and all the amenities we could need. We loved sitting behind our cabin by the stream in the mornings, and there was even a fire pit (which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to use) for evening campfires! Everything was great, and we're already planning on coming back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I cannot say enough about this little slice of heaven! Prior to arrival, I communicated via email with Andrea, resident Manager, she's a sweetheart! Got to CCA after a harrowing ride thru Rocky Mountain National Park, greeted by Rodney and their sweet lil dog! Super nice managers, got to my cabin "LuLu" and fell in love! This cabin was just what I wanted! The surroundings are absolutely stunning! The cabins are all situated at the beginning of the Colorado River, the pictures I took look like postcards, can't say enough about the scenery!

The cabin itself was recently updated with a nice new stone bathroom, CLEAN and just right! Nice big tv in the living room above the gas fireplace. Used the fireplace more than the tv. The wifi signal was strong and consistent. The cabin cookies are DELICIOUS! The managers kids are around, sweet kids, never intrusive.

The one thing I am disappointed in, is that we didn't stay longer...all the rest of our trip we talked about how much we fell in love with our little "LuLu" and WILL one day be back!

Make sure to go to Adams Falls, absolutely beautiful and an easy hike!

Thanks again Andrea and Rodney, you have made two lifetime guests! Kudos on a job well done!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! Tim & Sean

Room Tip: Ask for "LuLu's Place" we loved it, and sure anyone else will too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went for my husband's 50th birthday with our two dogs and had the best time! I called Andrea in advance to inquire where I could purchase a small chocolate cake. Other than a City Market, my options were limited, so Andrea graciously offered to bake a cake! It was perfect and very delicious. My husband was surprised and delighted! We picked CCA because we needed a dog friendly place and it was perfect for them. The owners were on the property during our visit and are the nicest people and are spending a lot of time and effort to improve the property. They have a gem in Rodney & Andrea running the place - their son Brock went to the trouble of helping my husband clean the fish he had caught. We will be back!! Next time, we will choose a little bigger cabin so the dogs have more room, but Brookie was clean and comfortable. Thanks for a great weekend get away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a great place for all 52 of us! So fun to be all together! The cabins are rustic but clean and great! The managers and their family are very helpful and wonderful people! They helped any way they could! It is a great place to have a large event.... Tables, chairs and just a fun place in the beautiful Colorado Rockies!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kph5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
2.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
20.6 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.0 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
2.7 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cabin Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cabin Adventures

Property: Colorado Cabin Adventures
Address: 12082 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-9003
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on five beautiful acres fronting the North Fork of the Colorado River just three miles south of the historic town of Grand Lake, our rustic log cabins and Reunion Bunkhouse are available year round. The authentic log cabins, some dating back to the early 1930's, have been newly restored and renovated with hardwood floors, gas log fireplaces, 32" flat screen satellite TVs, fresh linens, modern kitchens and bathrooms and beautifully appointed decor. All have stunning views of the river and mountains. The rustic wood decor and intimate lodge atmosphere of the Reunion Bunkhouse provides the perfect Colorado mountain setting for family reunions, wedding parties, church groups and small corporate retreats. Dogs welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing