We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stop for Candy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Polly's Sweet Shop

Polly's Sweet Shop
Ranked #4 of 4 Dessert in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: home made icecream
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stop for Candy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

just one of many cute and colorful shops on he boardwalk, this one caught our eye...great stop if you have a sweet tooth :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank M_Gray773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great soft serve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Polly's is another place for sweets in Grand Lake that we really enjoy. We usually get soft serve ice cream as a dessert or just when wandering around town. It is just a service window, no indoor seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverFoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and wonderful people ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love coming here. They have shaved ice with a variety of syrup flavors. They make a bowl of it for our doggie children too. Wonderfully amazing people.

Helpful?
Thank Bellial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Refreshing treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited Polly's Sweet shop twice while in the Grand Lake area. My kids loved the soft serve with different colored sugar crystal sprinkles. The staff were very friendly. They have quite a variety of flavors and different things to choose from..soft serve, scooped, shaved ice, smoothies, shakes, etc. You will spend about $3 on an ample-sized soft serve cone and about $3.50 on a scooped cone. Shakes and smoothies run about $4.50. Considering it's a touristy place, the prices were about par but the serving sizes were ample for the price. My kids wanted to go back a 3rd time before we left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alishamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited ALL of the Grand Lake ice cream shops (Mayuchi's, Grand Lake Chocolates, Polly's and Dairy King) and Polly's was right up there with Grand Lake Chocolates (which has the most amazing caramel apples ever).

If you've been to Hawaii, Polly's label of "shaved ice" is a bit of a misnomer, but it's a fine snow cone and they have a nice variety of flavors. The ice cream was good and the service was amazingly accommodating. If you want a milkshake made in some unusual way (like with extra chocolate syrup or whatever), they will do it without hesitation.

Expect to pay $3-4 for a snow cone and $4-5 for ice cream/milkshakes. They do not offer a kids' size milkshake, so if you have a little one who can't drink a 16 ounce shake, plan to share it with them.

I may take you 10 minutes to get your order (especially if you're a large family or they're busy) but it will be well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatDianesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polly's Sweet Shop also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Polly's Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing