We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend! Great place to unwind!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lakes Lodge
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I bought a deal on weeklyplus for this property. The owners went out of their way to make sure this deal was honored and then some They genuinely cared about our upcoming stay - they haven't even met us yet.

We arrived the first night and had such fun looking at the decor in our cabin. It was cozy, clean and just the right size for us. It was comfortable. Our cabin had a view of a canal and some animals, cows and horses. nearby. Our cabin had a nice trail right outside the back door. It was a nice trail to an awsome overlook of the lake. Really worth the time that we took for the walk. Gentlemen were fishing, with luck, in the canal also. How is that for convenience?

After touring Grand Lake for the day, we had an awesome BBQ in the provided grill, with all the accessories too. Edy and Doug made sure we had all the necessities for our grande finale...a bonfire with smores. One of our "neighbors" even came to join us.

This is a quiet resort that is perfect for the family. Edy and Doug, the owners, do all they can to make sure it is a stress-free get-away for all. For all they do for their guests, I didn't feel put out that they ask for the trash to be taken out and the dishes done. After all. they are very upfront about the fact that these are "housekeeping" cabins and very limited on help to keep this property in tip top shape for its guests.

I would definitely recommend this property and will return at a future date. We even got to check out other cabins prior to our departure. They do all they can to make you feel right at home. Thank you Edy and Doug!!

Room Tip: The website has photos of all the rooms available. Check this out before you book so that you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to let others know how much you like Mountain Lakes Lodge! We're glad you enjoyed the property and area and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were very disappointed with the accomodations. Based on the description on their website, we thought that we would be getting an individual cabin. The "cabins" are actually sets of connected rooms. The soundproofing is not very good so we could hear almost everything going on in the room next to us. Fortunately we were in an end room so it was only noisy on one side.

The room we had was not nearly as nice as any of the pictures on their website. The "kitchenette" was a two-burner stove that wouldn't light, a mini-fridge, sink, microwave and coffeemaker against a wall. The floor was bare and gritty - a rug would have been nice.

The bathroom was adequate, but had no counter. It was very difficult to regulate the shower temperature between burning hot and freezing cold. There were only three bath towels and no bath mat. The "closet", such as it was, was inside the bathroom behind the bathroom door, so it was very awkward to get to.

The curtains were paper thin so they didn't block any light and didn't give much privacy. We had to hang towels over them.

On the positive side, the bed was pretty comfortable and the pillows were good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We're very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your accommodations! We wish you had said something while you were here so we had the opportunity to address any issues that you had.

In addition to saying "...ADJOINING UNITS that allow us to accommodate groups of individuals" above the pictures you looked at online and "Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, themed BANKS of cabins on the canal" on our booking engine and having pictures of the outsides of the buildings under "Grand Lake Lodging" and under "Photo Gallery" on our website, we are always glad to clarify anything by phone or email. We're sorry you missed those opportunities to understand our property.

We are confused about how the rooms could look so different on our website than in reality, since the photos are not retouched. We explained that the room you were choosing for your free promotional stay was a Queen Studio with a dorm-sized kitchenette and exactly what that meant. You could have upgraded if you felt you needed a larger kitchen.

You were provided with a lighter and matches to light the stove. We could have helped you light it if you didn't know how, but only if we'd known you were having trouble.

Although the people who were next to you during your stay did not complain of hearing any noise, we will investigate better soundproofing between those two units.

You did have a rug by the door, but since we are "rustic" and "pet-friendly" a lot of rugs would be impractical. Most people appreciate that we have real wood floors in most of the units, which we hand wipe on our hands and knees.

Although the bathroom doesn't have a counter, it does have a 10" x 36" shelf next to the sink that we feel is adequate. This is the first we have had a complaint about regulating the temperature in the shower and we were unable to reproduce that problem in order to fix it.

The white towel you found hanging on your shower rod was your bath mat. A full set of towels is provided for the number of guests each unit will accommodate. We encourage environmental responsibility by asking guests to use towels more than once before they're washed, especially during a region-wide drought. We have stayed at a dozen different lodging properties in the past year and even the large chains are doing the same. We will always exchange dirty towels for clean ones if asked.

Yes, the closet is in the bathroom in that unit. That also does not seem to be a problem for most people. We're sorry it was so awkward for you.

The handmade curtains are certainly thick enough for privacy. We tested them: Two people standing one foot away from the window on the inside and the outside were unable to tell how many fingers the other one was holding up.

We work very hard to assure that guests enjoy staying with us. We cannot solve a problem if we are not aware of it. Every place is not for everyone. While our lodging is clearly not for you, it is thoroughly enjoyed by hundreds of people each year. We're glad that you at least liked the bed and pillows.

Edie and Doug Dafoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here over Thanksgiving weekend. The rooms are small, but cute, with the look of a little log cabin. They allow dogs, with only a one-time $25 fee for the length of your stay. The room we stayed in had double doors out into a little deck and picnic table within a very small fenced "backyard". It was really convenient for the dogs (and us!) to just let them out at will, rather than putting leashes on and taking them outside to do their duty. We loved that we didn't have to get dressed to deal with a whining dog in the middle of the night. Our room had a small kitchen with oven and microwave and the basic tableware and pans. FYI, it only had an apartment size refrigerator, but we just brought our cooler in too, so it wasn't a problem. The view out the back of the room looks onto the canal and mountains, and we were treated to a gorgeous sunrise and sunset from the bed! Really beautiful over snow covered mountains. It's a short five minute drive into town, so no trouble to get groceries or have breakfast or dinner. One note - the bathroom has just one very dim light - you can't see to put on makeup or fix your hair, so just plan on pretending you're camping! The hot shower was nice though! Would we stay again? Probably, although the biggest draw for us was the fenced yard for our dogs. If it weren't for that, we might find another place nearer to the lake next time.

Room Tip: If you have a dog(s), make sure you request one of the rooms with the fenced yard. They don't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceansaway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing Mountain Lakes Lodge! We always appreciate feedback; It helps us be our best. In the 2 years we've been managing, we have worked very hard to make improvements to both this location and to North Shore Resort. We will never run out of things to do! We have a new light ready to install in the bathroom and your comments helped get installing it moved closer to the top of the list. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin is adorable and cozy, set back from the main road, beautiful view from the back window of the lake and mountains in the distance. Everything we needed was included. The bed was comfy, blankets warm, room temp pefect! We met only one of the owners, and she was friendly, outgoing and very accommodating.
We hope to stay at the lodge again in the future, and maybe next time we'll bring along a group of friends. In the meantime, we'll spread the word!

Room Tip: cabin #7 was very quiet, at the North Shore location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for staying with us at our other location (North Shore Resort is the one that's on Lake Granby.) NSR5 is a unit that our family stayed in seasonally for snowmobiling long before we became the managers. We're excited that it was one we were able to remodel last year. We're glad you enjoyed it! And the view- We agree!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very unique place. We stayed in the cabins off of route 34. The street is the main street out of the national park, but the cabins are situated back far enough so road noise is not a problem. There is a canal outside of the cabins, not much to look at but fun for kids to play around, and there are horses in a pasture beyond the canal.

The cabin was clean, very interestingly appointed with lots of funny quotes on the walls and neat decorations. Not fancy, not luxurious, but that is not what it is trying to be anyway.

The kitchen is stocked to do basic cooking/eating, though we mostly ate breakfast ony.

The proprietors are nice and accommodating.

The cabins are not in town, so you have to drive five miles into Grand Lake for restaurants/shops/groceries etc. Not a big deal, Grand Lake is easy to park/navigate

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikingfamilyphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is great! Very clean and cozy, I would recommend these cabins to anyone!
Close to town, easy access to canal, makes for great relaxation on water or awesome fishing.
You wont be disappointed!!! Come Visit!!!! Love this PLACE!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank promisszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My family of four spent the Memorial Day weekend in a fun and cozy unit #7 called "The Country Club" with a wonderful ambiance: warm, log interior with vaulted ceilings! We had everything we could need: from a beautiful, queen size bed within the living center where there was a cute, pine table with double seating (for two each) on both sides where we played card games and setup our laptops ....free WI-Fi ....and ate our breakfasts. A gas fire stove inside a corner hearth filled the night and early mornings with heat. A real horse saddle was overhead on a beam along side some decorative, carved birds and other cute items that took a few minutes to find and smile about. Two Ralph Lauren-like big lodge chairs and ottoman were comfy... and spots to lounge. The last night we found time to watch some satellite TV, choosing the National Geographic Channel which was a treat that we do not receive even at home! The second room with separate door included a queen upper and queen lower bunk bed set (perfect for our college-aged son and daughter to each have own, individual large spaces) with a bathroom with a sink made out of a huge, upright wooden barrel topped by a large, round copper makeshift sink with an adjacent warm shower. The compact kitchen was painted with a black and white cow print, and had everything we needed for morning tea (with refrig, stove/oven, microwave, and sink with cups and dishes on shelves), included a quaint little window that had a mountain view that captured the sunny scene of horses in a nearby pasture, walking trail along the water, and reflecting greens and blues that reminded me of a far-off vista of serene solitude....much like a trip to Alaska...but close to all needs in the friendliness of our favorite, small town- Grand Lake! The headwaters of the mighty Colorado River are surrounding you here...saw several kayaks headed along the canal between the lakes and river...perfect for fishing! The back deck became a home each morning to one fluffy, black & white baby bird with mother trying to keep him satisfied: there is a little bird house attached to the large set of back window glass with a see-thru panel to observe the inner home of the nest... filled with twigs and probably the past Spring beginning for this little offspring that came back to his first home each day to feel safe. Below the small, back deck was a fenced-in area to keep a pet if you brought one along with an adjacent patio area with grill and exit to the lodge's acreage where there were fun trails and a tether ball and horseshoes to play. Fire rings are available to share marshmellows and late night talk too.
Rustic surroundings and great outdoor activities abound! I think we had a great time just being together and enjoying the lack of schedules that usually keep us all so busy. Mountain Lakes Lodge was that quiet time we needed to refuel for our return to summer school and jobs. The Lodge's friendly, family managers (who have really improved the comforts and style of the lodge rooms/cabins in their 18 month tenure) also have North Shore Resort. All together, these two locations would be a perfect spot to rent out for a family reunion with space to spread out, including common areas for group gatherings of all ages.
Spending time in Rocky Moutain National Park is a must, including a hot chocolate in the high Trail Ridge Store up on top of the world. I have been traveling (as a child from the Midwest at first) to this world reknown vacation spot for 40 years! On this trip, from Mountain Lake Lodge's locale, we also hiked a trail around Monarch Lake (drive back 10 miles from the Granby Lake dam along the lake to trailhead) and actually saw a moose calf in the willows along the upstream cascade creek flowing into the natural reservoir. Two evenings, we played bingo with other families under the outside roof of Grand Lake's town pavillion.... with the Rotary Club staff of older veterans taking pride in welcoming the tourists to their paradise...everyone comes carrying long sleeve additions.... for the cool night temps...even in the middle of July...my husband won four times out of thirteen rounds...my daughter and I each shared a win with other kids, couples and grandparents.....amazing! As bingo ended after 9 pm, we ate a late dinner on the adjacent corner at the Sagebrush: great barbecue with one room with live music and everywhere with peanuts at each table...the husks end up often on the wood floor. This lively place with staff sweeping up the nut shells (some are college students from Romania) make this the best late night spot in town....especially after bingo!
The Memorial Day Parade and Air Force flyby....with all the pride of the local residents (we have enjoyed the Fourth of July parade at Grand Lake for many, many years too...they shoot the fireworks off into the lake with boats of families watching and a huge crowd listening to the DJ companion music along the town shore....you have to make reservations for lodging early for this packed celebration!) takes the prize too! We listened to WWII, Korean and Vietnam veterans.... salute all who are or have served, and have family members or past parents, grandpas in the wars... speak along with a current Air Force colonel talking about the patriotism of Grand County where 12 % of the current population has been/is in the military verses 1% in most of the US. This is real America with true ethics! The Fat Cat Cafe is a must for their weekend brunch along the wooden sidewalk on the main street....we are writing a request that Guy Fieri come here from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives to meet owner, English Sally: her talents in high altitude baking of British scones and pies, pleasant chatter, and the variety of dishes are fabulous....must try the green chili enchilada egg dish....too many choices to devour at one meal...just sample a bit of this and that....and return for another day.
All and all, I would sum up this holiday stay at Mountain Lakes Lodge as an episode of the TV Show "Northern Exposure". You might want to watch a few episodes before you arrive to set the right mood! Yes, if you are looking for a place that kids still can walk safely around the shops, the town beach, play mini golf, ride horses on an afternoon trail ride, and eat an ice cream.....this is the beautiful spot...much like we all remember from our own childhood....nothing too luxurious....but a great time you will cherish as everyone looks back on good memories together!

Room Tip: Check out the Mountain Lakes Lodge website and pick the room(s) that best fit your group ....it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geojourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the review. I think we've found someone who loves Mountain Lakes Lodge and the Grand Lake area as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Lake hotels
4.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
547 reviews
4.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
4.6 mi away
Rapids Lodge
Rapids Lodge
#5 of 20 in Grand Lake
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
4.3 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#11 of 20 in Grand Lake
44 reviews
4.4 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lakes Lodge

Address: 10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8612
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, rustic, Grand Lake-themed rooms with kitchenettes. Kitchenettes are stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware. Each unit has a 3/4 bath and all linens are included. We are pet-friendly (fee applies)and have great access to walking trails. Outdoor amenities include BBQs, picnic tables, fire-pits and games. This is a fantastic place for Family Reunions!Located on the Lake Granby-Shadow Mountain Canal, there is great fishing steps from your door all year. We're 6mi. from RMNP, 5mi. from Grand Lake Village, 2mi from Arapaho National Forest, 10mi. from Granby, 15mi. from Ski/Bike/Golf GRANBY RANCH, 20mi. from Hot Sulphur Springs. Near restaurants,snowmobiling, hiking, marinas, golf, horseback riding, shopping, wildlife viewing and much more. Snowshoe rental available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Lakes Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing