We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It and It is Romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lakes Lodge
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The "Bear Collector" cabin has a amazing hand peeled log canopy bed (just beautiful). The cabins are all different themes. It's pet friendly and you can fish 40 ft out the back door so it's great. There are beautiful wild flowers everywhere, rustic outdoor furniture and a view of the mountains. It's a special place for us. Especially when you walk outside through the french doors into your own back deck. You have water and the mountains. It also has a fenced in yard -which is great for dog lovers. We even saw elk in the backyard across the canal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JC72032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

The actual room was tolerable, almost decent. The reason for the visit(and the manager knew this) was to celebrate our 1-year Anniversary.The outside was atrocious. There were weeds waist high in the tiny back yard. Tiny river in back with stagnant water. Trailer park across the road. Several propane tanks (5 gal type) lined up near the common area and grills with over grown grass(see photos). No soap or shampoo in bathroom. They will not give you keys until you have paid for your full reservation. If you decide to check out because of the condition of the environment, they will not let you get a refund for the nights you did not stay.

In their defense, it is a decent place to stay if the purpose of your trip is fishing all day and drinking at the local bars at night. Absolutely not a romantic getaway with your wife on your anniversary, unless she and you are fishing buffs; we are not.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank will3736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We stayed at Mountain Lake over Labor Day weekend this year. Overall, I have to say that we liked it. It allows dogs, which is awesome. Not only do they allow dogs, the cabins all have little fenced yards, so you don't have to constantly keep your pet on a leash. Affordable places that are truly pet friendly are hard to find, so we really enjoyed that. The cabin was very clean. The owners were super nice. Our heater didn't kick on and they came right over and got it lit, no problem. The view out of our back porch was gorgeous and the location was great. It was nice to have a full kitchen and, since there were several "important" football games that weekend, the satelite TV was also appreciated.

A few downsides: These cabins are not really meant for full size people. I am pretty small and thought it was great and cozy. But my 6'3 husband...well, I don't see how he fit into that shower. Also, the couch was a futon bed and could have been a little sturdier. He isn't very fat or anything, but the creaking when he sat on it made us both a little nervous! Also, the pipes are really loud. The first time we heard them banging we thought it was the guy next door doing heavy construction or something. It only seemed to be the shower, though, and not the toilet, so it wasn't a late night issue and didn't bother us too much.

Overall I would recommend staying here if you travel with your dog, because it is very affordable and it is actually really pet friendly, as opposed to places that just tolerate pets. BUT, if you are very fat or very big in general (not being mean, but that shower was SMALL), I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Erie, CO
18
Reviewed July 9, 2005

I made my reservation months in advance, paid a deposit and when I arrived I was told they had double booked us, and we were out of luck. We had to MAKEe them call around to find another place for us, they didn't offer to help at all, even though it was their fault, which the woman admitted. The man was rude the whole time, even though I was very polite. The only place left in town was a dump. They didn't offer to help us out in any way, not even to let us use the phone to contact the other members of our party to let them know of the change in plans!

There are plenty of other place to stay in the Grand Lake area, if you book in advance. I'd stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2004

Dave and Karen have made so many improvements to Mountain Lakes Lodge. It is a wonderful, fun place to stay. Clean rooms and great people. Dave can help with your fishing needs. We have been going to this lodge for several years, and are planning a trip back right now. Summers are cool and refreshing, and the fall is beautiful. Fishing is better in the fall. The Mawhorter's are the greatest. The view from your deck is awesome.

4  Thank mavand_1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jhealer1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
4.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
10.7 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#15 of 20 in Grand Lake
141 reviews
4.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lakes Lodge

Address: 10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8612
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, rustic, Grand Lake-themed rooms with kitchenettes. Kitchenettes are stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware. Each unit has a 3/4 bath and all linens are included. We are pet-friendly (fee applies)and have great access to walking trails. Outdoor amenities include BBQs, picnic tables, fire-pits and games. This is a fantastic place for Family Reunions!Located on the Lake Granby-Shadow Mountain Canal, there is great fishing steps from your door all year. We're 6mi. from RMNP, 5mi. from Grand Lake Village, 2mi from Arapaho National Forest, 10mi. from Granby, 15mi. from Ski/Bike/Golf GRANBY RANCH, 20mi. from Hot Sulphur Springs. Near restaurants,snowmobiling, hiking, marinas, golf, horseback riding, shopping, wildlife viewing and much more. Snowshoe rental available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Lakes Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing