We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Friendly, Comfortable”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The staff is very accomodating, food was great, the deck off the lounge has beautiful views of the lake and the mountains. They have games, big screen TV's in the lounge, and Wii too! The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDayPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2009

Thank you so much! I am glad that you and your family had a nice time while you were here. Your girls were great! You were great! Can't wait to see you again.

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at the Gateway Hotel for 3 nights in Oct 2009. The hotel overlooks the gorgeous town of Grand Lake. The views of the lake and mountains are breathtaking.

Our room was a Lakeview King. The hotel is full of beautiful log furniture. We had a balcony, which was nice. There is a fun bar in the hotel. We met lots of Grand Lake locals and other travelers.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

The town is adorable and it's a great base for hiking Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Assistant Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2009

Hi Laura! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much! That is exactly the kind of experience we want our guests to have. We continue to strive for that every day. I hope you had a safe trip back to California and hope you can come visit us again soon! Don't forget Winter Carnival!!

Best Wishes,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The rooms are quiet and the beds are comfortable. We have stayed at this hotel several times and would not consider any other lodging in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was a perfect start to our Colorado vacation. Everything about this hotel was fantastic! The view, the beautiful rooms decorated with log furniture, the lounge area, the bar and the staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCILady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

THANKS! It is so nice to have our guests comment on sites like Tripadvisor. I am glad it was a great stay for you. Come again soon!
Take care.
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The trip was perfect and even with snow amongst the changing aspens and closures high on Trail Ridge Road we extended our stay!
The staff graciously provided another room so we enjoyed a full extra two days at RMNP!
Their location, rooms, cleaning staff, reception, and management excell in service; assuring their guests are comfortable. Enjoyed the balcony side overlooking the mountains and lake then the move to a room with a fireplace and with an aspen view certainly made the trip complete. Looking forward to another stay next year!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dknight055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

I am so glad that you had a nice trip. It was great to meet you! Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank You!
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here for one night on a trip through the area and the rooms were comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff at the front desk were also very helpful in helping us plan the next few days of our trip!!! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank SmithUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel has very comfortable rooms with good beds and mountain views. If you want your room to be serviced, you must remember to put a note to this effect on the door handle, or it will not be done. Hard-working owner, but other stafff could be more proactive in the attention they offer. Good location just out of town, and might benefit from having a restaurant on site. Breakfast is very basic, and internet access is very patchy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,525 reviews
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. *( we no longer provide a free Continental Breakfast with the purchase of a room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing