We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay with a view of the Rockies”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing stay with a view of the Rockies”
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The Gateway Inn is a great place to slow your pace of life. Lisa and the staff are friendly and pleasant and the views are incredible. Watching the sunset from the lounge/bar is priceless! Winter and summer ~ The perfect place to escape to the Rock Mountains!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2009
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stays with us and that you have taken the time to write a review for us. I hope we will get to see you again real soon. It was a pleasure.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    171
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
146
232
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west yellowstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Thanks so much for a great time! The staff at the Gateway Inn made the whole trip!!! Never slept better!! You can bet I'll be back next time in town! Thanks again, Mike from West Yellowstone

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishinflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
Hey Mike! Thank you too. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We've stayed in a few different places in Grand Lake and the Gateway Inn was, by far, our favorite (we're going back next weekend!). We have two small children that snowmobile with us. The rooms were the perfect size(2 queens), nice bathroom, loved that they had a small fridge and coffee maker in the room. We can hop on the trail right from the hotel, which is another plus (no trailering on and off all weekend!). We stopped down at the bar for happy hour before we went to dinner and it's a great place! The view from the hot tub is spectacular! And, I was glad to see a work-out facility as well - I even used it once! :) Lots of games you can borrow for the kids. The staff was very friendly. All in all, just a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
Thank you. I am always glad to hear that families have a great time here. The season is almost over for us now :( I hope you will try us during the summer. Take care.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

i took the family up to Grand Lake for a weekend of snowmobiling and stayed at the Gateway. I was very pleased with the Hotel. It appears to be an older hotel but has recently been updated. i requested a 2 queen room and got a room with 1 queen and two bunkbeds, which actually was better for my teenage sons. The room was clean, warm and everything functioned well. The shower was also very good, plenty of pressure and hot water. (Important little things when you are sore from snowmobiling).

Their location was great as it was right on the trail into the national forest and they had a great upper parking area for trailers. It is also across the street from a snowmobile rental outfit (Grand Adventures) and a Polaris dealership if parts or oil are needed.

The owner was very friendly and actually informed me that expedia had overcharged me for the room and arranged the discount when I arrived.

It isn't a luxury hotel, there aren't any in Grand lake that I know of, but it was reasonable, clean, conveniently located and trailer parking for my sleds was a breeze. That's all I required on this trip. We really enjoyed our weekend and will definitely go back here again.

  • Liked — Convenience of location and trailer accomodation.
  • Disliked — No room service.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2009
Thanks so much for your comments on Tripadvisor.com! We have 2 new feet of snow in town and 4 feet out on the trails in the past 7 days! I've been building bed sleds for the winter carnival on Feb 7th. Wish you and the kids could have been here for the carnival. Hope to see you again soon.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2009

The Gateway Inn is everything that a hotel should be. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms were nice and clean, and the atmosphere was amazing. They even had a Wii set up for the kids!!! Thanks to Lisa for making our stay so enjoyable. We will most certainly be back and will never stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zermatt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2009
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I love to read comments from my guests that take the time to do this. Take care and we will see you again soon!

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Gateway Inn in Feb. 2007. It was our second stay there. We stayed there an entire week. We had a wonderful time there. The rooms are excellent! They have many different choices. We stayed in the room with a balcony and Mountain view. WONDERFUL view! This was our second stay. We are also staying this Feb. 2009 for another week. For a snowmobiling couple, this is a great place to stay. Close to the trails. The Hotel is at the edge of town, not in the middle of town, which we like. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The staff eager to help with anything! The hotel has many amenities. Unfortunately, the restaurant is a little lacking...more of a bar atmosphere. This is not necessarily such a bad thing. It allows you to travel into town (2-3 minutes) to sample all that it has to offer. I highly recommend the Gateway Inn to all! In fact, this year some of my family will be staying there as well!

  • Liked — Nice and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaRMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to put a comment on Tripadvisor. I am glad you have enjoyed staying with us in the past and I look forward to seeing you in Feb. P.S. We have been getting a good bit of snow this past week. The snowmobiling is incredible!


Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel three times and love it. First off, it is by far the best place to stay in Grand Lake if you are looking for a full hotel as all the other properties are "motor inn" type lodging or rustic cabins. The hotel is right on the edge between the start of Main Street and the start of the snowmobile trails. The furnishings are all log and really help to let you know you are in a mountain lodge. We always book a room with a fireplace. Rooms are all well decorated and well maintained. You get the feel that you are staying in a much more expensive place. The public areas are all decorated beautifully with lots of antiques and mountain touches. The front desk always has board games available to check out .... Our favorite routine in Grand Lake - rent snowmobiles in town and play around on the groomed trails all day; check in to the Gateway Inn around evening; return after dinner, turn on the fire, get a couple of board games, and hang out in our cozy room 'tll morning. Then, get up and snowshoe at the Nordic Center. Such a relaxing winter get-away!

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, GENERAL MANAGER at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear that guests not only enjoy our lodge they enjoy the town as well. Next time you stay let me know your thoughts on the lower marks for service and front desk. I am always trying to improve and would love your input.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing