We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed 1 Saturday night at the Gateway Hotel in Grand Lake in mid-April 2014. We had 2 queen beds. The bathroom was very small. The hotel looks clean but we saw dust on the carpeting in our room. My 2 year old got a rash in contact with the carpet. So made him stay off the floor. This time of year seemed pretty dead for the town of Grand Lake. We had to pay $108 which seemed a lot for the area. Everyone was pleasant to us. Maybe check around more next time to get a cheaper room rate. Also there is a late check in 4:30pm. Our room was not ready until that time. Usually you can get sooner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmike9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    171
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
146
232
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Good place to stay! nice staff. Good view. Close to west side of national park, not as crowded as east side, where tons of traveler on the street.. Lakeview on one side of the inn. will come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phishinghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

When we were checking in at the front desk, my husband handed me his credit card and I let him know I had prepaid the room. The churlish macho front desk attendant said to me, "so you never had to leave show a credit card when you checked into a hotel before?" Not sure where the hostility came from but not worth explaining to him . He then saw us having trouble finding the elevator and did not offer any help. He put us in a room overlooking the parking lot although we had booked a room with a mountain or lake view. When we asked for a different room he said they did not have any. I asked him if they were completely full and he said no, their housekeeping staff did not show up so the rooms were not clean. When I pressed that we had booked a room with a balcony, he found one for us. Not at all a good welcome.

Lobby is cozy, the room we ended up in is ok. Just advise the owners to have more congenial staff ,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucamonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great place to stay. Rustic feel, great views, affordable, very clean. Staff was awesome. Loved the bar! We will definitely stay again and will recommend this place to everyone. The Great room had board games, cards, shuffle board for adults or children. Very nice deck although it was really cold and snowy. Cozy atmosphere and very relaxing. A place where you can sit in a comfy chair by the fireplace and read a book on a snowy afternoon.

Room Tip: We had 2 queens with a gas fireplace. Really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Affordable. Close to town. Nice little bar. Comfy beds. Nice displays of stuffed animals. Free breakfast cereal and coffee. Good view from one side of hotel. Would stay again. I think that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfletch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. All of the stuffed animals were not killed to decorate the wall they were found on the road. Hope you stay again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We purchased 2x rooms through Groupon for our family vacation here (3x adults, 8 kids [ages from 6 mths -10 y/o]).

The rooms were spacious and comfy. I read other reviews that stated that the mattresses weren't comfortable and the staff was rude towards their children. However, that WAS NOT the case during our stay.

Even with 8x kids running around, the staff was super friendly and outgoing.
We also thought the mattresses were just fine, no issues.

HIGHLY recommend renting snowmobiles from "On the Trail" down the road.
Super friendly staff there as well and you get a 10-15% discount for staying at the Gateway Inn.

Would love to go back here if we weren't moving.

Room Tip: Try to get the Lakeside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to make the guest feel comfortable as possible and are improving the rooms all the time. Even though you are moving hopefully you can take a vacation and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Gateway Inn at the end of February. Rooms were clean and price was right. The Inn is appropriately decorated for the area. We have already recommend to several of our friends and family. We were in Grand Lake for snowmobiling and snowshoeing in RMNP. The Inn was in the perfect location for our needs. We hope to make it back someday for another trip. .....There was a lot of noise from snowmobiles riding by the Inn but it really wasn't of great concern to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Usually during the night time there won't be any snowmobiles riding around but we can not control that. Happy that did not bother your sleep! Hope you stay with us again some time! Also thank you for recommending our place to your friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing