We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd place, nice room”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a large hotel at the edge of Grand Lake. The locals gave us some very odd stares when we arrived - maybe it was a slow day? There was no food on offer at the hotel so we ate in the town instead. We didn't go in the bar as it was full of locals who were playing poker (at 3 in the afternoon).

The hot tub was OK but it was placed next to the air conditioners outside downstairs so quite noisy.

The room was nice and large with very large chunky wood furniture - interesting!

Other than that, clean and tidy.

Room Tip: We had a view of the car park which was boring. Didn't want to pay the premium of a lake view fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthPair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the interesting review. I am sorry that you felt the locals were giving you odd stares they are very friendly and are very considerate to guest. The poker is just a friendly game that the locals do every Sunday for no money just a small bar tab that you can win, they allow anyone to play. Thanks again for the review and hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night in mid-September. The room was adequately sized, with interesting log furniture which added character and was very clean. Otherwise, the room was typical hotel style with a small bathroom. The shower had plenty of pressure and water was hot. The hotel itself was perched up on a hill coming into the town and if you get the right room, has a wonderful view off the tiny balcony. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful and the room was ready at check-in time. This hotel is one of the very few in town where you can actually see the lake from your room if on the right side of the hotel. There is no complimentary breakfast, but you can eat a wonderful, inexpensive breakfast at the Sagebrush in town which is about a 2 minute drive from the hotel. Rack rates are high for this hotel, but if you get a deal it's a great place to stay. We'd stay again at the right price, but would always request a room on the second floor, south side.

Room Tip: We had room 213, which had a great direct view of the lake over the rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceansaway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your good review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct our rooms are standard hotel rooms. Yes in town we have a some pretty good breakfast places and Sagebrush is defiantly a good one for breakfast and lunch. This is a resort town and during the peak summer our prices are competitive with every other hotel in grand lake. Sorry that you think they are too high. If you want cheaper rates stay in the winter time our rates go down quite a bit and we have excellent winter activities, like ice fishing and snowmobiling. Thank you again for the review and hope you stay again with us sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had a view of the mountains, which was nice. The staff were very friendly, efficient and always available, if needed. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for the good review! We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and got to stay for 4 nights at our hotel! We are happy to here that your stay was comfortable and our staff was friendly and efficient! Thanks again for the review and hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Inn for one night on August 15th on lake side with a balcony. We found this to be a wonderful stay with our room well done in a rustic mountain setting. We were surprised to see a fireplace which was great but we didn't use. We checked in without a problem and was informed about everything they provided and what was available locally. Our king bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We especially like the American heritage decorations throughout including the Armed Forces. We didn't eat here because we visited friends but would have used the bar and eaten some food had we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedeOls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay so much! We pride ourselves on Armed Forces since this is a family owned hotel and a lot of the family has served this country. We are happy you enjoyed that. It is alright that you didn't eat here since at that time we did not have a restaurant and still do not. Thank you again for the great review and we hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a disappointing stay at the Gateway Inn, Grand Lake, Colorado. On the second day, our room was not made up. What a disappointment and actually disgust after a day hiking and exploring to find the beds not made and the room not attended to. The cleaning staff had already left for the day and the only person left was attending phones. We expected more professionalism from such an establishment but after several emails with only apologies and excuses such as not enough staff to clean all the rooms, we requested a partial refund relating to that one night. A professionally run establishment should have offered that right away. However, we have been ignored, thus we feel a review is in order.

We had diligently removed the "do not disturb'" sign from the door as we left in the morning but upon returning in the afternoon, found it back on the door -- go figure. They claimed their security camera had no answer about how it got there..

Also, their web site had indicated dining facilities there -- not true any more. We had a lake view room (more expensive), but the lake is actually quite a distance away across a part of the town residential area. Other deficiencies include ceiling fan low speed only - not much help; window would not close all the way to lock; significant traffic noise on the lake view side; noisy bathroom fan. Also instead of fresh mountain air on the balcony there was smell of cigarette smoke. If you think these deficiencies, lack of room attendance, and subsequent treatment are worth the money, by all means stay there. R & J, Lakewood, Colorado

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the review. We have emailed back and fourth to you about this. We checked our cameras TWICE and both times we did not see any one of our house keepers put back on the Do Not Disturb sign. We are truly sorry that you did not get your stay over clean but if there is a sign on the door that says do not disturb the house keepers will not clean the room. The Gateway prides our staff on being honest and we did make sure and check their work. The camera is set up to be able to see if any thing weird is going on. As we checked it twice with multiple staff viewing it to double check our work. We would have helped get you anything you would have needed that the house keepers did not need. Thank you for the review and sorry that you were disappointed in your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Note, this place is fine if you plan to only stay a night or two. Noticed that the best reviews are for short-term stays. I would not recommend long-term stays. You must ask for a room with a view and there was no restaurant. There is not a lot of customer service, it is a very "on your own" place, but has a very new, but rustic look. I noticed when getting up early to go to the park that there was no staff on overnight. Not sure if that is the norm. Very close to the park if that is your main reason for being there. No early breakfast places though. You need to find food to keep in your room for early starts. The view is always beautiful in the RMNP Colorado area, but Gateway's website puts the hotel a great deal closer to Bald Mountain than they really are, and the Lake is partially obstructed by housing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake / Mountains, do not assume you will get a view, even if you reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt like there was no customer service because we stride ourselves on customer service and are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive that. We do have an overnight staff for emergency they do not hang out in the office they stay in their room if you dial 0 you can reach her at anytime of the night. There are a couple of breakfast places in town and they all open at 6 am so I am not sure how you might have missed them. Sorry again that your stay wasn't as good as you were hoping that thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a "lake view" room reserved for one night at the midpoint of our camping trip in Rocky Mountain National Park so that we could shower and sleep in a bed. I was pretty disappointed that you could barely see a sliver of the lake, which was several blocks away, through the trees from the balcony - if you looked in the correct direction and stood on tiptoes. We were on the first floor, and it was a stretch to call that a lake view room. There were some oddities too: such as a fake grass putting green and a giant blow up football player tethered to the porch off the lobby. The motel obviously serves as a local gathering spot for Denver Bronco fans, and we could hear the crowd cheering or booing every play until the end of the game. All that aside, the room was clean enough (the carpet needs cleaning and is a little threadbare), the bed was comfy and the shower worked great. The town of Grand Lake is not quaint, and neither was this hotel, but it did provide what we needed most. Just be warned - this place is not on the lake! It is at the intersection of the highway and the road to town, and there are buildings, roads, power lines and other unattractive features in the way of the view.

Room Tip: Try an upper floor to possibly see more of the lake and don't stay on a night the Broncos are pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay to what you expected. You are right the second floor does have better views of the lake, the aspens just started to grow past balcony on first floor of some of the Lake view rooms. But we are thinking of options on how to fix that. In all our websites we never state that we are right on the lake and all the pictures we have taken are not professional pictures except a couple of room pictures but none of them are "fake." Thanks again for your review and we will try to fix problems that you have said to the best that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.6 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $104 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. *( we no longer provide a free Continental Breakfast with the purchase of a room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing