We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our stay!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our stay!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We only stayed here one night while on our way to Rocky Mountain National Park. This hotel is on the west side of the Park. The rooms were very large and exceptionally clean! The owners of this hotel were socializing with guests throughout the night. They take great pride in their hotel. We ate at their café and the food was very good. Outside on the deck they had a band playing. The waitress was so kind as to get my kids smores kits so they could roast marshmallows over the fire pits they have and make smores. We felt so welcomed and really enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but they do have a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaym37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We pride ourselves on trying to give everyone the best treatment that we can do. The owners of the Gateway are very proud of their hotel and love to see how the guest stay is. Unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant anymore but we are more then happy to give ideas on where to eat. Hopefully you can stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    181
    63
    28
    15
See reviews for
155
243
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Gateway Inn but we loved it! There is a full service restaurant with a beautiful deck. They don't serve breakfast (which they should consider) but the staff recommended a good place in town. The deck is beautiful and there was live music on Sunday night. The cabin-like decor is beautiful. The room was big and the beds very comfortable. We also enjoyed some time in the hot tub at night. Everything was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. We also got the treat of seeing 2 moose in the area! So close to Rocky Mountain National Park, this hotel is a much better choice than in Estes Park where a similar hotel would cost twice as much and be twice as crowded. I will definitely go back to the Gateway Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not open any more. We have tried the breakfast a couple times and it never worked out. But we too wish we did. Thank you for the pictures and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just wrapped up our family vacation, which included the Gateway Inn in Grand Lake as our first stop. The Inn is currently ranked #1 on TripAdvisor and we stayed there because of it. Expectations were meet and the overall lodging experience was excellent.

The Inn is set on top of a hill overlooking most of the town including the lake (partially) which makes for great views on the balcony if you're cool enough to nab one. Personally, I nabbed a "parking lot view" room since it was a last minute addition to the vacation and the rest of the Inn was fully booked. I was pretty envious of those rooms with the balconies. The rooms were larger than expected and very clean. The rustic tone of the lodge was appreciated and the owner was kind. We had a stopped-up toilet in our room and it was handled quick and painlessly. Awesome.

The night was peaceful and quiet. We never ate at the hotel's restaurant but we did go out onto its deck for an evening game of chess with the family and the views were awesome. Other reviewers made mention of the bar and there being a lot of locals....but we didn't see any of that. Everybody was really cool. In fact, there was a glass door blocking our room's hallway from the dining area. We never heard a peep.

The downtown area to Grand Lake is just down the street and can be easily walked.

Room Tip: Their website is the best way to go about picking a room and it will let you know what kind of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhHeyErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! During the summer time and holidays our view rooms do go pretty fast but we welcome any guest to sit on our public deck during business hours. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The amenities and location are very deceptive. There is NO restaurant. The kitchenette is a refrigerator and coffee maker (does not maintain hot coffee) sitting on top of the refrigerator. A small two person table beside the dresser with the TV on it.
July 4th is not a good weekend to stay at the Gateway Inn. Locals are invited to donate $5 and have a spot on their deck to view the fireworks. When we checked in, we were not notified of this and at the top room rate, were not allowed to view the fireworks from the deck and had been given a room (top rate remember) with a view of the parking lot (opposite Grand Lake). There was no attempt to help us find alternatives and no explanation for the reduction in room quality.
The website and facebook photos are very deceptive. Gateway Inn is now surrounded by houses behind the parking lot, below the deck (which mentioned to be available to all guests, no limitations). There is a grocery store and fire station across the road as well. Not the picture of seclusion the photos show.
So, no restaurant means, no breakfast, no lunch, no dinner (except on unannounced occasions). This hotel should not be able to claim kitchenette, restaurant or wonderful view of Grand Lake. Many of us who stay here will not see that view. The only good points are: 1) it is a newer facility and appears clean (except I found evidence of the place being treated for bedbugs with a repellent under the bed (bedbugs.com). No, I did not find bed bugs; 2) Go out the of the parking lot and to the right, you are just a few minutes from the Rocky Mtn National Park. Grand Lake does have some good restaurants, though breakfast is a tough meal to get early. They are not early risers for those of us who like to get to the park early or plan a trip across the Trail Ridge to the Eastern part of the park.
It would be nice to see honest, straight forward information about the hotel online so that travelers can plan accordingly.

Room Tip: If you want a view you must lock in a reservation for an upper level room towards the lake, get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our rooms are standard hotel rooms, we only have a kitchen in our cabin. I am sorry that you were told differently. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not work out like we had hope, but our staff is always available to give suggestion on nice restaurants in town. We are also sorry to hear that you were not able to make a reservation on the deck (for a table) for the 4th of July. We did call every guest we could to ask them if they wanted a spot before we open it up to the public, but with some of the reservation being made through online we did not have any information to contact the guest and let them know. We put repellent bedbugs in all our rooms to prevent getting bedbugs. It does not mean we have bedbugs in any of our rooms were just trying to make sure we do not get bedbugs. Our facebook pictures were not taking by a professional so what you see is exactly what we have, which yes there are houses around us but our camera could not catch them because of where they are located. To get a room with a view it is more and for fourth of July weekend they run out fast. Tip: Call and make reservation directly through us to get a view with a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staff was very helpful, rooms decorated nicely, clean and in good repair.

Great deck outside the lounge area.

Great view from our room balcony, will definitely stay here again if in the area, and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again in Grand Lake.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Really nice, well kept hotel with good view of the lake and personable management. As promised, our king room had a private balcony with a lake view. We were very pleased. We definitely recommend this to anyone looking to get away to northern Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveOpinion59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The Gateway is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the review you made and hopefully some time can come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After two weeks and 1500 miles on our rental car The end of our trip was through the Rocky Mountain National Park.We only booked one night at the lodge The Lodge is family owned,and it was the best of all lodging on our trip.The owner saved our vacation.We ran over a screw and had a flat tire.With his hands-on help,and help of another guest we safely left the next morning to complete our trip.About the Lodge.The rooms are spacious and very clean.It has a rustic theme through out.A great dinning room with great food.,a full bar.The best is the very large deck with great views of the lake.Our next trip to Colorado we will diffently spend more time in Grand Lake.And of course we will be staying at THE GATEWAY Inn

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLORADOTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Gateway is happy to hear that your stay with us was great! We stride ourselves on being as hands-on as we can. Unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant any more but we still have a bar with 1/2 off price drinks for happy hour from 4-6pm every day of the week. We look forward to your next visit with us! Also thank you for the amazing pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
593 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.6 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing