We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Expectations”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is clean and rustic. The staff pleasant. The room was spacious. That's about it. The lobby smells like a deep fat fryer, the wireless internet did not work in our room. The exhaust fan for the kitchen drowns out any chance of conversation. The air conditioners in the room did a fine job, but were incredibly loud. When I asked about restaruant recomendations and local churches the staff was limited to one church and no BBQ - both of which were inaccurate. The work out room was a mess as was the hottub which was covered and unapproachable by all the upturned furniture. The view really looks over a parking lot, over may streets and buildings and then the lake. Overall it was clean and the rooms quaint - but for the money it certainly wasn't worth it. I was going to talk to the management to give feedback, but when we checked out they didn't even ask how our stay was. Oh well just one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am sorry that your stay was not to your liking. We do apologize for the smell and the exhaust fan for the kitchen. The kitchen is no longer open so the exhaust fan and the smell is gone. We do have an amazing BBQ place located in the town of Grand Lake and we apologize for whoever you talked to you was not aware of the BBQ place in town and the churches. The Gateway loves feed back even the bad because it helps us get better. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we will take this feed back to make our hotel better. Thank you again for your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    182
    63
    28
    15
See reviews for
154
244
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on June 06, 2013. Of our two week trip through Colorado and Wyoming, this was without a doubt the best place we stayed. The décor is absolutely unmatched anywhere else. Everything was beautifully decorated with knotty pine, rustic furniture. We upgraded to a king- bed room with a deck providing a view of the lake and mountains. It was absolutely spectacular. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens seemed newer. The room was very large and included a table and chairs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, and hair dryer as well as a very nice sized television. There was clearly a great attention to detail in the décor and we could not have asked for more.

This hotel is set in a beautiful setting, only minutes from the West gate to Rocky Mountain National Park. This is a very under -utilized part of the park, with many more people staying in Estes Park. We LOVED the quieter, less- touristy, less expensive Grand lake side of the park. We saw more wildlife in this part of the park than we saw on the Estes Park side, Grand Tetons, or Yellowstone. It was wonderful to drive into the park after dinner looking for wildlife at dusk and to be back at our hotel room literally minutes after exiting the park. You get excellent value for your dollar at the Gateway Inn. The price is very reasonable and we were so pleased to find such a wonderful room in our price range.

As soon as we checked in we were greeted by very friendly employees who told us there were happy hour specials going on in their beautiful wooden bar. There was a pretty good selection of regional microbrews at a very low price. There was live music later in the night but it stopped around 9 pm so we did enjoy a very quiet night of sleep. The room had a coffee pot which we used in the morning and drank our coffee on our deck very early in the morning watching the sun come up on grand lake and watching the swallows fly around looking for breakfast. If there is a nicer way to start a day, I do not know what it is.

Our only regret is that we only stayed here one night. We really could have used a second night here. If it sounds like I am gushing about this place -- that's because I am. Both my husband and I frequently say how we wish we were back there sleeping in the king bed and sipping our morning coffee on the deck. STAY HERE - you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms provide a view of both lake and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The Gateway Inn is very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel so much. We strive ourselves on our décor. Our owners make sure that every room is individually decorated to make each room unique. We do have all those things in our room except a microwave. We are also happy that you enjoyed the park, if you ever come back, try coming back in autumn when you can go in the park at dusk and here the elk bugle it is nice to sit there while enjoying a picnic. Hope you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited this inn in early June and the room was very pretty and super clean. Comfortable king size bed and nice fireplace. Pay the extra 10.00 for lake view with balcony that overlooks Mount Baldy. Music on the deck in the evening, fire pits for 'smores, awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake'mountain view balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkmurray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The Gateway Inn thanks you for a great response! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have music on our deck on some nights and pleased that you got to stay on a music night! Hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always enjoy my stay.

The rooms are clean and up to date, the staff is very friendly and helpful (one of them tracked down a razor for me when I forgot mine), and the view atop the hill is great!

They also have a steamroom, workout room, and hot tub. And there's a bar/restaurant.

This is a great place to stay whether you're visiting Grand Lake or visiting Rocky Mountain National Park (the park is only a few minutes drive from the Inn - super close).

Room Tip: Make sure you pay attention to whether your room has a view or not (if that matters to you). I chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your great response and we are very pleased to hear that you have come back and love staying with us. We try to update rooms as often as need. Unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant anymore but we still have a full bar that has 1/2 off all drinks from 4-6 pm! The tip is an excellent tip you do have to pay more for a view but it is worth it if you want to sit on a private balcony. Hope you come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in a first floor king bed room and a bunk bed room on June 10. Let's start with the good.
Rustic lodge decor and furniture is perfect for the setting. Family immediately noted that it closely resembles Great Wolf Lodge. The bunk bed is a child's dream as is the large bear in the lobby. Rooms also have a mini fridge, coffee maker and table and chairs.
Mattresses and pillows were great! Linens and towels were fine.
Having an outdoor deck with seating is pleasant.
Air conditioning is a real plus although as in many hotels, it is quite loud and disturbs your sleep.
The rooms were quiet, but there were very few people in the hotel.
Bath products were delightful and the shower had good pressure.

Room for improvement
Since we own 2 vacation condos in Estes Park, we know most lodging places have done a spring cleaning and maintenance check and update by early June in order to get ready for the busy summer season. Apparently, Gateway had not done this.
Dust was on the bed headboard, on the light fixture in the vanity area, on chair and bench rungs, dresser drawers, tops of wall decor, etc. Colorado is dusty but this was fuzzy dust not outdoor dust.
The wand to open and close the window blinds was missing.
One of the slats in the verticle blinds was not working. Unfortunately, it was positioned so that there was a glare from outside in your eyes while in bed.
The room is very light. Be ready to wake at dawn if you are light sensitive.
The toilet really needs replacing. It appears to have blobs of black paint in it. The handle sticks and the toilet will run if you do not remember to lift the handle after flushing.
The mini fridge door was open and the fridge was not on when we arrived. It did work when we turned it on but we had to wait for it to cool.
White socks were quite dirty after walking around on the carpet after a couple of hours. Apparently, the carpet needs deep cleaning.
The tile grout on the bathroom floor needs cleaning. Of course, hotels often do not do this.

A great enhancement for Gateway would be to utilize their large and attractive bar area as a dining area for breakfast. An expanded continental breakfast would be a real plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fv1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaManager, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We just got all new pillows so we are happy you enjoyed them! Our bear is I think the favorite for everyone and the bunk beds for younger kids is a very awesome thing. We do do a spring and winter cleaning and maintenance check and we are sorry that it was not as clean as it should have been. We will make sure to double check the work of our staff. We wish you would have said this when you were here so we could fix the problem about the vertical blinds. We keep the mini fridge door open and turn it off so it does not start to produce mildew. Unfortunately, we have tried doing a restaurant a couple times and continental and it just does not work for us if we did do continental we would have to up the prices in the room. Thank you for your review it will help us a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped here following a trip through the Rocky Mountain National park on our way north to Yellow stone. The staff were polite, the room was beautiful, clean and spacious with a touch of luxury. The location was amazing for the views across the lake to the mountains, sadly we did not face this from our room!
Complimentary smorrs in the evening and coffee in the morning, what more could we want!
May even visit on our way back to Denver!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGibney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you stay, we can give you a room with a view! If you calls us directly it is easier to try to get you a room with a view. Thank you for your opinion.
Gillian Butler
Gateway Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

room 204--Queen
Clean room; has tub & shower; has mini-fridge; in room coffee above average but both
Styrofoam cups leaked; the bed was just ok--the sheets were "scratchy" & the log frame
construction made getting in & out of bed awkward; there was no hotel or area information
in the room; hotel has a very nice deck with a view located just off the roomy bar/restaurant
area, though there is currently no operating restaurant at the hotel; as most all dining
places are downtown--about !/2 mile, a breakfast of some kind would be a good addition;
The price point is what one would expect in Grand Lake. The check-in & out folks were
pleasant; the hotel has a busy & noisy bar though that was not an issue in our room.

Room Tip: east side rooms have a nice view for additional $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayinn, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion about hotel and area information needed in the rooms. We've never thought to do that, but you're absolutely right: I'd say almost every hotel I've ever stayed in has a binder chock full of information. We have the Grand County phone book in each room and plenty of fliers in the vestibule, but amassing that information in the room would be much more convenient. I will speak with the general manager, Lisa Jenkins, and discuss such an option. I'm sorry to hear about the coffee cups, the sheets, and the bed frame. I agree that the queen bed frames are a difficulty. Our king beds do not have a wrap around frame, so next time you come request one of our king lake view rooms! The sheets may be scratchy because they're brand new. I'll discuss softener detergent with our housekeepers to see what can be done. We are opening a full-service restaurant tomorrow, so do come back to check that out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.6 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing