We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First off, the location is great....within a mile to the entrance to RMNP and just minutes away from viewing a herd of elk on the west side of the park. Our room was clean and very, very quiet. The room itself..as well as the lodge, was very lovely with a beautiful view of Grand Lake from our balcony. I liked that the room had a refrigerator as really, Grand Lake itself is a bit limited for food choices at certain times & days of the week. I would definitely recommend the Gateway Inn to anyone I know that is traveling in the area. It would be nice if the Gateway management would consider putting out fruit or cereal bars or something in the morning as there didn't seem to be a lot of choices in town for breakfast..and the places that did offer breakfast were a bit overpriced (my observation anyway)...other than the breakfast dilemma..we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Gateway Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zillymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 547 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

This inn is a convenient place to stay if you are interested in accessing the west side of Rocky Mountain National Park. The inn and our room were decorated with a true lodge decor and our bed was comfortable. The two nights we stayed at the inn there seemed to be a group of people mainly interested in partying. I woke up at 3 a.m. from their noise outside our room. As far as the comfort of the room, it would have been nice have had a comfortable chair in addition to the 2 straight backed chairs. The staff did the necessary things, but were not overly friendly or welcoming.

Room Tip: We were on the road side of the building but did not hear road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The 2012 to April 2013 AAA Tour Book states that this 3-story hotel has no elevators. This is not correct. There is an elevator just around the corner from the check-in desk which accesses all three floors...The manager on duty said that AAA evalutaors had been here in the summer of 2012, but they must have missed the elevator.

Room Tip: Your chice is between parking lot view and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maga1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This inn was very nice. Our room had a great view of the mountains, and was very spacious and clean, with nice amenities including a fridge and wi-fi. The mattress was very comfortable, which was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar has a great deck with comfortable seating, and tvs inside if you wanted to catch a game. Cajun ((the barkeep) was a skilled bartender, friendly, helpful with directions and recommendations - great qualities in an innkeeper. The price was good, especially for an inn in such a tourist destination. We will come back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lillie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Comfortable roomwith window that opened to enjoy the fesh air. Great deck off the bar with overstuffed chairs to enjoy a drink while looking at great views. nice hot tub outside. Friendly staff. I think this is the most up to date hotel in town. We will stay there again. I did not notice any offensive signage while there, as mentioned by another reviewer. FYI, it is not in downtown GL, you have to walk a few blocks or drive in.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain/lake view, that is a nice bonus .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

My biggest problem is that, when you walk in there are TWO "folksy" signs that feature the S word for excrement. I'm no prude, and I've been known to swear a blue streak when profoundly irritated, but there's a time and a place for such things and the first thing you see when you enter a hotel shouldn't be one of them. I can only imagine explaining the signs to a 6 year old who can read. Does "country" have to mean "redneck"?

Other than the bar, there is no food at this location. There's a fridge and a coffee setup, but otherwise you need to get everyone in to the car and drive into town. Granted, it's only 5 minutes but if the kids are hungry, you need to take that into account.

My first night there I could hear the TV going at all hours. I thought it might be another guest and called to the front desk, but all I got was the answering machine. I think they might have left the TV in the lounge on because the next night there was no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

First and foremost, out of the several hotels we stayed out throughout our week long road trip all around Colorado, this place had the best beds! We planned on just staying 1 night in Grand Lake, but my family and I fell in love with the town, that when we tried to book a second night at Gateway Inn, we were sad that they were fully booked. We regretfully had to stay at another establishment just a few miles down, and it was just horrible, especially after having a great stay here.

Customer service was great, patio was picturesque with the mountain and lake views, and even though we had a parking lot view, it was still quiet. My kids were a bit scared of the moose head hanging and all the other wildlife, but we're from the city :). They did however love the oversized teddy bear at the entrance. Clean and cozy place, we'd love to go back to this place in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
19.7 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $96 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. *( we no longer provide a free Continental Breakfast with the purchase of a room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing