We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and lovely”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

First and foremost, out of the several hotels we stayed out throughout our week long road trip all around Colorado, this place had the best beds! We planned on just staying 1 night in Grand Lake, but my family and I fell in love with the town, that when we tried to book a second night at Gateway Inn, we were sad that they were fully booked. We regretfully had to stay at another establishment just a few miles down, and it was just horrible, especially after having a great stay here.

Customer service was great, patio was picturesque with the mountain and lake views, and even though we had a parking lot view, it was still quiet. My kids were a bit scared of the moose head hanging and all the other wildlife, but we're from the city :). They did however love the oversized teddy bear at the entrance. Clean and cozy place, we'd love to go back to this place in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 533 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed for one night at the Gateway- and I was very impressed. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked that this hotel has a smaller number of rooms; it was VERY quiet and had a nice atmosphere. The room itself was very clean, and didn't have the typical hotel "smell" to it. There was a nice little porch off the room and the bed was pretty comfy.

The locations was also great, easy to get into the downtown area or go into the National Park. I will go back here for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I really like the decor of this hotel. Knotty pine everywhere and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The deck is beautiful (equipped with multiple personal gas firepits if it gets too chilly) and there are beautiful views of the lake and the mountains. We did not eat at this place, or really had any problems so we didn't have a lot of contact with any of the staff. The hot tub is out in the open for everyone to see you, but once you are in and relaxing and looking at the mountains, you don't really care.

So the rooms were clean and comfortable and everything was close to the RMNP and to town. I really loved this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a nice place and the surroundings are even nicer. Both the building, the common areas and the rooms have a cozy alpine and countryside touch.

The Gateway Inn is located at the west entrance of Grand Lake and this means that the village’s centre is not within walking distance. However, if you take the car, you can be there in five minutes or less, and find many shops and places to eat. This was the case for breakfast, because the Gateway Inn doesn’t serve it. So we can recommend “The Blue Water Bakery” and also the “Max & TS Bar and Grill”.

The room we had, on the ground floor, was very spacious, very clean and both beds were comfortable. The room had an air conditioning unit, a refrigerator, a normal TV set but no microwave. The sleeping quality was very good because it’s a very quiet area at night even when rooms like ours face the road that leads to the Rocky Mountain National Park.

With reference to the staff, we encountered a very polite and efficient guy who, on the other hand, wasn’t that smiley and enthusiastic as other staff we’ve met in other hotels. Therefore -together with the fact that there isn't complimentary breakfast- we rate this place with 3 points.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The only thing that would have made it better would have been them offering breakfast!! Rooms are big " comfy, close to everything!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dedear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First of all, the photo listed above is doctored. We view behind is not quite that nice, but still OK.
We stayed here in June. The rooms were nice, clean and had a good bed, fridge, coffee maker & a rather noisy AC unit. We would not have needed the AC, except they were having record hot temps there. We mostly slept with the windows open, though. There was a problem with our room when we arrived, but it was solved very quickly. The staff did a good job, but are not very chatty. I can see why some of the previous reviewers thought customer service was substandard.
It appeared to us that there is very limited staffing at the hotel.
We enjoyed spending time on the deck outside the bar. It was very nice with good Wifi access. There is Wifi access in the room area as well. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but you can get some mediocre bar food at the bar if you get really hungry. If you need anything in town, be sure to go in before 7 pm. Everything closes early. There is a small grocery store in town, but it is very expensive. We drove around 15 miles to Granby to find a large grocery store, City Market.
The Gateway is a nice enough place to stay if you are looking for easy access to the west side of RMNP and the lakes.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road are cheaper, but there is some road noise from the highway if you leave th...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

What I learned from this visit is to separate the room experience from the location experience. The hotel was nearly empty; April is an off month. The clerk was very friendly and gave us an upgrade...nice king size room with a lake view. What I learned about Grand Lake is that it is best a place to sleep while you adventure in the Rocky Mountain National Park. Unless you are right on the water, the town is not picturesque. Our balcony lake view also included an excellent view of roof of the large fire/ambulance station and numerous other roofs. The lake was an afterthought. Driving through Grand Lake, most of the hotels were not on the lake so expect the same. As a place to rest after a day in the Park, the hotel was fine. The best views are in the Park.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank Fredband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
14.7 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $114 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing